GUI modifications in SVN

GUI modifications in SVN

Discuss Lua based Spring scripts (LuaUI widgets, mission scripts, gaia scripts, mod-rules scripts, scripted keybindings, etc...)

Moderator: Moderators

trepan
Former Engine Dev
Posts: 1200
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 00:52

GUI modifications in SVN

Post by trepan » 14 Sep 2006, 10:06

Here is a screenshot showing some of the modifications
in the SVN code. This is not part of the CEGUI coding
effort, but rather a temporary adjustment to appease the
wolves until something better comes along.

There are two new configuration files. They aren't well
documented (yet), but you may be able to figure out some
of the details by looking through them.

https://taspring.clan-sy.com/svn/spring ... lpanel.txt
https://taspring.clan-sy.com/svn/spring ... colors.txt


Image
0 x

hawkki
Posts: 222
Joined: 01 Jan 2006, 19:47

Post by hawkki » 14 Sep 2006, 15:36

I dont like the new left menu a bit. Three lines of buildpics and the texts all are so jumpy with different font size and stuff.

Would it bee to hard to implement so that you had the commands in left menu, and when you select a unit that can build, the buildpics popup at the bottom of the screen (iirc this was how it worked in ta:k)
0 x

User avatar
SinbadEV
Posts: 6475
Joined: 02 May 2005, 03:56

Post by SinbadEV » 14 Sep 2006, 15:36

Rolly Cap that looks like a bunch of crazy stuff new to learn... Yays! more buttons and pretty colours!
0 x

User avatar
Zoombie
Posts: 6149
Joined: 15 Mar 2005, 07:08

Post by Zoombie » 14 Sep 2006, 15:41

I think the 'move' and 'fire at will' button should be switched around, so as to make a straight line of behavorial commands.
0 x

User avatar
Maelstrom
Posts: 1950
Joined: 23 Jul 2005, 14:52

Post by Maelstrom » 14 Sep 2006, 15:57

+1 to zoombie, otherwise looking grand.
0 x

User avatar
Foxomaniac
Posts: 691
Joined: 18 Jan 2006, 16:59

Post by Foxomaniac » 14 Sep 2006, 15:59

I like it.

The orders given become quite clear, easing the confuising when you try to add to a giagantic queue :P.
0 x

Persh
Posts: 24
Joined: 10 Aug 2006, 04:07

Post by Persh » 14 Sep 2006, 16:03

Could there be some sort of toggle for showing the attack/defend/move/gaurd/etc icons in the units move queue? I think I prefer it the way it is now.
0 x

User avatar
Argh
Posts: 10920
Joined: 21 Feb 2005, 03:38

Post by Argh » 14 Sep 2006, 16:16

Mmm... tasty.
0 x

User avatar
FoeOfTheBee
Posts: 557
Joined: 12 May 2005, 18:26

Post by FoeOfTheBee » 14 Sep 2006, 16:55

I like it - those icons almost look draggable...
0 x

User avatar
FizWizz
Posts: 1998
Joined: 17 Aug 2005, 11:42

Post by FizWizz » 14 Sep 2006, 18:31

That... is Ace. Could you move the three standing-orders-buttons (repeat, movement, and firing) into one line, preferably the top line? Otherwise: Ace.
0 x

User avatar
Acidd_UK
Posts: 963
Joined: 23 Apr 2006, 02:15

Post by Acidd_UK » 14 Sep 2006, 18:54

That is looking very cool. I assume that it's all easily reskinnable too (I think that was why the gui was being updated?). My main suggestion would be to halve the size of the 3-d view order icons, so that you never get confused as to where your cursor is and just to make it look a little less 'cluttered'. Or maybe common icons like move and attack could just be small coloured circles?

Awesome stuff anyway :-)
0 x

trepan
Former Engine Dev
Posts: 1200
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 00:52

Post by trepan » 14 Sep 2006, 19:29

Zoombie/FizWizz:
I implemented the fillOrder configuration parameter just
after posting that pic. You can tell the icon layout code which
order you'd like the icons placed (by position, not by type).
This isn't ideal, as different sets of units will have different
commands available to them, but it's a start. I've got a
different set of code that allows much more control over the
command layout (can even make your own buttons by
specifying the action, texture, and text), but that's not going
to be showing up before the next release.

Keygrid example (weird 5x3 setup):
fillOrder b3 b2 b1 b0 a3 c3 a2 c2 a1 c1 a0 c0 a4 b4 c4


Persh:
I'm surprised that anyone would want them disabled, but
I've added the option to do so (did I mention that they are
animated?) ;-)

Foxomatic:
Thanks.

Acidd_UK
I assumed that people would read my introductory remarks
(well, not really, I don't expect that much when there's a big
distracting picture in the same post). I'll take a look into
half-sizing the icons, but I'm not as concerned as you about
it because they only show up when holding shift, and they
are translucent (I also have the advantage of having played
with it).

P.S. I will highlight the fact that the number of icons is configurable
(sparing folks from even having to glance at ctrlpanel.txt). The default
settings result in a control panel that looks like the one in 0.72.
0 x

User avatar
Caydr
Omnidouche
Posts: 7179
Joined: 16 Oct 2004, 19:40

Post by Caydr » 14 Sep 2006, 20:05

Probably not:

Engine defines default, mod overrides engine, user overrides mod

is it? :(
0 x

esteroth12
Posts: 501
Joined: 18 May 2006, 21:19

Post by esteroth12 » 14 Sep 2006, 23:17

ehh... there were some excellent sutom cursors posted here a whiel ago, why aren't they bieng used ingame? they could help legalize Spring, and if XTA/AA/BOTA/RealOTA/Whatever new OTA mod there is wants the old cursors, they could include them in the mod... I'll make a link in a few minutes when I find the post...

e: linky
0 x

User avatar
Erom
Posts: 1115
Joined: 25 Apr 2006, 05:08

Post by Erom » 14 Sep 2006, 23:33

I'm working on a set for Lego Spring right now, so I don't really want to commit to a totally new set, but if I removed the "blinky" parts of those cursors, that shouldn't take long. Would that be more acceptable to people?
0 x

User avatar
Caydr
Omnidouche
Posts: 7179
Joined: 16 Oct 2004, 19:40

Post by Caydr » 14 Sep 2006, 23:52

esteroth12 wrote:ehh... there were some excellent sutom cursors posted here a whiel ago, why aren't they bieng used ingame? they could help legalize Spring, and if XTA/AA/BOTA/RealOTA/Whatever new OTA mod there is wants the old cursors, they could include them in the mod... I'll make a link in a few minutes when I find the post...

e: linky
If that's going to happen, I hope there's some notice.
0 x

trepan
Former Engine Dev
Posts: 1200
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 00:52

Post by trepan » 15 Sep 2006, 00:12

Acidd_UK / Persh
The cmdcolors.txt file has been updated in SVN.
Note these additions in the Command Queue Rendering section:

Code: Select all

useQueueIcons    1
queueIconAlpha   0.5
queueIconScale   1.0
I do not want to "over-option" the code, but those seemed like
reasonable items to include in the list of configurable parameters.
0 x

User avatar
Acidd_UK
Posts: 963
Joined: 23 Apr 2006, 02:15

Post by Acidd_UK » 15 Sep 2006, 08:41

Nice. Sorry I only skim read the post - you pictures were too distractingly pretty!
0 x

User avatar
Ishach
Posts: 1670
Joined: 02 May 2006, 06:44

Post by Ishach » 15 Sep 2006, 14:34

Nice! Looking forward to having 3 columns of build pics instead of two, hopefully the mex and llt pics will squeeze onto the same page (and radar can come along to)

I don't suppose there is any way to hide the orders menu completely in this new system (orders but not buildpics that is), I find the only one of them i ever click is Holdfire/Fireatwill for when im stealthing something, otherwise i just use hotkeys.
0 x

User avatar
FizWizz
Posts: 1998
Joined: 17 Aug 2005, 11:42

Post by FizWizz » 15 Sep 2006, 15:24

sorry for not looking at the configuration files you put linked along with the picture.
This may not be fabled 'New GUI,' but it's a very good step forward from the current setup.
0 x

Post Reply

Return to “Lua Scripts”

cron