Spring Mark - Page 6

Spring Mark

Please use this forum to set up matches and discuss played games.

Moderator: Moderators

Locked
User avatar
Licho
Zero-K Developer
Posts: 3803
Joined: 19 May 2006, 19:13

Post by Licho »

Meltrax, instead of measuring actual game (which can greatly differ), I suggest measuring artificial game - such as short demo + with predefined quality settings. This is the most accurate way to measure raw spring performance of user's machine we can hope to achieve..
User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20686
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Post by AF »

I was going to suggest that, however I suggest it be a lua mission script as spectating reduces the normal workload.
helius
Posts: 1
Joined: 11 Jul 2007, 07:12

hehe thx JJ

Post by helius »

lol after i changed values in my RAM for example my Springmarkpoints to 999 ;)

i got a new very nice system :D ...

[LCC]helius 3 _2 MB 1 dollar 80286 16Mhz, i suck 8 MHz 16 MHz 2007-07-10


thx JJ :D
User avatar
LathanStanley
Posts: 1429
Joined: 20 Jun 2005, 05:16

Post by LathanStanley »

is it just me.... or... is it not looking at the cycle speed of the processor?
:lol:

IT LIES!!! 1700 max LMFAO!!

I'm pushing over 4075! :P


this program is leet hax I say! HAX!

Image
User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20686
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Post by AF »

its also singlethreaded so ti wont perform any better if 10 extra cores are added to the cpu.
User avatar
LathanStanley
Posts: 1429
Joined: 20 Jun 2005, 05:16

Post by LathanStanley »

well... my proc is only singlethreaded ... hyperthreaded kinda counts as dual I guess... but its still single :roll:
User avatar
jj
Posts: 273
Joined: 01 Apr 2006, 19:03

Post by jj »

LathanStanley wrote:is it just me.... or... is it not looking at the cycle speed of the processor?
:lol:

IT LIES!!! 1700 max LMFAO!!

I'm pushing over 4075! :P
since springmark gets the info from Windows WMI, you'd better check your windows system info, it must get false reading, type msinfo32 to check.
but dont worry, your score is still good enough ;)
Last edited by jj on 13 Jul 2007, 16:26, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
jj
Posts: 273
Joined: 01 Apr 2006, 19:03

Post by jj »

LathanStanley wrote:well... my proc is only singlethreaded ... hyperthreaded kinda counts as dual I guess... but its still single :roll:
HT is 2 treads with 1 core, not dualcore
User avatar
LathanStanley
Posts: 1429
Joined: 20 Jun 2005, 05:16

Post by LathanStanley »

I know what hyperthreaded is.... meh...

I built a monster overclockin machine...

it'll hit 4.8 GHz :twisted:


ain't stable though... :x
User avatar
Tim Blokdijk
Posts: 1240
Joined: 29 May 2005, 11:18

Post by Tim Blokdijk »

LathanStanley wrote:...
ain't stable though... :x
I guess that means people with a high SpringMark score would have to get banned from games. :twisted:
User avatar
jj
Posts: 273
Joined: 01 Apr 2006, 19:03

Post by jj »

Tim Blokdijk wrote:
LathanStanley wrote:...
ain't stable though... :x
I guess that means people with a high SpringMark score would have to get banned from games. :twisted:
working on it :P
Satirik
Lobby Developer
Posts: 1688
Joined: 16 Mar 2007, 18:27

Post by Satirik »

I do kick low cpu in mid game ... if you have a 5year old cpu play 5year old games or little map don't join Supreme Battlefield game and make everybody lag 2min after the start ... the respect is when you don't make other people lag because of your poor cpu ... so you run springmark and let other player know you have a poor cpu ... if they let you play they won't kick you in mid game ...
User avatar
Neddie
Community Lead
Posts: 9406
Joined: 10 Apr 2006, 05:05

Post by Neddie »

Often, however, what SpringMark returns is inaccurate or has little bearing on what a person will do to a game...
Satirik
Lobby Developer
Posts: 1688
Joined: 16 Mar 2007, 18:27

Post by Satirik »

neddiedrow wrote:Often, however, what SpringMark returns is inaccurate or has little bearing on what a person will do to a game...
if the process priority was the same and HIGH when running the test for every one the accuracy would be better
User avatar
Neddie
Community Lead
Posts: 9406
Joined: 10 Apr 2006, 05:05

Post by Neddie »

Of SpringMark or of Spring?

It still wouldn't be in the ballpark.
imbaczek
Posts: 3629
Joined: 22 Aug 2006, 16:19

Post by imbaczek »

I could put a riva tnt2 on some extreme core 2 and would run the game at 10 fps (if at all) despite springmark scores in the lower orbit.

Just pointing stuff out.
User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20686
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Post by AF »

I could run springmark on a super computer then switch machines and lag while having an uber score.
User avatar
jj
Posts: 273
Joined: 01 Apr 2006, 19:03

Post by jj »

Satiriks lobby clients have made more then 100,000 requests for player lists with springmark data : :wink:

Image
ZellSF
Posts: 1187
Joined: 08 Jul 2006, 19:07

Post by ZellSF »

Which isn't too surprising seeing as it seems to request the data even if the user chooses not to display it:
[21:32:05] Error: Springmark server unavailable.
Masure
Posts: 581
Joined: 30 Jan 2007, 15:23

Post by Masure »

AF wrote:I could run springmark on a super computer then switch machines and lag while having an uber score.
If you only consider "cheating" in all ways, you're really kiddy. Springmark is not there to exclude slow cpus, it provides information about a comp. I dont care about a 1% accurate cpu mark and the score given is enough to see if you can play 1000units with someone in a game.

The frequency the lobby displays is not enough cause at 1.8Ghz, P4 will suck and C2D will do fine. Springmark gives the cpu model that is really useful.

If I wanna play a big game, I'll kick slow comps springmark or not, autokick or not. Playing an half speed game after 30mn cause of a single slow comp is frustating.
Locked

Return to “Ingame Community”

cron