NanoBlobs 0.64 - Page 5

NanoBlobs 0.64

WolfeGames and projects headed by Argh.

Moderators: Moderators, Content Developer

User avatar
Argh
Posts: 10920
Joined: 21 Feb 2005, 03:38

Post by Argh » 27 Nov 2006, 02:05

And I have asked the release manager... and I have enough time to get the animations tweaked tonight/morning/whatever. Shouldn't take too long- the column is probably going to be the only tricky part, honestly.
0 x

User avatar
Argh
Posts: 10920
Joined: 21 Feb 2005, 03:38

Post by Argh » 27 Nov 2006, 10:05

Can't fix the column, without resorting to the old, nasty trick of burying it in the ground. Guess I'll have to do it that way.

[EDIT]Used the old style, but with CSphereParticleSpawner (the z-sorted CSimpleParticleSystem) it looks just fine. Thank goodness. Ok, the nuke is fixed.
0 x

User avatar
Argh
Posts: 10920
Joined: 21 Feb 2005, 03:38

Post by Argh » 27 Nov 2006, 11:51

Ok, I think this will be the final version:

http://www.wolfegames.com/TA_Section/Pr ... obs064.sdz

... please let me know if it, y'know, crashed your comp or something. And please find another human and play it with them, if possible- I'd like to hear how it works in multiplayer, but I need to sleep now.
0 x

User avatar
Deathblane
Posts: 505
Joined: 01 Feb 2006, 01:22

Post by Deathblane » 27 Nov 2006, 12:05

Will this work with 0.73?
0 x

User avatar
Argh
Posts: 10920
Joined: 21 Feb 2005, 03:38

Post by Argh » 27 Nov 2006, 12:13

No. Go download and install (clean) the Release Candidate build, or the latest nightly installer build, which you can find here.

And here's a random picture that has nothing to do with anything.

Image
0 x

User avatar
rattle
Damned Developer
Posts: 8278
Joined: 01 Jun 2006, 13:15

Post by rattle » 27 Nov 2006, 14:27

Alien meets borg meets supersized chicken feet... :-)
The only thing which bugs me about NB is that you can't see a lot of the animation stuff because units move so fast...

edit: I swear, my imaginary friend keeps eating small words in the middle of scentences. This is like the 10th time it happened. :evil:
Last edited by rattle on 27 Nov 2006, 20:04, edited 1 time in total.
0 x

j5mello
Posts: 1189
Joined: 26 Aug 2005, 05:40

Post by j5mello » 27 Nov 2006, 18:27

rattle wrote:Alien meets borg meets supersized chicken feet... :-)
The only thing which bugs me about NB is that you can't a lot of the animation stuff because units move and explode so fast...
Fixed :o
0 x

User avatar
Argh
Posts: 10920
Joined: 21 Feb 2005, 03:38

Post by Argh » 27 Nov 2006, 21:56

Should I make a slow-mo version? It's relatively easy to do...
0 x

User avatar
1v0ry_k1ng
Posts: 4656
Joined: 10 Mar 2006, 10:24

Post by 1v0ry_k1ng » 27 Nov 2006, 22:22

what, double all buildtimes?
0 x

User avatar
knorke
Posts: 7971
Joined: 22 Feb 2006, 01:02

Post by knorke » 27 Nov 2006, 22:26

Argh wrote:Should I make a slow-mo version? It's relatively easy to do...
players could just lower the gamespeed anyway ;)
0 x

manored
Posts: 3179
Joined: 15 Nov 2006, 00:37

Post by manored » 27 Nov 2006, 23:25

Argh wrote:@Hunter0000:

I cannot do much about the black-lines bug. This isn't happening on my machine anymore, and it has to do with the low-level rendering code that handles bitmaps in Spring, which has a number of problems that I am aware of, but am not nearly a good enough coder to address.

The Square's FX might need to be slowed down some more, to make it feel a bit more solid. I don't want to add more particles to it if I can help it- every one has a cost, and it adds up rather quickly.

@Everybody... yeah, you need to d/l and install the Release Candidate of Spring, if you want to play the mod.
You mean that automated test builds? if not could you give me the link, please?
0 x

User avatar
Argh
Posts: 10920
Joined: 21 Feb 2005, 03:38

Post by Argh » 27 Nov 2006, 23:28

Last edited by Argh on 28 Nov 2006, 00:11, edited 1 time in total.
0 x

User avatar
Exit69
Posts: 63
Joined: 24 Jun 2006, 19:21

Post by Exit69 » 28 Nov 2006, 00:02

Can i have a separate link to v0.64? i`ve installed the new spring, but for some reason Nanoblobs isn`t there :(
0 x


User avatar
Exit69
Posts: 63
Joined: 24 Jun 2006, 19:21

Post by Exit69 » 28 Nov 2006, 00:13

yep mistaken the dl :( TNX for the link!
0 x

manored
Posts: 3179
Joined: 15 Nov 2006, 00:37

Post by manored » 28 Nov 2006, 01:42

Argh you really need to mod nanoblobs so it works in the previous version of spring. The reason is that no mod that uses anything from the original TA works on the newest version of spring and so we would mainly need to either have 2 springs instaled or forget nanoblobs... :cry:
0 x

User avatar
Argh
Posts: 10920
Joined: 21 Feb 2005, 03:38

Post by Argh » 28 Nov 2006, 01:44

You can just install the XTA version, download NanoBlobs from the link I listed above, and put it into your Mods folder... it's not my fault that XTA/AA/etc. are making use of non-GPL content...
0 x

manored
Posts: 3179
Joined: 15 Nov 2006, 00:37

Post by manored » 28 Nov 2006, 03:06

I know, I just had things a little misurestanded on my head then i posted the last post :lol: .
0 x

User avatar
Argh
Posts: 10920
Joined: 21 Feb 2005, 03:38

Post by Argh » 28 Nov 2006, 03:54

It's cool. It just wanted to make sure people understand- while Spring's GPL version is, well, GPL... NanoBlobs is a completely self-contained mod, and will operate in either version of Spring.
0 x

User avatar
Argh
Posts: 10920
Joined: 21 Feb 2005, 03:38

Post by Argh » 28 Nov 2006, 04:54

Oh, and ... if anybody could, could I see some good screenshots of people playing?
0 x

Post Reply

Return to “Argh's Projects”