blob shadow

blob shadow

Discuss Lua based Spring scripts (LuaUI widgets, mission scripts, gaia scripts, mod-rules scripts, scripted keybindings, etc...)

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
Sheekel
Posts: 1390
Joined: 19 Apr 2005, 19:23

blob shadow

Post by Sheekel »

hi, does anyone have a version of this widget that works? i have tried the one on the caspring.org site, as well as the one from jobjol.

core2duo, 8800GT, etc
User avatar
Niobium
Posts: 456
Joined: 07 Dec 2008, 02:35

Re: blob shadow

Post by Niobium »

Have you pressed F11 and checked that it is turned on? By default it is off.

If you've done that, then what exactly doesn't work about it?
User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14657
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: blob shadow

Post by Forboding Angel »

try
/shadows 2
ingame. It might do a little better for you than blob shadows.
User avatar
knorke
Posts: 7971
Joined: 22 Feb 2006, 01:02

Re: blob shadow

Post by knorke »

is /shadows 2 the same as /shadows 1 just without the terrain casting shadows?
(it seems like this for me)
User avatar
very_bad_soldier
Posts: 1390
Joined: 20 Feb 2007, 01:10

Re: blob shadow

Post by very_bad_soldier »

This one is working for me
http://widgets.springrts.de/index.php#100

It is only in effect if normal shadows are off though (/shadows 0).
Sheekel
Posts: 1390
Joined: 19 Apr 2005, 19:23

Re: blob shadow

Post by Sheekel »

the /shadows setting doesnt matter one bit because they are disabled when LOS view is on

how anyone can play RTS competently without any LOS is beyond me

thanks for the script soldier
User avatar
very_bad_soldier
Posts: 1390
Joined: 20 Feb 2007, 01:10

Re: blob shadow

Post by very_bad_soldier »

Sheekel wrote:the /shadows setting doesnt matter one bit because they are disabled when LOS view is on
It actually does matter (or did matter). You have to disable shadows (/shadows 0) even when in LOS view to have blob shadows working.

But I just updated the widget so that it is working now in LOS view even when shadows are still enabled.
User avatar
bobthedinosaur
Blood & Steel Developer
Posts: 2699
Joined: 25 Aug 2004, 13:31

Re: blob shadow

Post by bobthedinosaur »

thanks VBS
Sheekel
Posts: 1390
Joined: 19 Apr 2005, 19:23

Re: blob shadow

Post by Sheekel »

there are 3 settings now in the springsettings

shadows disabled_______wtf
shadows off___________this makes sense, i want shadows off
shadows on___________this makes sense, but i cant run them

explain this "noob" friendly feature? /sarcasm
User avatar
CarRepairer
Cursed Zero-K Developer
Posts: 3359
Joined: 07 Nov 2007, 21:48

Re: blob shadow

Post by CarRepairer »

Sheekel wrote:how anyone can play RTS competently without any LOS is beyond me
+1000
User avatar
bobthedinosaur
Blood & Steel Developer
Posts: 2699
Joined: 25 Aug 2004, 13:31

Re: blob shadow

Post by bobthedinosaur »

blob shadows don't work for me :(
Sheekel
Posts: 1390
Joined: 19 Apr 2005, 19:23

Re: blob shadow

Post by Sheekel »

bobthedinosaur wrote:blob shadows don't work for me :(
VBS's posted version works for me. they didnt work until i turned shadows to "disabled" in spring settings

also, press F11 and make sure dynamic blob shadows is on
User avatar
jK
Spring Developer
Posts: 2299
Joined: 28 Jun 2007, 07:30

Re: blob shadow

Post by jK »

The original "blob shadow" widget just shows the shadows for flying units (e.g. aircraft), similar to starcraft2 where flying units draw a line to their groundpos.
So the intention of this widget is not a visual improvement!

There is a modified version which shows it for all units, but afaik it is slower than "/shadows 2" and looks much worse.
User avatar
very_bad_soldier
Posts: 1390
Joined: 20 Feb 2007, 01:10

Re: blob shadow

Post by very_bad_soldier »

jK wrote:The original "blob shadow" widget just shows the shadows for flying units (e.g. aircraft), similar to starcraft2 where flying units draw a line to their groundpos.
So the intention of this widget is not a visual improvement!
I dont think that applies for "Dinamic blob shadows". http://springrts.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=14158

@Bob:
Does it not even work in LOS view? That should render the blob shadows regardless of your shadow settings (with latest blob widget version).
User avatar
bobthedinosaur
Blood & Steel Developer
Posts: 2699
Joined: 25 Aug 2004, 13:31

Re: blob shadow

Post by bobthedinosaur »

I am using the blob shadows from date: "March 3, 2008" I think it was the one from the list unless you just recently updated it? Anyways it doesn't work with shadows disabled off or on any setting or with LOS view flipped on. It is probably just my crappy mobile ATI.

Strange that since the spring update no engine shadows work, when they used to on low settings.
Post Reply

Return to “Lua Scripts”