Springlobby updated to 0.170 and broke

Springlobby updated to 0.170 and broke

Moderators: Moderators, Lobby Developers

Post Reply
User avatar
TheFatController
Balanced Annihilation Developer
Posts: 1177
Joined: 10 Dec 2006, 18:46

Springlobby updated to 0.170 and broke

Post by TheFatController » 31 Aug 2013, 13:29

Just a warning / report...

I got an update notice on Springlobby.exe for updating to 0.170, updated it but the new version doesn't start, the process sits at 0% CPU usage and nothing happens when launched (Windows 7), gave it 5 minutes then force closed it. Tried a few times with the same effect and reverted to the previous version which was fine (renaming springlobby.exe.bak worked).
0 x

User avatar
Silentwings
Moderator
Posts: 3594
Joined: 25 Oct 2008, 00:23

Re: Springlobby updated to 0.170 and broke

Post by Silentwings » 31 Aug 2013, 15:13

I had the same problem although for me it updated to 0.171. I also reverted to the backed up 0.169 exe.

Workaround:
http://www.weblobby.com or 169 is here http://springlobby.info/windows/springl ... -win32.zip

On another note, I think the layout which I set up for myself a few years ago and have always used since is really nice, it's this:

Image
Last edited by Silentwings on 01 Sep 2013, 12:35, edited 3 times in total.
0 x

Wildcat
Posts: 1
Joined: 31 Aug 2013, 16:19

Re: Springlobby updated to 0.170 and broke

Post by Wildcat » 31 Aug 2013, 16:25

My lobby ver is still 0.169 I had problems both with 0.170 and 0.171 updates :\
0 x

User avatar
AntiAllez
Posts: 105
Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 18:22

Re: Springlobby updated to 0.170 and broke

Post by AntiAllez » 31 Aug 2013, 17:05

same here on W7, every click on sl.exe starts a procress into tm but not a application
0 x

NeOmega
Posts: 62
Joined: 15 Dec 2010, 11:06

Re: Springlobby updated to 0.170 and broke

Post by NeOmega » 31 Aug 2013, 17:41

Yup, same here. Will not launch.

win XP

The update took and extraordinary long time too.
0 x

NeOmega
Posts: 62
Joined: 15 Dec 2010, 11:06

Re: Springlobby updated to 0.170 and broke

Post by NeOmega » 31 Aug 2013, 23:26

Also just noticed that I had about 10 springlobby.exe's running in task manager for every time I tried to start it.
0 x

abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3560
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: Springlobby updated to 0.170 and broke

Post by abma » 01 Sep 2013, 05:23

sorry, was broken by me :-(

to downgrade, download here:
http://springlobby.info/windows/springl ... -win32.zip


as temporary workaround:
edit->preferences -> general -> disable version check


the linux version works fine :-/
0 x

parker
Posts: 12
Joined: 09 May 2010, 11:32

Re: Springlobby updated to 0.170 and broke

Post by parker » 01 Sep 2013, 05:59

Yeah same problem here 0.170 & 0.171 broken, lights are on nobody home.
Solution: smurf with http://weblobby.springrts.com/ until springlobby fixed :P
0 x

zerver
Spring Developer
Posts: 1358
Joined: 16 Dec 2006, 20:59

Re: Springlobby updated to 0.170 and broke

Post by zerver » 01 Sep 2013, 11:19

Other solution: use gpl violation Lobby, because it does not auto-update.
0 x

abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3560
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: Springlobby updated to 0.170 and broke

Post by abma » 01 Sep 2013, 13:59

autoupdate now would update to 0.169, koshi fixed that.

@zerver: please stop this...
0 x

abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3560
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: Springlobby updated to 0.170 and broke

Post by abma » 01 Sep 2013, 20:01

can someone test if this version works?
http://springlobby.info/temp/builds/abma/sl_master.zip

thanks!
0 x

psimyn
Posts: 1
Joined: 02 Sep 2013, 04:52

Re: Springlobby updated to 0.170 and broke

Post by psimyn » 02 Sep 2013, 04:55

that one is working for me abma.

edit: it opens, but can't find spring (location is manually set). And it gives Window's "springlobby has stopped working" popup when I close it.
Last edited by psimyn on 02 Sep 2013, 05:36, edited 2 times in total.
0 x

parker
Posts: 12
Joined: 09 May 2010, 11:32

Re: Springlobby updated to 0.170 and broke

Post by parker » 02 Sep 2013, 05:07

This will, if you let it, revert you back to .169, seems to work and gets the file size back to what it should be. Am still curious as to how the file grew almost 6 Mb between update. Honestly thou it would be much easier to just rename your springlobby.exe.bak from the last fail update, than install this .220 and then downgrade to play a game.
The real problem is this is blocking any new people from joining the community. They install the game hit lobby, get update msg then nothin. Is this some kind of conspiracy or schadenfreude? :roll:


thank you for the tireless and thankless work you put into the spring project. also please forgive my cynicism, but there is a pattern forming with updates that needs to Stop. :?
0 x

User avatar
Silentwings
Moderator
Posts: 3594
Joined: 25 Oct 2008, 00:23

Re: Springlobby updated to 0.170 and broke

Post by Silentwings » 02 Sep 2013, 07:40

Springlobby was already stopped asking to update, so the 'block' is already gone.

If you want to help prevent bugs, every now and then you should test the latest pre-release builds e.g. http://springlobby.info/windows/ and report bugs to www.springlobby.info.
0 x

abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3560
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: Springlobby updated to 0.170 and broke

Post by abma » 02 Sep 2013, 12:44

yeah, it doesn't ask for a update to the broken version any more. this major bug is fixed now, but before releasing a new version, i want first to fix the remaining ones:

http://projects.springlobby.info/projec ... tatus_id=o

testing version is here: http://springlobby.info/temp/builds/abma/sl_master.zip

thanks for the feedback and still sorry for the broken release. many stuff was rewritten, this is why this breakage happened. there are already two small features added which are incomplete, but mostly already works:

- version check is now done at battle level, not for the whole lobby server
- there is a new "search file" which allows to download files & stable rapid tags (which can be downloaded by double-click)

not sure if its a good idea to show upcoming features, but imo it can't be bad to see, whats the plan.
Attachments
spring version.png
(139.22 KiB) Downloaded 1 time
content search.png
(68.24 KiB) Downloaded 1 time
0 x

User avatar
FLOZi
MC: Legacy & Spring 1944 Developer
Posts: 6109
Joined: 29 Apr 2005, 01:14

Re: Springlobby updated to 0.170 and broke

Post by FLOZi » 02 Sep 2013, 18:02

abma wrote:yeah, it doesn't ask for a update to the broken version any more. this major bug is fixed now, but before releasing a new version, i want first to fix the remaining ones:

http://projects.springlobby.info/projec ... tatus_id=o

testing version is here: http://springlobby.info/temp/builds/abma/sl_master.zip

thanks for the feedback and still sorry for the broken release. many stuff was rewritten, this is why this breakage happened. there are already two small features added which are incomplete, but mostly already works:

- version check is now done at battle level, not for the whole lobby server
- there is a new "search file" which allows to download files & stable rapid tags (which can be downloaded by double-click)

not sure if its a good idea to show upcoming features, but imo it can't be bad to see, whats the plan.
These are not 'small' features. Thanks!! :mrgreen:
0 x

abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3560
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: Springlobby updated to 0.170 and broke

Post by abma » 03 Sep 2013, 19:32

i hopefully fixed all major bugs now, if nobody complains i'll release as it is:

http://springlobby.info/temp/builds/abma/sl_master.zip

its still not perfect, but all crashes should be gone. also the tab corruption etc should be fixed.
0 x

User avatar
Silentwings
Moderator
Posts: 3594
Joined: 25 Oct 2008, 00:23

Re: Springlobby updated to 0.170 and broke

Post by Silentwings » 03 Sep 2013, 20:24

I think there are still some pretty bad bugs - sent pm.
0 x

Post Reply

Return to “SpringLobby Client”

cron