Do you run spring with shadows on? - Page 3

Do you run spring with shadows on?

Various things about Spring that do not fit in any of the other forums listed below, including forum rules.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
knorke
Posts: 7971
Joined: 22 Feb 2006, 01:02

Re: Do you run spring with shadows on?

Post by knorke »

mtr...
lalala
User avatar
KingRaptor
Zero-K Developer
Posts: 838
Joined: 14 Mar 2007, 03:44

Re: Do you run spring with shadows on?

Post by KingRaptor »

Yes, GTX430.

I find that LOS guesstimation works fine most of the time. Experimented with some widget implementations of the view but couldn't get either of them to work satisfactorily.
User avatar
very_bad_soldier
Posts: 1389
Joined: 20 Feb 2007, 01:10

Re: Do you run spring with shadows on?

Post by very_bad_soldier »

Google_Frog wrote:What is a proper LOS-view? I don't want simple round circles. I want to know what I can see, this includes ALos. To me the system could be improved if the visualisation update speed was as fast as the underlying system.
Yes thats what I mean: Faster update, higher resolution and the ability to render shadows/ssmf at the same time.
User avatar
ginekolog
Posts: 837
Joined: 27 Feb 2006, 13:49

Re: Do you run spring with shadows on?

Post by ginekolog »

no shadows, i like 20+fps with 4000+ units on map (like in FFAs)

9600gt
User avatar
very_bad_soldier
Posts: 1389
Joined: 20 Feb 2007, 01:10

Re: Do you run spring with shadows on?

Post by very_bad_soldier »

You could use FPSManager to disable shadows in late game automatically:
http://widgets.springrts.de/index.php#13

I think that pathing and stuff is way more limiting than shadows if you have 4000 units. Did someone test if disabling shadows in late game really increases framerate significantly?
Coresair
Posts: 279
Joined: 30 Dec 2009, 01:17

Re: Do you run spring with shadows on?

Post by Coresair »

Yes.

Sli GTX 460s ran by an i7 2600k (4.6ghz) and 8GB ddr3 1600 ram.

9800gt ran by a Q8200 (2.33ghz) and 6GB ddr2 800 ram.
Sheekel
Posts: 1390
Joined: 19 Apr 2005, 19:23

Re: Do you run spring with shadows on?

Post by Sheekel »

No. 8800GT. I use LOS-view (press L ingame) which disables shadows anyway.
User avatar
Rafal99
Posts: 162
Joined: 14 Jan 2006, 04:09

Re: Do you run spring with shadows on?

Post by Rafal99 »

GTS450 here
No shadows because last time I tried it meant 50% less FPS, while I prefered to have better terrain LOD range and more particles.
Going to try /shadows 2 now.
User avatar
PicassoCT
Journeywar Developer & Mapper
Posts: 10366
Joined: 24 Jan 2006, 21:12

Re: Do you run spring with shadows on?

Post by PicassoCT »

shadowrun is so 80s ;)
User avatar
Pxtl
Posts: 6112
Joined: 23 Oct 2004, 01:43

Re: Do you run spring with shadows on?

Post by Pxtl »

Sheekel wrote:No. 8800GT. I use LOS-view (press L ingame) which disables shadows anyway.
Ditto.
User avatar
forest_devil
Posts: 139
Joined: 14 Aug 2009, 17:36

Re: Do you run spring with shadows on?

Post by forest_devil »

yes i use shadows

ati HD 56XX series 512 mb

i used top settings for everything (except water) unless i play zk or evo
User avatar
HeavyLancer
Posts: 421
Joined: 19 May 2007, 09:28

Re: Do you run spring with shadows on?

Post by HeavyLancer »

Yes, running an Nvidia GT540M 1GB.
User avatar
MidKnight
Posts: 2650
Joined: 10 Sep 2008, 03:11

Re: Do you run spring with shadows on?

Post by MidKnight »

Yes. ATi Radeon HD 4870

LOS? That's for pros. Not noobs like me. 8)
User avatar
Carpenter
Posts: 216
Joined: 10 Jul 2009, 16:07

Re: Do you run spring with shadows on?

Post by Carpenter »

HD5770 and nope, not using shadows. Used to but then I figured it's not helping to keep up a good gameplay in late games when playing FFA/long team games.
User avatar
rattle
Damned Developer
Posts: 8278
Joined: 01 Jun 2006, 13:15

Re: Do you run spring with shadows on?

Post by rattle »

9800GT 1GB RAM
shadows 4096
bump mapped water
User avatar
PicassoCT
Journeywar Developer & Mapper
Posts: 10366
Joined: 24 Jan 2006, 21:12

Re: Do you run spring with shadows on?

Post by PicassoCT »

rattle wrote: bump mapped water
This and ATI make Forb howl,twitch and scream at night.
trideceth12
Posts: 12
Joined: 03 Mar 2010, 18:53

Re: Do you run spring with shadows on?

Post by trideceth12 »

GTX260

No

And actually i think the shadows look shit anyway
User avatar
Soul
Posts: 177
Joined: 12 May 2006, 15:35

Re: Do you run spring with shadows on?

Post by Soul »

Shadows and water are the only thing graphicwise that comes close to (or even beats) new games that have a tonload of money behind its production so yes, i have shadows on.

ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5870 ; VRAM: 1GB
trideceth12 wrote: And actually i think the shadows look shit anyway
wut?
User avatar
LulzLizard
Posts: 5
Joined: 18 Jul 2011, 20:49

Re: Do you run spring with shadows on?

Post by LulzLizard »

no and ati 3000 series (shit gfx card)

for all you with good gfx I seriously recommend trying bump mapped water with all the bump mapped settings on highest, it looks just amazing
User avatar
Petah
Posts: 426
Joined: 13 Jan 2008, 19:40

Re: Do you run spring with shadows on?

Post by Petah »

No: GeForce GTS 250
No: GeForce 9600M
Post Reply

Return to “General Discussion”