Jaz's ToDo List and Future Ideas

Various things about Spring that do not fit in any of the other forums listed below, including forum rules.

Moderator: Moderators

Jazcash

Post by Jazcash »

I've been meaning to make this for a long time but never got around to it. This is directed at people who actually contribute to the community, even in the slightest. I don't expect anyone to look at these as demands or pleas. These are just things I think should be at least looked into and addressed. Some you will disagree with, some you will have answers to already.

Also, if nobody else will use this, it's also a nice reference for myself as I will also be trying to sort a lot of stuff out. Also note, I'm not a programmer myself, but I do enjoy looking into the logic of things and I do a fair amount of graphic design so don't expect a complex geeky approach to this.

So without further ado:

----------------------------------------------------------

Lobby and Server
  • GUI Friendly: Maybe make all lobby's newb friendly and use buttons as well as commands. Right click menu lists are my favourite.
  • Profiles: Having a profile system has been discussed a bit in the past but was forgotten. I think this would be a great feature allowing players to each have their own profile storing their join date, ingame time, most popular played mod and map and other nice statistics.
  • Completed! New Ranks: This may have happened by the time you read this post but new ranks would be nice.
  • Ranking and Balance: In fact, the rank system needs a serious discussion. This has been discussed many times in the past and different conclusions have been reached. Some argue that most damage ranking may cause players cheating to get higher ranks, some argued that time based ranking doesn't give the best balancing which it doesn't. This needs a whole look over as I seriously think an actual ranking system should be based on skill, not experience or ingame time.