Adding visual studio compiler to buildbot.

Adding visual studio compiler to buildbot.

Discuss the source code and development of Spring Engine in general from a technical point of view. Patches go here too.

Moderator: Moderators

Super Mario
Posts: 823
Joined: 21 Oct 2008, 02:54

Adding visual studio compiler to buildbot.

Post by Super Mario »

I will maintain the libraries if needed. How do I add slave bot for visual studio though? That way I don't have to report every compile error that I have received on my end.
abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3798
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: Adding visual studio compiler to buildbot.

Post by abma »

you need to setup a buildslave, http://docs.buildbot.net/current/manual ... ation.html

i've never set it up on windows, but it should be only required to install python and then

Code: Select all

pip install buildbot-slave
not sure whats needed for configuration / dedicated username / running it as service.
Super Mario
Posts: 823
Joined: 21 Oct 2008, 02:54

Re: Adding visual studio compiler to buildbot.

Post by Super Mario »

Installed build slave, what options should I use for create-slave option for the master?
abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3798
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: Adding visual studio compiler to buildbot.

Post by abma »

i pm'ed you the account data which should go into buildbot.tac:

sth. like this:

Code: Select all

buildmaster_host = 'springrts.com'
port = 9989
slavename = 'username'
passwd = 'verylongpassword'
(replace the values for slavename + passwd)

are there some special parameters required to build spring on this computer?

note: its the first windows buildslave :)
Super Mario
Posts: 823
Joined: 21 Oct 2008, 02:54

Re: Adding visual studio compiler to buildbot.

Post by Super Mario »

2015-09-11 03:22:26-0500 [-] <twisted.internet.tcp.Connector instance at 0x031803A0> will retry in 20 seconds
2015-09-11 03:22:26-0500 [-] Stopping factory <buildslave.bot.BotFactory instance at 0x032E19E0>
2015-09-11 03:22:46-0500 [-] Starting factory <buildslave.bot.BotFactory instance at 0x032E19E0>
2015-09-11 03:22:46-0500 [-] Connecting to http://buildbot.springrts.com:9989
2015-09-11 03:22:46-0500 [-] Connection to http://buildbot.springrts.com:9989 failed: [Failure instance: Traceback (failure with no frames): <class 'twisted.internet.error.DNSLookupError'>: DNS lookup failed: address 'http://buildbot.springrts.com' not found: [Errno 11001] getaddrinfo failed.
I even did with just springrts.com and it still didn't connect.
abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3798
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: Adding visual studio compiler to buildbot.

Post by abma »

i guess you have to use "buildbot.springrts.com" (without http and without port), just the plain dns name as given in the example, if you then get an error, please post it, too.

the error is dns failure, so the provided hostname is wrong or dns is not working at the computer.
Super Mario
Posts: 823
Joined: 21 Oct 2008, 02:54

Re: Adding visual studio compiler to buildbot.

Post by Super Mario »

2015-09-11 03:49:45-0500 [-] Connecting to buildbot.springrts.com:8007
2015-09-11 03:49:46-0500 [Uninitialized] Connection to buildbot.springrts.com:8007 failed: Connection Refused
2015-09-11 03:49:46-0500 [Uninitialized] <twisted.internet.tcp.Connector instance at 0x031423A0> will retry in 2 seconds
2015-09-11 03:49:46-0500 [-] Stopping factory <buildslave.bot.BotFactory instance at 0x0329E9E0>
2015-09-11 03:49:49-0500 [-] Starting factory <buildslave.bot.BotFactory instance at 0x0329E9E0>
Now it refuses for some reason.
abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3798
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: Adding visual studio compiler to buildbot.

Post by abma »

then the line

Code: Select all

port = 9989
is missing in your config file?!
Super Mario
Posts: 823
Joined: 21 Oct 2008, 02:54

Re: Adding visual studio compiler to buildbot.

Post by Super Mario »

2015-09-11 03:59:10-0500 [-] Connecting to buildbot.springrts.com:9989
2015-09-11 03:59:11-0500 [Broker,client] ReconnectingPBClientFactory.failedToGetPerspective
2015-09-11 03:59:11-0500 [Broker,client] unauthorized login; check slave name and password
2015-09-11 03:59:11-0500 [Broker,client] Lost connection to buildbot.springrts.com:9989
I copy and past the password you send me, and it still won't work.
abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3798
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: Adding visual studio compiler to buildbot.

Post by abma »

oh... i will check server logs this evening, can't check it atm.
abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3798
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: Adding visual studio compiler to buildbot.

Post by abma »

ooops, i've changed config but forgot to reload the buildbot master. sorry! please try again, it should work now!
Super Mario
Posts: 823
Joined: 21 Oct 2008, 02:54

Re: Adding visual studio compiler to buildbot.

Post by Super Mario »

2015-09-11 13:40:38-0500 [Broker,client] ReconnectingPBClientFactory.failedToGetPerspective
2015-09-11 13:40:38-0500 [Broker,client] unauthorized login; check slave name and password
2015-09-11 13:40:38-0500 [Broker,client] Lost connection to buildbot.springrts.com:9989
2015-09-11 13:40:38-0500 [Broker,client] <twisted.internet.tcp.Connector instance at 0x031A23A0> will retry in 2 seconds
2015-09-11 13:40:38-0500 [-] Stopping factory <buildslave.bot.BotFactory instance at 0x032FE9E0>
nope. still using the same username and password that you sent me.
abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3798
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: Adding visual studio compiler to buildbot.

Post by abma »

aw, try again. config of the master was still incomplete, sorry.

i've copied some default config, now it will be interesting what will fail when compiling:
https://github.com/spring/spring/commit ... 25f124c1cf

it should show up here when it works:

http://buildbot.springrts.com/waterfall
Super Mario
Posts: 823
Joined: 21 Oct 2008, 02:54

Re: Adding visual studio compiler to buildbot.

Post by Super Mario »

It connects.
Here is the new error message http://buildbot.springrts.com/builders/ ... logs/stdio
abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3798
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: Adding visual studio compiler to buildbot.

Post by abma »

doh! imo all used shell scripts have to be converted into cmake to get it working and then ran with cmake -P

shouldn't be difficult but needs some time.
abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3798
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: Adding visual studio compiler to buildbot.

Post by abma »

ok, slightly different approach:i've ported the scripts to python. crossing fingers, that it works next time when the buildslave is online.
abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3798
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: Adding visual studio compiler to buildbot.

Post by abma »

offline again :-| i've possible fixed the error already.

to fix this faster, can the buildbot run for a longer time?
Super Mario
Posts: 823
Joined: 21 Oct 2008, 02:54

Re: Adding visual studio compiler to buildbot.

Post by Super Mario »

I fix the configure error at the cmake level. I'm using 2.6.0 as the error indicates, as it comes with the cmake file which makes easier for me to maintain( This could be easily fix by telling the cmake that the ft2build dir is in the freetype folder instead of in just includes). Try again abma is should work now.
Last edited by Super Mario on 13 Sep 2015, 23:51, edited 1 time in total.
Post Reply

Return to “Engine”