Wings3D UV Mapping Tutorial.

Wings3D UV Mapping Tutorial.

Tutorials & Resources For Modellers & Skinners

Moderators: MR.D, Moderators

User avatar
Snipawolf
Posts: 4357
Joined: 12 Dec 2005, 01:49

Wings3D UV Mapping Tutorial.

Post by Snipawolf » 01 Jun 2007, 04:25

I'll hope people can follow basic commands.

Make sure you have advanced mode on.

Go to Edit -> Preferences -> Advanced -> Find Advanced Menus -> Click said box if not already clicked.

Spawn a cube.

Select cube.

Right Click.

Click UV Mapping

A new camera will open, with your cube in it.
Okay, now we come to a hard part (On harder models).

We can UV Map this in different ways, I'll make several examples.

Select all of the lines except the bottom ones.

Image

Now select "Mark Edges for Cut," and then deselect the lines.

Image

Now right click and click "Continue" and then click "Unfolding."

You should get this:

Image

This is your UV map. Technically this would be where the tutorial ends.

But that makes me feel lazy, so let's keep going.

So. What do you do now? You make it easier to texture.

Deselect the small square in the top left, but make sure you kept the others selected.

Move them to the left, then rotate them until they make "perfect" lines.

Or, take one line and use "chart to x/y" to align the line along an axis.

Like so:

Image

Now, make sure you have everything selected. Right click and find "Create Texture" at the bottom of the menu. When you click on this,
you will see this menu:

Image

Except, yours has a lot more passes, click on "Delete Unused Pass" and it'll solve your problem.

Click here:

Image

And then select color, and it should default to white, if not.. You should know how to make sure it does.. (PS: Click on the white square)

Click OK, and then click the other OK. Deselect your maps and you should have this:

Image

This is your texture. You need to be able to edit it though, right?

So, select Window->Outliner, at the top:

Image

And now, find cube1_auv:

Image

Left click, then right click and "Make External" should be an option there.

Image

Now save it as cube1_auv.png.

Png is a very versatile image format. As you can see from my screenshots, JPG is not very reliable unless you have full quality, and even then, it does not support alpha channels, like a PNG does.

NOTE: THE NAME OF THE TEXTURE INSIDE AND OUTSIDE MUST STAY THE SAME! DO NOT CHANGE THE NAME OF THE TEXTURE YOU JUST MADE EXTERNAL OR IT WILL NOT SHOW UP FOR YOUR MODEL.

Okay. Find your texture, it may have saved in a folder that you last edited, or in Wings3D's main folder.

Open it up in your best or favorite application for texturing, I would suggest GIMP, if you don't already have Photoshop.

Here it is after opening it:

Image

Any changes you make will be seen on the corresponding faces on your model.

Draw something, and then go to Wings3D, select cube1_auv, and click refresh. If you saved it in GIMP or PS, it will now appear on your cube.

An example:

Image

And it corresponds, like so.

Image

NOTE: I HAD TO ROTATE THE SAME THING SEVERAL TIMES. THIS IS BECAUSE I MAPPED IT LIKE I DID.

Example:

Image

So, the bottom is the middle, and all the edges on the inside are all the edges at the bottom, and the edges at the outside are the edges at the top. Make sense? If not, I am not being clear enough. :(

Well, that about sums it up. Just click "Make Internal" in Outliner, and then you can even delete the outside texture. Have fun, hope I helped somebody...
Last edited by Snipawolf on 16 May 2008, 04:58, edited 2 times in total.
0 x

User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20669
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Post by AF » 01 Jun 2007, 04:47

yay another tutorial ^_^
0 x

User avatar
rcdraco
Posts: 781
Joined: 22 Nov 2006, 02:50

wow

Post by rcdraco » 01 Jun 2007, 15:26

Thanks this is exactly what I needed! Now I can make my models, thanks for the extra included stuff as well, such as how to export the texture, something that I desperately needed.

Uh now exactly how do we go about with slightly harder model, say a basic tank, do I just select the top edges, or do I just look at it and kinda figure out how I want it to unfold?

What is this I hear about overlapping duplicate UV maps, how does that work, do you just drag the uvmaps over top each other? What about scaling, is that possible as well, to cram more uv maps together? Because I want to keep a 512 x 512 uv map, and have in the upper limit of 10 objects. Wait, can I just make a 512 x 512 uvmap and scale my uv map down and fit 6 objects onto one panel?
Last edited by rcdraco on 01 Jun 2007, 15:51, edited 1 time in total.
0 x

User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22300
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Post by smoth » 01 Jun 2007, 15:32

rather then hand rotate, select an edge then right click, choose rotate_. Chart to y and watch it rotate the box for you.
0 x

Magus_X
Posts: 69
Joined: 25 Oct 2006, 01:19

Post by Magus_X » 01 Jun 2007, 16:05

i tried this with my model, exported with sucess, texture worked on Wings, but it simply does not work on UPSPRING, i dont know what is wrong, i did the export for uv, then uvmapped, textured, saved and did import from uv and built the .dds texture file, i dont know what is wrong :(
0 x

User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22300
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Post by smoth » 01 Jun 2007, 17:20

stop using dds, despite what some people on this forum will tell you you do not need to do that. We also need to know what is wrong to further help you.
0 x

Magus_X
Posts: 69
Joined: 25 Oct 2006, 01:19

Post by Magus_X » 01 Jun 2007, 17:38

it simply do not load the texture, or loads without my modifications
0 x

User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22300
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Post by smoth » 01 Jun 2007, 17:40

so you set it to s30 texture and then choose the textures and nothing happens? care to upload the files for us?
0 x

User avatar
rattle
Damned Developer
Posts: 8278
Joined: 01 Jun 2006, 13:15

Post by rattle » 01 Jun 2007, 20:27

s3o...

You could've mirrored the side faces.
0 x

User avatar
aGorm
Posts: 2928
Joined: 12 Jan 2005, 10:25

Post by aGorm » 01 Jun 2007, 20:42

It was a basic tut to get someone started... that can be covered in tut 2.

Very helpfull for a beginer. Saves me doing one!

aGorm
0 x

Magus_X
Posts: 69
Joined: 25 Oct 2006, 01:19

Post by Magus_X » 01 Jun 2007, 21:42

smoth, could you pm me with your msn?
0 x

User avatar
rcdraco
Posts: 781
Joined: 22 Nov 2006, 02:50

well now

Post by rcdraco » 01 Jun 2007, 22:23

THEN PAY WITH YOUR BLOOD!!!!

No, but really, this tutorial helped me, newb of all modding, learn to UVmap easily, and without spending $700 for 3D Studio Max, or $600 for fireworks, or spending infinity learning to use GIMP, just pop it into paint, swipe and go, it ain't no Game Maker pant editor, but it's good enough.

AHHHHH, I unwrapped my Robotix Commander and got 2 elephants weird. Actually even weirder is that it comes form the commanders ARM PIT zone.
0 x

User avatar
Zoy64
Posts: 454
Joined: 12 Nov 2006, 00:30

Post by Zoy64 » 02 Jun 2007, 08:31

you see, my "draw options" box doesnt look lke that, why?
0 x

User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22300
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Post by smoth » 03 Jun 2007, 02:00

picture of what it does look like please.

magus, I do not give out my msn.
0 x

User avatar
gamer17
Posts: 235
Joined: 21 Feb 2007, 23:51

Post by gamer17 » 04 Jun 2007, 16:29

Zoy64 wrote:you see, my "draw options" box doesnt look lke that, why?

Mine looks like this


Image
0 x

User avatar
Snipawolf
Posts: 4357
Joined: 12 Dec 2005, 01:49

Post by Snipawolf » 04 Jun 2007, 16:50

*Shrugs*

Might be that I have development version >.>
0 x

User avatar
gamer17
Posts: 235
Joined: 21 Feb 2007, 23:51

Post by gamer17 » 04 Jun 2007, 17:18

Thanks, I just downloaded the development version and it works

I hope you make more of these
0 x

ironized
Posts: 172
Joined: 25 Jun 2007, 06:33

Post by ironized » 02 Jul 2007, 07:02

will this mean that it will have cool reflections?? or do we deal with that in the alpha channel?
0 x

User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22300
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Post by smoth » 02 Jul 2007, 07:04

s3o units use two textures.

Reflections are handled via texture 2.

texture 2 does the following

red=glowmap
green = reflection
alpha=alpha.
0 x

ironized
Posts: 172
Joined: 25 Jun 2007, 06:33

Post by ironized » 02 Jul 2007, 07:06

right ;)

so

thats done in upspring?
0 x

Post Reply

Return to “Modelling & Texturing Tutorials & Resources”