Lobby Autohosts, Spawning, and Moderation

Lobby Autohosts, Spawning, and Moderation

For the discussion of infrastructure improvements and changes.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20669
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Lobby Autohosts, Spawning, and Moderation

Post by AF » 01 May 2011, 16:33

Lets look at this image for one moment

Image

Proposed new Lobby Moderation Rule and Bot Optimization:

When all your Autohosts have players inside them, spawn a new autohost.

If number of autohosts with no players present >1 , kill an empty autohost and repeat.


At the moment this rule is not present, and we're stuck with TourneyBot1, TourneyBot2, TourneyBot3, TourneyBot4, TourneyBot5, TourneyBot6, TourneyBot7, TourneyBot8, etc..

These are all empty and serve no purpose beyond the initial empty autohost. Under the new rule, this should be considered spam. These instance increase the loading time of all clients, and the resources necessary to run the server.

Sure we could make an exception for different games, but the rule would still mean that we could remove about 80% of all the empty battles present.
0 x

User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22298
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Re: Lobby Autohosts, Spawning, and Moderation

Post by smoth » 01 May 2011, 16:54

AF wrote:If number of autohosts with no players present >1 , kill an empty autohost and repeat.[/i]
smoth wrote:I do think SOME of the autohosts need to go. There are 7 autohost for a tournament that isn't going on.

would be nice if there was some regulation on the server when there are 36 ba servers and only 9-10 are getting used.

i rather liked pxtl's suggestion that we instead have a find a game feature. That will create a spawn. Beyond that IMO there should be only 1 open autohost per game mode(chickens, regular, etc)
0 x

User avatar
Cheesecan
Posts: 1571
Joined: 07 Feb 2005, 21:30

Re: Lobby Autohosts, Spawning, and Moderation

Post by Cheesecan » 01 May 2011, 17:09

While I agree there are a few too many hosts; in fact the main problem is that there are too few players on each host(too spread out). Still, filtering is an option as stated in the last thread, so no need to go crazy on killing hosts.

Tourney bots were kept after the last tourney because there was a discussion and everybody said said let's keep them in case we want to play 1v1(at that time only spads0/spads1 were 1v1 and spads0 is a newbie host).
0 x

User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22298
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Re: Lobby Autohosts, Spawning, and Moderation

Post by smoth » 01 May 2011, 17:10

you can do a relay host if you want 1v1. Can all lobbies not access the relay hosts?
0 x

User avatar
Cheesecan
Posts: 1571
Joined: 07 Feb 2005, 21:30

Re: Lobby Autohosts, Spawning, and Moderation

Post by Cheesecan » 01 May 2011, 17:16

Relay hosts are kinda shitty..
0 x

User avatar
Licho
Zero-K Developer
Posts: 3803
Joined: 19 May 2006, 19:13

Re: Lobby Autohosts, Spawning, and Moderation

Post by Licho » 01 May 2011, 17:31

If number of autohosts with no players present >1 , kill an empty autohost and repeat.
This is what springies are doing for the good past year or more..

There are several "lines" of them. Each line maintains at least 1 free autohost, closes extra and makes new ones. And can be asked to "spawn" private one with password etc.

Afaik all non-BA autohosts are cloning springies hosted by one process on springrts.com
0 x

User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20669
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Re: Lobby Autohosts, Spawning, and Moderation

Post by AF » 01 May 2011, 17:37

You can still have just as many tourney bots, you just program to watch the ingame player counts of the other autohosts in their group with open battles. and make sure that there is always an open battle, but only 1 additional open battle. When people join that battle, open a new one.

This way there si always an empty autohost, but there isnt a whole lobbys worth of empty autohosts cluttering everything up.

No changes to the lobby or server necessary. Lobby autohosts should do this regardless of rules purely out of courtesy and efficiency
0 x

User avatar
Licho
Zero-K Developer
Posts: 3803
Joined: 19 May 2006, 19:13

Re: Lobby Autohosts, Spawning, and Moderation

Post by Licho » 01 May 2011, 17:43

This is exactly what springie does..

But people jus tlike hosting their own autohost.
0 x

User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20669
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Re: Lobby Autohosts, Spawning, and Moderation

Post by AF » 01 May 2011, 21:05

Licho wrote:This is exactly what springie does..

But people jus tlike hosting their own autohost.
For considerate development practices, you have gained a cookie ^_^
0 x

User avatar
Jazcash
Posts: 5302
Joined: 08 Dec 2007, 17:39

Re: Lobby Autohosts, Spawning, and Moderation

Post by Jazcash » 01 May 2011, 21:13

AF wrote: At the moment this rule is not present, and we're stuck with TourneyBot1, TourneyBot2, TourneyBot3, TourneyBot4, TourneyBot5, TourneyBot6, TourneyBot7, TourneyBot8, etc..
These are bots me and Zydox setup for the couple tourneys that happened a while back. I guess he just decided to keep them running as they were of little drain to the server. I'll use them again for the next tourney I host. I was gonna host one for tomorrow but there doesn't seem to be many 1v1 fans around in BA atm....
0 x

User avatar
knorke
Posts: 7971
Joined: 22 Feb 2006, 01:02

Re: Lobby Autohosts, Spawning, and Moderation

Post by knorke » 01 May 2011, 21:14

where can you get these autohost things anyway?
(if you do not want to run your computer 24/7)
and what can they do?
0 x

User avatar
Johannes
Posts: 1265
Joined: 17 Sep 2010, 15:49

Re: Lobby Autohosts, Spawning, and Moderation

Post by Johannes » 01 May 2011, 22:12

smoth wrote:you can do a relay host if you want to play. Can all lobbies not access the relay hosts?
0 x

User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14587
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: Lobby Autohosts, Spawning, and Moderation

Post by Forboding Angel » 02 May 2011, 02:09

Cheesecan wrote:Relay hosts are kinda shitty..
Only because they're all in fucking france.
0 x

User avatar
knorke
Posts: 7971
Joined: 22 Feb 2006, 01:02

Re: Lobby Autohosts, Spawning, and Moderation

Post by knorke » 02 May 2011, 06:48

france would be good, i often get fucking kangaroo relays. :shock:
but hosts in different areas are needed i guess so some autohosts should be kept for that?

where can you get these autohost things [for your game] anyway?
0 x

User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14587
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: Lobby Autohosts, Spawning, and Moderation

Post by Forboding Angel » 02 May 2011, 23:17

Aegis offered up his server to be a US based relay host, but of course, anyone who can do anything about it hasn't told him what he needs to do to set it up.
0 x

User avatar
BrainDamage
Lobby Developer
Posts: 1164
Joined: 25 Sep 2006, 13:56

Re: Lobby Autohosts, Spawning, and Moderation

Post by BrainDamage » 03 May 2011, 13:15

Forboding Angel wrote:Aegis offered up his server to be a US based relay host, but of course, anyone who can do anything about it hasn't told him what he needs to do to set it up.
don't make stuff up when you don't know
there IS a relayhost there, but it's currently unusable due to a spring-dedicated bug
0 x

User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22298
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Re: Lobby Autohosts, Spawning, and Moderation

Post by smoth » 03 May 2011, 17:15

What is needed to clear said roadblock?
0 x

User avatar
Neddie
Community Lead
Posts: 9406
Joined: 10 Apr 2006, 05:05

Re: Lobby Autohosts, Spawning, and Moderation

Post by Neddie » 04 May 2011, 01:56

Jazcash wrote:
AF wrote: At the moment this rule is not present, and we're stuck with TourneyBot1, TourneyBot2, TourneyBot3, TourneyBot4, TourneyBot5, TourneyBot6, TourneyBot7, TourneyBot8, etc..
These are bots me and Zydox setup for the couple tourneys that happened a while back. I guess he just decided to keep them running as they were of little drain to the server. I'll use them again for the next tourney I host. I was gonna host one for tomorrow but there doesn't seem to be many 1v1 fans around in BA atm....
I doubt you used all eight even during your tourney.
0 x

User avatar
Jazcash
Posts: 5302
Joined: 08 Dec 2007, 17:39

Re: Lobby Autohosts, Spawning, and Moderation

Post by Jazcash » 04 May 2011, 12:08

Neddie wrote:
Jazcash wrote:
AF wrote: At the moment this rule is not present, and we're stuck with TourneyBot1, TourneyBot2, TourneyBot3, TourneyBot4, TourneyBot5, TourneyBot6, TourneyBot7, TourneyBot8, etc..
These are bots me and Zydox setup for the couple tourneys that happened a while back. I guess he just decided to keep them running as they were of little drain to the server. I'll use them again for the next tourney I host. I was gonna host one for tomorrow but there doesn't seem to be many 1v1 fans around in BA atm....
I doubt you used all eight even during your tourney.
We used about six, only because a few players were late to arrive. They were setup with the correct tourney maps and settings so they proved useful.
0 x

User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14587
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: Lobby Autohosts, Spawning, and Moderation

Post by Forboding Angel » 07 May 2011, 06:40

BrainDamage wrote:
Forboding Angel wrote:Aegis offered up his server to be a US based relay host, but of course, anyone who can do anything about it hasn't told him what he needs to do to set it up.
don't make stuff up when you don't know
there IS a relayhost there, but it's currently unusable due to a spring-dedicated bug
I'm not making up stuff. Weeks went by. Apparently it was eventually set up.
0 x

Post Reply

Return to “Infrastructure Development”