Game crashes with error: "Access violation"

Game crashes with error: "Access violation"

Discuss your problems with the latest release of the engine here. Problems with games, maps or other utilities belong in their respective forums.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
Quanttek
Posts: 3
Joined: 03 Jul 2013, 00:28

Game crashes with error: "Access violation"

Post by Quanttek » 23 Jul 2014, 19:16

Hey there!

Always when I try to start a game on 0.96 it crashes with an error called access violation, though it works with 0.97.
Image
The error occurs when the game is trying to load shadow handler & sth sth and it completely crashes the game.
I am using a R9 280X and a Xeon 1230 v3.
Here's the infolog.txt:
Attachments
infolog.txt
(17.04 KiB) Downloaded 10 times
0 x

User avatar
Silentwings
Moderator
Posts: 3590
Joined: 25 Oct 2008, 00:23

Re: Game crashes with error: "Access violation"

Post by Silentwings » 24 Jul 2014, 00:00

Code: Select all

[f=0000000] SDL version:  1.2.10
[f=0000000] GL version:   4.4.12874 Compatibility Profile Context 14.100.0.0
[f=0000000] GL vendor:    ATI Technologies Inc.
[f=0000000] GL renderer:  AMD Radeon R9 200 Series
[f=0000000] GLSL version: 4.30
[f=0000000] GLEW version: 1.5.8
[f=0000000] Video RAM:    unknown
This, along with fact that your infolog.txt blames your gfx card/drivers is likely the problem. You could try the latest test build of Spring (http://springrts.com/dl/buildbot/defaul ... -g42ecae9/), which has some workarounds for ATI problems, but you won't be able to play online with that (yet).
0 x

User avatar
Jools
XTA Developer
Posts: 2804
Joined: 23 Feb 2009, 16:29

Re: Game crashes with error: "Access violation"

Post by Jools » 24 Jul 2014, 00:37

Silentwings wrote:which has some workarounds for ATI AMD problems, but you won't be able to play online with that (yet).
ATI Technologies, a former Canadian semiconductor corporation and major designer of graphics processing units (GPUs) and motherboard chipsets, founded in 1985 and acquired by Advanced Micro Devices in 2006
This happened in 2006. Don't you think it's time for the change to start percolating to spring as well?
0 x

User avatar
jK
Spring Developer
Posts: 2299
Joined: 28 Jun 2007, 07:30

Re: Game crashes with error: "Access violation"

Post by jK » 24 Jul 2014, 02:23

Jools wrote:This happened in 2006. Don't you think it's time for the change to start percolating to spring as well?
Silentwings wrote:

Code: Select all

[f=0000000] GL vendor:    ATI Technologies Inc.
Also many like their CPUs but hate the GPUs so it makes sense to differ.
0 x

User avatar
Sereiya
Posts: 63
Joined: 28 Aug 2009, 18:03

Re: Game crashes with error: "Access violation"

Post by Sereiya » 27 Jul 2014, 18:49

So there's no chance to get 96.0 working?

Quanttek and me going to a lan party on August 10th, and several persons (all AMD GPU) have this problem. Using 97.0 fixes it, but then there are other issues like graphic bugs (AMD again) or the inability to rotate buildings in BA; pretty annoying.
We're offline on the lan, so we need to fix that beforehand.
0 x

User avatar
Silentwings
Moderator
Posts: 3590
Joined: 25 Oct 2008, 00:23

Re: Game crashes with error: "Access violation"

Post by Silentwings » 27 Jul 2014, 20:52

Jool wrote:This happened in 2006. Don't you think it's time for the change to start percolating to spring as well?

Code: Select all

[f=0000000] GL vendor:    ATI Technologies Inc.
Not until they become competent enough to rename their own software.
So there's no chance to get 96.0 working?
Maybe you can work around it by running with --safemode (start from a command line). If that loads and works, then checkout http://springrts.com/wiki/Springsettings.cfg - the right hand column tells you what the effect of --safemode is. You can then run spring.exe normally and fiddle with settings to try and find which one caused the problem.
0 x

User avatar
Sereiya
Posts: 63
Joined: 28 Aug 2009, 18:03

Re: Game crashes with error: "Access violation"

Post by Sereiya » 27 Jul 2014, 21:24

Even safemode doesn't work, unfortunately. :(
0 x

User avatar
jK
Spring Developer
Posts: 2299
Joined: 28 Jun 2007, 07:30

Re: Game crashes with error: "Access violation"

Post by jK » 28 Jul 2014, 02:44

Try different gpu drivers.
0 x

User avatar
Jools
XTA Developer
Posts: 2804
Joined: 23 Feb 2009, 16:29

Re: Game crashes with error: "Access violation"

Post by Jools » 28 Jul 2014, 16:20

Silentwings wrote:

Code: Select all

[f=0000000] GL vendor:    ATI Technologies Inc.
Not until they become competent enough to rename their own software.
I don't think some random logfile is representative of a company's naming policy. If you look here you will find no mention of ATI:
http://www.amd.com/en-gb/products
0 x

User avatar
Silentwings
Moderator
Posts: 3590
Joined: 25 Oct 2008, 00:23

Re: Game crashes with error: "Access violation"

Post by Silentwings » 28 Jul 2014, 19:36

...random logfile...
I couldn't care less, go make a separate thread.
Sereiya wrote:Even safemode doesn't work, unfortunately. :(
You could try the latest dev version of Spring, if you want an adventure: http://springrts.com/dl/buildbot/defaul ... -g42ecae9/. I think it would be ok. If you have problems with random keys not working it could be that some keys actually changed (e.g. chat input is (sadly) now dbl press alt,shift,return) or it could be something like http://springrts.com/phpbb/viewtopic.ph ... in#p549695.
0 x

User avatar
CarRepairer
Cursed Zero-K Developer
Posts: 3359
Joined: 07 Nov 2007, 21:48

Re: Game crashes with error: "Access violation"

Post by CarRepairer » 28 Jul 2014, 19:51

Jools wrote:
Silentwings wrote:which has some workarounds for ATI AMD problems, but you won't be able to play online with that (yet).
ATI Technologies, a former Canadian semiconductor corporation and major designer of graphics processing units (GPUs) and motherboard chipsets, founded in 1985 and acquired by Advanced Micro Devices in 2006
This happened in 2006. Don't you think it's time for the change to start percolating to spring as well?
For years people still say Spring version 0.96 instead of 96.0, 0.95 instead of 95.0, ... even though the numbering system changed back in with 88.0 over three years ago.

I finally got so peeved I targeted my lasers on a smart new dev in #moddev about it, and asked him to show me exactly why he's saying Spring 0.96 and where he gets that idea. First he said "it's on the front page of spring." I looked, this site says 96.0 and I copy pasted. Then he gave me a page which contains the list of builds. I opened the link he gave me, blinked a few times and looked straight at "Download Spring 96.0"

I had to push him to tell me what he's seeing. Finally he admitted "oh you're right, I read it wrong." Everyone's dyslexic? :?
0 x

User avatar
Jools
XTA Developer
Posts: 2804
Joined: 23 Feb 2009, 16:29

Re: Game crashes with error: "Access violation"

Post by Jools » 28 Jul 2014, 20:08

Silentwings wrote:
...random logfile...
I couldn't care less, go make a separate thread.
If you don't care, don't read and quote my text then.
0 x

User avatar
Sereiya
Posts: 63
Joined: 28 Aug 2009, 18:03

Re: Game crashes with error: "Access violation"

Post by Sereiya » 28 Jul 2014, 20:16

Does anybody know when 98.0 will be out?
0 x

User avatar
Silentwings
Moderator
Posts: 3590
Joined: 25 Oct 2008, 00:23

Re: Game crashes with error: "Access violation"

Post by Silentwings » 28 Jul 2014, 23:04

Not imminent - roadmap is here http://springrts.com/mantis/roadmap_page.php and judging by that there will be at least one more testing release before it.
0 x

Masure
Posts: 581
Joined: 30 Jan 2007, 15:23

Re: Game crashes with error: "Access violation"

Post by Masure » 31 Jul 2014, 18:39

Sereiya wrote:Even safemode doesn't work, unfortunately. :(
Try putting this in your springsettings.cfg :

Code: Select all

3DTrees = 0
AdvMapShading = 0
AdvUnitShading = 0 
GroundDecals = 0 
ReflectiveWater = 2 
Shadows = 0
Add all the values missing and modify those already in.
0 x

User avatar
AntiAllez
Posts: 105
Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 18:22

Re: Game crashes with error: "Access violation"

Post by AntiAllez » 21 Aug 2014, 20:49

Masure wrote: Try putting this in your springsettings.cfg :

Code: Select all

3DTrees = 0
AdvMapShading = 0
AdvUnitShading = 0 
GroundDecals = 0 
ReflectiveWater = 2 
Shadows = 0
Add all the values missing and modify those already in.

had today the same trouble with ati on a intel system, adv mapshading, unit shading , 3d trees und ground decals to zero was enough to run spring on it. the question is, why the same gpu working without such issues on amd cpu with amd chipset :?:
0 x

User avatar
Silentwings
Moderator
Posts: 3590
Joined: 25 Oct 2008, 00:23

Re: Game crashes with error: "Access violation"

Post by Silentwings » 22 Aug 2014, 03:03

why the same gpu working without such issues on amd cpu with amd chipset
e.g. driver versions or some other aspect of how drivers control cpu/gpu interaction
0 x

User avatar
AntiAllez
Posts: 105
Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 18:22

Re: Game crashes with error: "Access violation"

Post by AntiAllez » 23 Aug 2014, 13:15

newest drivers(stable&beta) on both systems, and 97.0 starting well; its spring not the driver or: ask jk what he removed/changed into last (but broken)release
0 x

User avatar
Silentwings
Moderator
Posts: 3590
Joined: 25 Oct 2008, 00:23

Re: Game crashes with error: "Access violation"

Post by Silentwings » 23 Aug 2014, 13:48

can't be of help to your specific case since i have no issue, but the answer your question is as above; gpu drivers can/do behave differently dependent on the system they are put inside of
0 x

Post Reply

Return to “Help & Bugs”