Spring RTS, Oculus Rift, 3D!

Discuss your problems with the latest release of the engine here. Problems with games, maps or other utilities belong in their respective forums.

Moderator: Moderators

ThePowerTool

Post by ThePowerTool »

I apologize for being a complete novice when it comes to 3D. I thought I had a clue regarding 3D but the more I research and learn the more I discover I didn't know.

I found the Spring RTS 3D announcement - viewtopic.php?f=1&t=19995&hilit=oculus+rift

It basically says 3D options are now supported in Spring--awsome!

Oculus, in their infinite wisdom, disabled their "desktop mode" option in the driver. My understanding is that basically means anything that would send "raw" 3d to a monitor which could then be interpreted to send to the Oculus Rift for 3D stereoscopic display, has been disabled. I think this means developers have to do something to make support work.

Is it possible to play Spring in 3D on an Oculus Rift?

Is anyone playing Spring on an Oculus Rift?

Thanks!
PicassoCT
Journeywar Developer & Mapper

Re: Spring RTS, Oculus Rift, 3D!

Post by PicassoCT »

Hi PowerTool,

that is realy incredibble- so spring supported shifted 3d displaying all along.
We need the car repairer.
ivand

Post by ivand »

Haven't tried VR rendering ever, but as far as I understand, implementation requires drawing world two times with slightly different view matrix on half-width viewport each.

Naive implementation shouldn't be that hard to do. Something in between https://github.com/spring/spring/pull/128/files and https://hub.packtpub.com/rendering-ster ... ng-opengl/
However it's likely that such implementation wouldn't be optimal, something like instancing or geometry shader instancing is likely yield better FPS.

If you feel like getting into 3D programming, it might be a good idea to tinker with naive implementation as a first step.
Kloot
Spring Developer

Post by Kloot »