[SOLVED] hotkeys for ships

[SOLVED] hotkeys for ships

Classic game design, maintained to please you...

Moderator: Content Developer

Post Reply
User avatar
jamerlan
Balanced Annihilation Developer
Posts: 683
Joined: 20 Oct 2009, 13:04

[SOLVED] hotkeys for ships

Post by jamerlan »

Hi to all!

For some reason hotkeys like "z for mex" or "x for energy" does not work for ships.
For t1 and t2 ships too.

They works for commander even if he is under water but not for ships.

Any ideas why they don't work? How to fix it?
I have no ideas but this is very annoying.

Currently, bindings are written in ba768/luaui/widgets/cmd_building_hotkeys.lua
like: "bind z buildunit_armmex"

I can understand if it was: "commander -> build arm ground mex" but real binding string does not contains unit type and even mex type (commander can build water mex).

So.. need help!
Last edited by jamerlan on 13 Jun 2012, 16:15, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
jamerlan
Balanced Annihilation Developer
Posts: 683
Joined: 20 Oct 2009, 13:04

Re: hotkeys for ships

Post by jamerlan »

Oh.. I have one idea: maybe there is another widget that prevents these hotkeys for ships?

How mex type changes when we moving cursor from water to ground? Or from ground to water? It also changes radar to sonar etc.. Maybe problem in this widget.
User avatar
Niobium
Posts: 456
Joined: 07 Dec 2008, 02:35

Re: hotkeys for ships

Post by Niobium »

It's simple: Ships can't build anything that is on the hotkey (It's all land units), so the hotkey doesn't do anything.

Solutions are all modside:
- Add land variant to ships buildorders (odd)
- Add underwater variant to toggle (which would then need to be toggled through for units that can build both)
- Merge land and underwater variants into single unit
User avatar
Jazcash
Posts: 5302
Joined: 08 Dec 2007, 17:39

Re: hotkeys for ships

Post by Jazcash »

I'm confused by this discussion. Can't you just use Context Build? I setup my sea binds years ago and I use context build too which works fine for me.
User avatar
jamerlan
Balanced Annihilation Developer
Posts: 683
Joined: 20 Oct 2009, 13:04

Re: hotkeys for ships

Post by jamerlan »

Niobium, sorry, I can't understand what you mean. "It's all land units" - do you mean that ships are land units? I think that commander is land unit too and he can build.

Is it game related bug or engine bug?

Jazcash: can you share your bindings? What is Context Build?
User avatar
Jazcash
Posts: 5302
Joined: 08 Dec 2007, 17:39

Re: hotkeys for ships

Post by Jazcash »

jamerlan wrote: Jazcash: can you share your bindings? What is Context Build?
gui_context_build.lua
(2.79 KiB) Downloaded 104 times
uikeys.txt
(3.18 KiB) Downloaded 22 times
User avatar
Beherith
Moderator
Posts: 4983
Joined: 26 Oct 2007, 16:21

Re: hotkeys for ships

Post by Beherith »

Added all underwater stuff to binds.
User avatar
jamerlan
Balanced Annihilation Developer
Posts: 683
Joined: 20 Oct 2009, 13:04

Re: [SOLVED] hotkeys for ships

Post by jamerlan »

Thanks to all for fixing it! I tested it already (copy-pasted to widgets directory from SVN) and it works! :-)
Post Reply

Return to “Balanced Annihilation”