Supreme commander 2 - Page 3

Supreme commander 2

Post just about everything that isn't directly related to Spring here!

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
KingRaptor
Zero-K Developer
Posts: 838
Joined: 14 Mar 2007, 03:44

Re: Supreme commander 2

Post by KingRaptor »

They've made one side-scroll shooter (Einhander) and a number of turn-based strategy/RPGs (FFT, Front Mission series), but an RTS is kinda stretching it if you ask me.
User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20686
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Re: Supreme commander 2

Post by AF »

Content creation, storyline, and sequences, possibly frontend. Thats what I think the main advantage is.

Knowing Chris Taylor, GPG will bring to the table tech, game play concepts, and experience.

Of course all those are arguably nonexistant in either company depending on who you talk to, but i think this is a good move.
User avatar
Argh
Posts: 10920
Joined: 21 Feb 2005, 03:38

Re: Supreme commander 2

Post by Argh »

My guess is that this is mainly about money, not about creative synergy. GPG blew a big chunk of change with Space Siege, and didn't exactly blow people's sales expectations away with SupCom.

Square is finally healthy and flush with cash again, and while SupCom II may or may not all that cool, my guess is that Square's people saw the tech in DemiGods and decided that GPG was a good bet for a solid hit.

I really doubt that Square's planning to run the creative end, frankly.
User avatar
Crayfish
Posts: 481
Joined: 12 Feb 2008, 12:39

Re: Supreme commander 2

Post by Crayfish »

Hope they do, though. Can't be worse than the first SupCom. Dreary game.
User avatar
clericvash
Posts: 1394
Joined: 05 Oct 2004, 01:05

Re: Supreme commander 2

Post by clericvash »

Well they know what to do and what not to do this time around, they have much more experience.

Let us hope they do better this time, and i swear if it doesn't run well on my quad core i will piss on CT's face for crap programming.
User avatar
SwiftSpear
Classic Community Lead
Posts: 7287
Joined: 12 Aug 2005, 09:29

Re: Supreme commander 2

Post by SwiftSpear »

clericvash wrote:Well they know what to do and what not to do this time around, they have much more experience.

Let us hope they do better this time, and i swear if it doesn't run well on my quad core i will piss on CT's face for crap programming.
Haha, of course Supcom 2 will require intel's super new over 9000 core processor to run with any decent frame rates.
User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20686
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Re: Supreme commander 2

Post by AF »

I think the main reasoning is memory. Chris Taylor once commented he would love to add more units and factions but doing so would quickly result in issues with fitting it all into memory. I expect they're wanting 64bit stuff.
User avatar
PicassoCT
Journeywar Developer & Mapper
Posts: 10382
Joined: 24 Jan 2006, 21:12

Re: Supreme commander 2

Post by PicassoCT »

Well, i guess it is time to take out all those graphic stunners from the past, who never could get enough memory and try them again.. may the Lamez begin.. ... seriously i can add fourthousound new unbalanced Units to Chess - and get away with it by claiming, that the chessboards of today are simply not supporting my brilliant Gamedesign.. Epic Whale is blowing..
Super Mario
Posts: 823
Joined: 21 Oct 2008, 02:54

Re: Supreme commander 2

Post by Super Mario »

AF wrote:I think the main reasoning is memory. Chris Taylor once commented he would love to add more units and factions but doing so would quickly result in issues with fitting it all into memory. I expect they're wanting 64bit stuff.
Then I need a new hardware....... also is this is going to be one of the games that kills on average computers? If yes then, it's practically absurd that the developers think that average computers could handle this type of game that they're planing. I can't upgrade any more!
User avatar
Zoy64
Posts: 454
Joined: 12 Nov 2006, 00:30

Re: Supreme commander 2

Post by Zoy64 »

Supcom 2? Im a huge fan of Supcom, so i would buy a sequel.

I was best with the Cybran, they're cool; but as we all know Core>Cybran--Krog>Spiderbot.

I worship Chris Taylor (and cookies) so i hope he doesnt disappoint me.


Supcom 2 will probably have heros as mentioned before, it will also probably have techs and units with buffs. Oh, and dont forget a race of vegetable people from Melvar 9 with a "Carrot of D00M!"
User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22309
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Re: Supreme commander 2

Post by smoth »

chris taylor is only a man.
User avatar
CarRepairer
Cursed Zero-K Developer
Posts: 3359
Joined: 07 Nov 2007, 21:48

Re: Supreme commander 2

Post by CarRepairer »

PicassoCT wrote:Well, i guess it is time to take out all those graphic stunners from the past, who never could get enough memory and try them again.. may the Lamez begin.. ... seriously i can add fourthousound new unbalanced Units to Chess - and get away with it by claiming, that the chessboards of today are simply not supporting my brilliant Gamedesign.. Epic Whale is blowing..
How do you come up with this sutff?
User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20686
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Re: Supreme commander 2

Post by AF »

smoth wrote:chris taylor is only a man.
A man with balls of steel
User avatar
Sabutai
Posts: 413
Joined: 18 Dec 2005, 05:55

Re: Supreme commander 2

Post by Sabutai »

You know, they're gonna do it the SC2 way:


Square
(storyline + Animeheros + good marketing through fanbase)

+ GPG
(balanced-RTS + Addons)

= RTS competion cult aka Cashmashine


All they need now is a soundtrack made by Linkin Park.
User avatar
REVENGE
Posts: 2381
Joined: 24 Aug 2006, 06:13

Re: Supreme commander 2

Post by REVENGE »

Sabutai wrote:All they need now is a soundtrack made by Linkin Park.
"But in the end..."
User avatar
PicassoCT
Journeywar Developer & Mapper
Posts: 10382
Joined: 24 Jan 2006, 21:12

Re: Supreme commander 2

Post by PicassoCT »

CarRepairer wrote:
PicassoCT wrote:Well, i guess it is time to take out all those graphic stunners from the past, who never could get enough memory and try them again.. may the Lamez begin.. ... seriously i can add fourthousound new unbalanced Units to Chess - and get away with it by claiming, that the chessboards of today are simply not supporting my brilliant Gamedesign.. Epic Whale is blowing..
How do you come up with this sutff?
Insanity the beautifull ;)
User avatar
Sabutai
Posts: 413
Joined: 18 Dec 2005, 05:55

Re: Supreme commander 2

Post by Sabutai »

REVENGE wrote:
Sabutai wrote:All they need now is a soundtrack made by Linkin Park.
"But in the end..."
"Points of Authority" sports robotarmies and shiny glowy tentacles!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-l4G5rRJK8U
User avatar
KDR_11k
Game Developer
Posts: 8293
Joined: 25 Jun 2006, 08:44

Re: Supreme commander 2

Post by KDR_11k »

AF wrote:I think the main reasoning is memory. Chris Taylor once commented he would love to add more units and factions but doing so would quickly result in issues with fitting it all into memory. I expect they're wanting 64bit stuff.
Maybe they should have cut one faction and added more units to the remaining ones then if they were really hardware-constrained.
User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20686
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Re: Supreme commander 2

Post by AF »

No, they meant if they added a 5th faction and more units. They've already pretty much pushed it as far as theyre willing to go already by adding forged alliance.
User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14657
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: Supreme commander 2

Post by Forboding Angel »

cookies and dicks should NEVER be in the same sentence... Just, no.
Post Reply

Return to “Off Topic Discussion”