High Definition Textures

High Definition Textures

[ARCHIVED]

Moderators: Caydr, Moderators, Content Developer

User avatar
Caydr
Omnidouche
Posts: 7179
Joined: 16 Oct 2004, 19:40

High Definition Textures

Post by Caydr » 09 Aug 2009, 21:40

A new texture set will be released with the new version of AA, vastly improving upon the original TA textures.

Unfortunately, since they are based on the original textures this still doesn't eliminate any copyright issues.

I was originally planning to use them at 256x256, but I realized this would probably be overkill for most situations. I'm going to do some testing and find what size gives the best balance between quality and performance. Updated preview pics will be up shortly.
0 x

User avatar
Otherside
Posts: 2296
Joined: 21 Feb 2006, 14:09

Re: High Definition Textures

Post by Otherside » 09 Aug 2009, 22:22

old news CA redid them over a year ago :p
0 x

User avatar
Caydr
Omnidouche
Posts: 7179
Joined: 16 Oct 2004, 19:40

Re: High Definition Textures

Post by Caydr » 09 Aug 2009, 22:29

Checking CA's folder, they appear to have redone some, but not all. Even the ones they have done are still very low resolution.

It seems they redid some textures for the sake of being able to claim they're GPL, without actually trying to make any improvements. Unless I'm not looking in the right place.
0 x

User avatar
Neddie
Community Lead
Posts: 9406
Joined: 10 Apr 2006, 05:05

Re: High Definition Textures

Post by Neddie » 10 Aug 2009, 02:22

Pretty much. I offered to do a quality rework but it was considered irrelevant since 3DO is the paaaaaast.
0 x

User avatar
REVENGE
Posts: 2377
Joined: 24 Aug 2006, 06:13

Re: High Definition Textures

Post by REVENGE » 10 Aug 2009, 02:46

But seriously Caydr, please don't spend too much time concerned with redoing 3do textures. Or at least do them in a fashion so that they could be reused in a 3do -> s3o conversion project.
0 x

User avatar
Caydr
Omnidouche
Posts: 7179
Joined: 16 Oct 2004, 19:40

Re: High Definition Textures

Post by Caydr » 10 Aug 2009, 03:01

Don't worry, I didn't spend much time on this, it's something I did a long time ago. All the textures are redone to 256x256 (or 256 in the largest direction), but downsized to 112x112 (or 112 in the largest direction) for now until I can determine just how large I can make them before I run out of room on the 3DO master texture.

Here are the preview shots, comparing AA with the new redone textures and BA with the regular ones. The difference probably won't jump out at you at first, the main difference is better contrast and sharpness with a lot less random color noise. Unfortunately because the units are 3DO the textures get smeared around a lot, and there's nothing I can do about that.
Attachments
9b.jpg
After.
9b.jpg (9.85 KiB) Viewed 2359 times
9a.jpg
Before.
9a.jpg (10.93 KiB) Viewed 2359 times
12b.jpg
After.
12b.jpg (8.88 KiB) Viewed 2359 times
12a.jpg
Before.
12a.jpg (9.33 KiB) Viewed 2360 times
11b.jpg
After.
11b.jpg (12.59 KiB) Viewed 2359 times
11a.jpg
Before.
11a.jpg (12.75 KiB) Viewed 2359 times
10b.jpg
After.
10b.jpg (10.66 KiB) Viewed 2360 times
10a.jpg
Before.
10a.jpg (11.19 KiB) Viewed 2358 times
8b.jpg
After.
8b.jpg (9.25 KiB) Viewed 2360 times
8a.jpg
Before.
8a.jpg (9.66 KiB) Viewed 2360 times
7b.jpg
After.
7b.jpg (9.55 KiB) Viewed 2362 times
7a.jpg
Before.
7a.jpg (8.05 KiB) Viewed 2361 times
6b.jpg
After.
6b.jpg (10.64 KiB) Viewed 2361 times
6a.jpg
Before.
6a.jpg (11.05 KiB) Viewed 2363 times
1b.jpg
After.
1b.jpg (69.92 KiB) Viewed 2363 times
1a.jpg
Before.
1a.jpg (66.63 KiB) Viewed 2367 times
0 x

Master-Athmos
Posts: 862
Joined: 27 Jun 2009, 01:32

Re: High Definition Textures

Post by Master-Athmos » 10 Aug 2009, 10:36

Well except for the helipad texture I'd call it hardly visible - if you'll even hardly see it in close-ups it'll be next to no difference in standard gaming perspectives...

If you manage to get every texture fit in the 2048x2048 atlas and you really have a replacement for every texture it might be a nice addon...

Oh and why did you keep the brickstone look on that texture e.g. the helipad has. Imo was a very stupid design decision Cavedog made - I mean e.g. the Vulcan's basement is made of bricks - BRICKS! :wink:
0 x

User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14435
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: High Definition Textures

Post by Forboding Angel » 10 Aug 2009, 12:37

It does like nice, regardless of whether it's useful or not. I like it simply because it looks a hell of a lot better.
0 x

User avatar
Gota
Posts: 7151
Joined: 11 Jan 2008, 16:55

Re: High Definition Textures

Post by Gota » 10 Aug 2009, 14:55

OK.plz release so I can steal this XD
0 x

User avatar
Otherside
Posts: 2296
Joined: 21 Feb 2006, 14:09

Re: High Definition Textures

Post by Otherside » 10 Aug 2009, 15:00

if anything the contrast is better apart from the air pads you cant really tell
0 x

User avatar
lurker
Posts: 3842
Joined: 08 Jan 2007, 06:13

Re: High Definition Textures

Post by lurker » 10 Aug 2009, 15:05

Do they work at 128 rather than 112?
0 x

User avatar
Beherith
Moderator
Posts: 4925
Joined: 26 Oct 2007, 16:21

Re: High Definition Textures

Post by Beherith » 10 Aug 2009, 15:13

Might just be me, but I liked the grainy before texture more...
0 x

User avatar
Otherside
Posts: 2296
Joined: 21 Feb 2006, 14:09

Re: High Definition Textures

Post by Otherside » 10 Aug 2009, 15:32

the grainyness of the old textures makes it look more realistic in a sense.
0 x

User avatar
REVENGE
Posts: 2377
Joined: 24 Aug 2006, 06:13

Re: High Definition Textures

Post by REVENGE » 10 Aug 2009, 17:55

Seriously dude, the improvements are hardly noticeable at normal zoom levels. Take these textures, stick them on s3o models, then we'll talk.

As for a brick basement, don't talk shit about that shit man. There could be a bakery under there for all you know... :roll:
0 x

User avatar
NOiZE
Balanced Annihilation Developer
Posts: 3984
Joined: 28 Apr 2005, 19:29

Re: High Definition Textures

Post by NOiZE » 10 Aug 2009, 19:45

+1 to REVENGE
0 x

User avatar
Caydr
Omnidouche
Posts: 7179
Joined: 16 Oct 2004, 19:40

Re: High Definition Textures

Post by Caydr » 10 Aug 2009, 20:31

I'm still making more improvements. 112 is not the size the textures will be permanently, it's just for testing purposes. The difference is more noticeable on other units, but I won't be posting an updated preview until I've got the maximum possible texture size finalized.

Texturing as a whole is being improved in ways beyond what I've shown in pictures so far. I'll have updated pics when possible. Although I don't have the time to convert everything to S3O at present, there is still a lot more that can be done to maximize the potential of 3DO.

Everything is still experimental at this stage, and I apologize for posting pics which do not accurately represent the improvements which are possible. I've removed all but the air repair pad images since they are the only ones that even begin to show the improvements. It's safe to say though that the improvements will be much more visible in the finished product.

I am doing something that I think many people will truly appreciate the value of when it's finished. This is something I've wanted to do for a long, long time so I hope you can bear with me while I finish this aspect of the project and not form solid opinions until you've seen at least the next set of images.

Also, I can see what you mean bout the noise seeming to add detail to the textures. I will try to implement this effect at a higher resolution without deteriorating the textures themselves.

In order for AA to gain traction, I must find ways of improving the project in a more readily-visible way so that it will stand out from the crowd more. This strategy has worked for the project well in the past, for instance with buildpics and explosions - which became the "standard" for everything that followed. Here I'm creating another new standard which other TA mods will have to compete with.

SA for instance has music as its most noticeable feature, something people can get used to and feel is missing in other projects. I hope to make AA have lots of these sorts of things.

Small performance improvements, small visual improvements, small gameplay improvements (well large, I hope), unique features... all these small things add up and become what TA mods have historically lacked the most: polish.
0 x

User avatar
very_bad_soldier
Posts: 1334
Joined: 20 Feb 2007, 01:10

Re: High Definition Textures

Post by very_bad_soldier » 10 Aug 2009, 21:45

Just out of curiosity: How does this texture refurbishing work? Do you use some photoshop filter magic or do you repaint them by hand? Or are the textures sources available in that better quality?
0 x

User avatar
Gota
Posts: 7151
Joined: 11 Jan 2008, 16:55

Re: High Definition Textures

Post by Gota » 10 Aug 2009, 22:18

Biggest polish id want for any TA mod is UI polish that is in the area you do not want to touch,unfortunately.
so many commands are unknown so many stuff are not represented well or not at all..

But if you can improve all these textures that would be a thing id want to add to SA as well.
Would have been much cooler if someone were to make new models that look like the old ones but high poly with more detail..
ATM,It seems impossible due to the scope of the arsenal of the Core and the Arm.
0 x

User avatar
Caydr
Omnidouche
Posts: 7179
Joined: 16 Oct 2004, 19:40

Re: High Definition Textures

Post by Caydr » 10 Aug 2009, 23:24

The refurbish starts with a combination of Photoshop actions I've set up which resize the texture, clean it up, improve the sharpness, add some artificial detail to balance out the noise cleanup, improve the contrast, and so on. It's a really, really long process, luckily all I have to do now that it's set up is go "automate > run batch" and it does it all by itself. After that I adjust each texture to its best appearance within reason with a combination of repainting it with my tablet, and some other photoshop filters and actions I've picked up. The filters and actions are about 50% proprietary code and 50% my own tweakery and actions. The first half doesn't work without the second half and vice versa... so I can't just make a tutorial.

To clean the entire OTA texure library takes about 30 minutes (automated) on my 3.6ghz Core 2 Duo, then I go over each texture one at a time, making manual enhancements where possible within reason. This takes 1-5 minutes per texture on average.

That's "step 1".

After that I get onto the time-consuming part, which is still experimental and I won't be talking about until I know it will work universally.

Step 1 cleans the textures, step 2 makes sure they appear as good as possible ingame. Step 2 is probably the more important part to maximizing quality ingame, and it has not yet been applied to all units so the pictures I posted earlier were not exactly showing what you can expect.

If possible one day I would like to finish remodeling all the units, and when that's done I'll have the full high-quailty texture library at my disposal.

I will probably hang on to the source high-resolution textures (512x512) for my own usage but I will of course be distributing all the modified files with the next version of AA. I won't try and claim any rights to them, etc...
0 x

User avatar
bobthedinosaur
Blood & Steel Developer
Posts: 2695
Joined: 25 Aug 2004, 13:31

Re: High Definition Textures

Post by bobthedinosaur » 11 Aug 2009, 05:48

well redoing ALL of the textures is a step closer to non ta ip
0 x

Locked

Return to “Caydr's Projects”