Expanded River Confluence Remade!

Expanded River Confluence Remade!

All map release threads should be posted here

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
[K.B.] Napalm Cobra
Posts: 1222
Joined: 16 Aug 2004, 06:15

Expanded River Confluence Remade!

Post by [K.B.] Napalm Cobra »

Here's my remade version of the cavedog map Expanded Confluence.

Image

-1kx1k texture!
-Terragen rendered heightmap that align's properly!
-Tree's but not ridiculous amounts!
-Randomly generated metal and plenty of it!
-Even numbers north, odd numbers south!
-6 player max!
-Nice gameplay!

http://www.fileuniverse.com/?page=showitem&ID=764

I may make a revised version if there are any major complaints, so criticism is welcomed.
User avatar
Buggi
Posts: 875
Joined: 29 Apr 2005, 07:46

Post by Buggi »

Sweet! *downloads*

Where's this Terragen I am reading about? I must have the precious!!

^_^
User avatar
GrOuNd_ZeRo
Posts: 1370
Joined: 30 Apr 2005, 01:10

Post by GrOuNd_ZeRo »

how do you render terragen maps from top-down perspective? I can only get 75 degrees down, never 90...what am I doing wrong? how do I convert terragen redered pictures to the spring format? I'd really like to get my hands dirty :)
User avatar
[K.B.] Napalm Cobra
Posts: 1222
Joined: 16 Aug 2004, 06:15

Post by [K.B.] Napalm Cobra »

Turn off all environmnetal settings and in camera settings tick orthographic and then click auto setup. You may have to move the sun to ninety degrees to not auto render shadows.
User avatar
NOiZE
Balanced Annihilation Developer
Posts: 3984
Joined: 28 Apr 2005, 19:29

Post by NOiZE »

it does not hav starting points..
User avatar
[K.B.] Napalm Cobra
Posts: 1222
Joined: 16 Aug 2004, 06:15

Post by [K.B.] Napalm Cobra »

Wha? Did you copy .smd as well as .sm2?
Tangaroa
Posts: 77
Joined: 17 Aug 2004, 04:50

Post by Tangaroa »

How come you did not smooth out the corners in the rivers? TA spring maps are capable of doing that much more easily that OTA maps, so why not take advantage of it?
User avatar
Storm
Posts: 443
Joined: 12 Sep 2004, 22:23

Post by Storm »

Because he'd have to redraw the entire map by hand in Photoshop in order to do that. This is a port, not creation.
User avatar
chillaaa
Posts: 234
Joined: 16 Mar 2005, 00:12

Post by chillaaa »

NOiZE wrote:it does not hav starting points..
Having the same issue, both smd and sm2 files are in the map directory.
User avatar
[K.B.] Napalm Cobra
Posts: 1222
Joined: 16 Aug 2004, 06:15

Post by [K.B.] Napalm Cobra »

it does not hav starting points..

Having the same issue, both smd and sm2 files are in the map directory.
Hmm, can you be more descriptive? Do you get any errors?
How come you did not smooth out the corners in the rivers? TA spring maps are capable of doing that much more easily that OTA maps, so why not take advantage of it?
Maybe I will, you'll just have to wait and see.
User avatar
ILMTitan
Spring Developer
Posts: 410
Joined: 13 Nov 2004, 08:35

Post by ILMTitan »

Every time I start a game, both commanders are in the upper left isle.
User avatar
[K.B.] Napalm Cobra
Posts: 1222
Joined: 16 Aug 2004, 06:15

Post by [K.B.] Napalm Cobra »

Hmm, thats what I get when theres no smd for a map. Are you sure its in there with the same name?
SavageBT
Posts: 58
Joined: 10 May 2005, 11:28

Post by SavageBT »

If there's a '.' in the mapname it wont handle it properly and it doesn't seem to find an smd...
User avatar
Storm
Posts: 443
Joined: 12 Sep 2004, 22:23

Post by Storm »

Yes, that is the problem.

Fixed the problem and upgraded it to 0.3 so people see the difference. Uploading now.
Last edited by Storm on 18 May 2005, 14:19, edited 1 time in total.
SavageBT
Posts: 58
Joined: 10 May 2005, 11:28

Post by SavageBT »

Network gaming could be a problem if everyone renames their version slightly differently to everyone else.
I think there's a moral here mappers...
Post Reply

Return to “Map Releases”

cron