Building inside yardmaps

Building inside yardmaps

Here is where ideas can be collected for the skirmish AI in development

Moderators: hoijui, Moderators

Post Reply
lamer
Posts: 146
Joined: 08 Mar 2014, 23:13

Building inside yardmaps

Post by lamer » 01 Oct 2015, 14:36

Is building a structure inside a factory is correct behaviour?
For example next CppTestAI will build radar inside factory (spring 100 + BA 9.10)

Code: Select all

/* This file is part of the Spring engine (GPL v2 or later), see LICENSE.html */
#include "CppTestAI.h"
#include "ExternalAI/Interface/AISEvents.h"
#include "ExternalAI/Interface/AISCommands.h"
// generated by the C++ Wrapper scripts
#include "OOAICallback.h"
#include "UnitDef.h"
#include "WrappUnit.h"
#include "Map.h"
#include <string>
cpptestai::CCppTestAI::CCppTestAI(springai::OOAICallback* callback):
		callback(callback),
		skirmishAIId(callback != NULL ? callback->GetSkirmishAIId() : -1)
		{}
cpptestai::CCppTestAI::~CCppTestAI() {}

int cpptestai::CCppTestAI::HandleEvent(int topic, const void* data) {
	switch (topic) {
		case EVENT_UNIT_CREATED: {
			struct SUnitCreatedEvent* evt = (struct SUnitCreatedEvent*)data;
			springai::Unit* unit = springai::WrappUnit::GetInstance(skirmishAIId, evt->unit);
			static springai::AIFloat3 labPos = ZeroVector;
			static springai::Unit* com = nullptr;  // leak
			springai::UnitDef* def = unit->GetDef();
			if (std::string("armcom") == def->GetName()) {
				com = unit;
				springai::UnitDef* buildDef = callback->GetUnitDefByName("armlab");
				com->Build(buildDef, com->GetPos(), 0);
				delete buildDef;
			} else if (std::string("armlab") == def->GetName()) {
				labPos = unit->GetPos() + springai::AIFloat3(0, 0, 32);
				springai::UnitDef* buildDef = callback->GetUnitDefByName("armpw");
				unit->Build(buildDef, labPos, 0);
				delete unit, delete buildDef;
			} else if (std::string("armpw") == def->GetName()) {
				springai::UnitDef* buildDef = callback->GetUnitDefByName("armrad");
				springai::Map* map = callback->GetMap();
				springai::AIFloat3 buildPos = map->FindClosestBuildSite(buildDef, labPos, 600.0f, 0, 0);
				com->Build(buildDef, buildPos, 0);
				delete unit, delete buildDef, delete map;
			}
			delete def;
			break;
		}
		default: break;
	}
	// signal: everything went OK
	return 0;
}
Feels like a bug. Or probably function responsible for validation of position ("IsPossibleToBuildAt") should take additional parameter "bool doNotAllowBuildingInsideOpenYardMap"?
Also same behaviour is allowed for players (can't think of any reason for that in perspective of BA, ZK, S44).

Didn't mantise it as my ai uses own implementation of FindClosestBuildSite so it's not affected by described "feature" and i'm not sure it's a bug.
Last edited by lamer on 03 Dec 2015, 21:58, edited 2 times in total.
0 x

User avatar
Anarchid
Posts: 1380
Joined: 30 Nov 2008, 04:31

Re: Building inside yardmaps

Post by Anarchid » 01 Oct 2015, 15:25

People used to use this competitively in Evo by building radars and turrets inside of enemy factories, disabling nanoframe creation.

Was more hilarious in evo compared to other games because of its weird clipping rules and extreme armor modifiers for building vs building combat.
0 x

User avatar
Silentwings
Moderator
Posts: 3592
Joined: 25 Oct 2008, 00:23

Re: Building inside yardmaps

Post by Silentwings » 01 Oct 2015, 17:57

If you don't want it you can prevent it with a gadget - http://imolarpg.dyndns.org/trac/balates ... ab_hax.lua, so it shouldn't be possible in BA (and if it is, afaik that's a bug). I guess the AI doesn't know any of this, though.
0 x

lamer
Posts: 146
Joined: 08 Mar 2014, 23:13

Re: Building inside yardmaps

Post by lamer » 01 Oct 2015, 22:16

The bug is possible in BA as a player within own factory, tested with springlobby+spring100+BA9.10+singleplayer vs NullAI
yardmap.jpg
(148.62 KiB) Not downloaded yet
But if i understood right it's solvable with gadget for players.
Btw, CAI (zk's ai) suffer from same issue: builds nano-turrets inside factories.
Anyway, for native AIs Map::IsPossibleToBuildAt and Map::FindClosestBuildSite with additional parameter "bool doNotAllowBuildingInsideOpenYardMap" should address the issue (maybe). But thats another story (feature request).
0 x

User avatar
Silentwings
Moderator
Posts: 3592
Joined: 25 Oct 2008, 00:23

Re: Building inside yardmaps

Post by Silentwings » 01 Oct 2015, 22:38

Sorry - I meant to refer to what Anarchid said. If I remember rightly, BA allows you to build/move inside your own factories but not inside your enemies.
0 x

8611z
Posts: 169
Joined: 08 Jul 2015, 20:20

Re: Building inside yardmaps

Post by 8611z » 01 Oct 2015, 22:49

yardmap.jpg
I think http://imolarpg.dyndns.org/trac/balates ... ab_hax.lua is not supposed to prevent that.
It might be about different bug/tactic: Walking units into an enemy factory, where they are harder/impossible to target.
Building into enemy factories is not so relevant in BA (short buildranges etc), but walking into them was somewhat common.

Code: Select all

for Lid,Lv in pairs(lab) do 
  local units = spGetUnitsInBox(Lv.minx, Lv.miny, Lv.minz, Lv.maxx, Lv.maxy, Lv.maxz)
    for i,id in ipairs(units) do
      local team = spGetUnitAllyTeam(id) 
      ...
      ...
      if (team ~= Lv.team) and not fly then
         ...
Note: team ~= Lv.team, if factory and unit are same team then it does nothing.


Howerver the zero-K version https://github.com/ZeroK-RTS/Zero-K/blo ... x.lua#L186 looks it tries to prevent the
"Build inside factory" thing:

Code: Select all

function AllowUnitCreation( ... )
for Lid,Lv in pairs(lab) do
  -- intersection of 2 rectangles
  if Lv.minx < maxx and Lv.maxx > minx and Lv.minz < maxz and Lv.maxz > minz then
  return false
end
Callin AllowUnitCreation returns false = engine blocks creation of that unit.
solvable with gadget for players
Well, wrt "solveable":
There is kinda conflict that the GUI tells player with green preview-thing that he can build there. Then he tries but nothing happens. Similiar to how AIs feel.
0 x

abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3555
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: Building inside yardmaps

Post by abma » 02 Oct 2015, 00:15

IMHO thats a feature.

also: FindClosestBuildSite has a minDist parameter, it can be used to prevent that.
0 x

Post Reply

Return to “AI”