Hosting a LAN game

Hosting a LAN game

Discuss your problems with the latest release of the engine here. Problems with games, maps or other utilities belong in their respective forums.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
udm
Posts: 47
Joined: 24 Jan 2007, 01:38

Hosting a LAN game

Post by udm »

Is it possible to host a LAN game without logging in to the main lobby?
imbaczek
Posts: 3629
Joined: 22 Aug 2006, 16:19

Post by imbaczek »

Yes. You need to run your own minimal lobby though and point the clients at it. Software is availible... somewhere, don't remember where.
User avatar
iamacup
Posts: 987
Joined: 26 Jun 2006, 20:43

Post by iamacup »

[22:10:34] <udm> wow trademark
[22:10:45] <udm> i ate your dad

kk back ontopic

download the server off the main download page and then just run that like a normal server, connect to it as you do the normal one.
User avatar
iamacup
Posts: 987
Joined: 26 Jun 2006, 20:43

Post by iamacup »

ps, there is a wiki page all about this but i hate wikis, you can find it yourself :P
User avatar
PicassoCT
Journeywar Developer & Mapper
Posts: 10382
Joined: 24 Jan 2006, 21:12

Post by PicassoCT »

Sigh - good we didn`t have a easy & Comfortabel way to get that done - just imagine Spring conquering big LAN Partys - no... no we just don`t want that to happen ;) till hell freezes over - no wait we should say that in Springish - "Not before resync is done " ;)
User avatar
iamacup
Posts: 987
Joined: 26 Jun 2006, 20:43

Post by iamacup »

http://www.tobi-is-a-god.com/roadmap.jpg clearly outlines when stuff is happening
udm
Posts: 47
Joined: 24 Jan 2007, 01:38

Post by udm »

Is there any way that we can play if we're on a LAN connection but we don't have access to the internet? This wasn't taught in the wiki, maybe some kind of command line?

PS: cup: that comment was aimed at an idiot called FriedChicken. I'm in love with Trademark, so...yeah...
Caradhras
Posts: 381
Joined: 31 Jul 2006, 21:49

Post by Caradhras »

rofl@cup

BTW:

CUPPIE FOR PROPAGANDA MINISTER!
User avatar
PicassoCT
Journeywar Developer & Mapper
Posts: 10382
Joined: 24 Jan 2006, 21:12

Post by PicassoCT »

Oh, yes - that is what i always missed in my Mailbox

Sendby: http://WWw.unknown-filesn.net
Concerning: Viagra, cheapdrugs, PenisEnlargments & Spring Spam

Dear Friend you have won in the Monthly Springlottery - one free piece of software - just hitz the linkz below to download it...
Luck you!

Greetz by Cupie;)

;)

A Man has to built a House, have a child and plant a tree. Oh, and if he has a rope hang himself from the Tree. The Second Part is usual only added by Emos. But for this special ocassion ;)

PS: Cupie for Propaganda(m/s)innister!
User avatar
Ling_Lover
Posts: 100
Joined: 26 Sep 2006, 11:50

Post by Ling_Lover »

udm wrote:Is there any way that we can play if we're on a LAN connection but we don't have access to the internet? This wasn't taught in the wiki, maybe some kind of command line?

PS: cup: that comment was aimed at an idiot called FriedChicken. I'm in love with Trademark, so...yeah...
you might be able to do it with custom start-scripts...

or just get the server software here: http://spring.clan-sy.com/download.php (either Windows or Linux)

then i presume you run it, and then get them to set their Lobbies to connect to your computer (running the server)...

let me find the wiki...

here it is! http://spring.clan-sy.com/wiki/Spring_on_a_LAN
User avatar
Umrug
Posts: 141
Joined: 27 Nov 2006, 12:57

Post by Umrug »

Amazingly, in a hour of bad need, I was able to do it with a custom scripts, they are pretty self-explanatory. Create a game with SpringSP, take the file named "script.txt" (name is important, dont rename it) and edit it as you see fit. After you edit it, distribute to other participating players, with proper changes for each of them (Player number, host)
udm
Posts: 47
Joined: 24 Jan 2007, 01:38

Post by udm »

Thanks a lot Ling Lover!
Post Reply

Return to “Help & Bugs”