Running SPADS behind a router

Running SPADS behind a router

SpringRTS Perl Autohost for Dedicated Server

Moderators: Moderators, Lobby Developers, SPADS AutoHost

Post Reply
raaar
Metal Factions Developer
Posts: 818
Joined: 20 Feb 2010, 12:17

Running SPADS behind a router

Post by raaar » 29 Aug 2015, 20:23

I'm having trouble running the autohost from a laptop using that's behind a router. I forwarded both 8452 and 8453 ports to it.

The host shows up on the official server, players can enter the battle room and chat.

Another computer from the same LAN can start and join games successfully, but outside players can't connect to it at all.

from the settings here

tried to change
forceHostIp to 0.0.0.0

and natType on hostingPresets.conf to 0, 1 or 2

the current ports are:
- spads.conf
autoHostPort:8453
- hostingPresets.conf
port:8452

I tested some combinations, but nothing worked : outside players can chat but can't join the game. Spads log only shows the "[GameServer] Connection attempt from .... " for the other computer on the same LAN.

and do I really need 2 ports?
0 x

User avatar
bibim
Lobby Developer
Posts: 901
Joined: 06 Dec 2007, 11:12

Re: SPADS AutoHost

Post by bibim » 30 Aug 2015, 10:17

raaar wrote:I'm having trouble running the autohost from a laptop using that's behind a router. I forwarded both 8452 and 8453 ports to it.
Only the Spring server hosting port needs to be available from the outside (the "port" setting in hostingPresets.conf), so in your case you just need to forward port 8452. The "autoHostPort" is just used locally for communication between SPADS and Spring server.
raaar wrote:Another computer from the same LAN can start and join games successfully, but outside players can't connect to it at all.
Spring uses UDP protocol. Are you sure you forwarded UDP, not TCP?
raaar wrote:tried to change
forceHostIp to 0.0.0.0

and natType on hostingPresets.conf to 0, 1 or 2
Can you set back these settings to default values (forceHostIp left empty and natType set to 0) and paste the content of <varDir>/log/spring-dedicated.log after you try to start a game?
0 x

raaar
Metal Factions Developer
Posts: 818
Joined: 20 Feb 2010, 12:17

Re: SPADS AutoHost

Post by raaar » 31 Aug 2015, 05:44

It seems my router had two entries for the same machine name, an outdated one ending in 77 and another in 78. So I had actually forwarded port 8452 to the wrong ip.
I totally blame this on bad router UI.

Yesterday I enabled dmz on router (host has local fw) and left the host running with both the ip settings empty (default) and natype 0 as well, and it seems a player was able to connect and play for a few minutes

Code: Select all

[Sun Aug 30 22:55:03 2015] Connecting to autohost on port 8453
[Sun Aug 30 22:55:03 2015] Server started on port 8452
[Sun Aug 30 22:55:05 2015] Connection attempt from (...)
[Sun Aug 30 22:55:05 2015]  -> Version: 100.0
[Sun Aug 30 22:55:05 2015]  -> Address: [::ffff:90.193.199.223]:57659
[Sun Aug 30 22:55:05 2015]  -> Connection established (given id 0)
[Sun Aug 30 22:55:16 2015] Player (...) finished loading and is now ingame
[Sun Aug 30 22:55:16 2015] === (...) joined ===
[Sun Aug 30 22:55:30 2015] === (...) is ready ===
[Sun Aug 30 22:55:34 2015] Game started
(from var/log/chat/game.log)

Now I'll leave it running with just 8452 forwarded (no dmz). The other pc in lan seems to be able to connect and play.
0 x

Post Reply

Return to “SPADS AutoHost”