shut off shadow of specific unit

shut off shadow of specific unit

Discuss Lua based Spring scripts (LuaUI widgets, mission scripts, gaia scripts, mod-rules scripts, scripted keybindings, etc...)

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
daryl
Posts: 190
Joined: 08 Oct 2006, 10:33

shut off shadow of specific unit

Post by daryl »

Hi all,
as object, there is a command that hide the shadow of a specific unit?

I need to do some 3d arrows indicating the objectives in a mission... but I would like hide their shadows...
is this possible??
0 x

User avatar
jK
Spring Developer
Posts: 2299
Joined: 28 Jun 2007, 07:30

Re: shut off shadow of specific unit

Post by jK »

yes
0 x

Kloot
Spring Developer
Posts: 1867
Joined: 08 Oct 2006, 16:58

Re: shut off shadow of specific unit

Post by Kloot »

0 x

User avatar
FLOZi
MC: Legacy & Spring 1944 Developer
Posts: 6179
Joined: 29 Apr 2005, 01:14

Re: shut off shadow of specific unit

Post by FLOZi »

Seems to me like for your situation you would be better off making the arrows a purely visual element (i.e. rendering with gl.unitShape) rather than hiding the shadow of an actual unit.
0 x

User avatar
PicassoCT
Journeywar Developer & Mapper
Posts: 10312
Joined: 24 Jan 2006, 21:12

Re: shut off shadow of specific unit

Post by PicassoCT »

Yes, but that is a easy solution only to advanced programers..
0 x

hokomoko
Spring Developer
Posts: 592
Joined: 02 Jun 2014, 00:46

Re: shut off shadow of specific unit

Post by hokomoko »

This is a classic "easy but difficult" vs. "difficult but easy" solution.
When you make arrow units is really easy to get them to show, but then you have to remove their shadows, to make sure you can't collide with them, that they're not selectable/attackable, that they don't require LoS to be seen etc. All is possible, but requires work and time.
When you draw arrows directly, getting then to show is harder, but when you're done, you're really done.
0 x

User avatar
PicassoCT
Journeywar Developer & Mapper
Posts: 10312
Joined: 24 Jan 2006, 21:12

Re: shut off shadow of specific unit

Post by PicassoCT »

What if you want even the behaviour of a unit?

I tryied to have my taczones as a OpenGl Shape once, but then the hack of having invisible units was to comfy..

Today its biting me, as i have to filter all effect gadgets for these units :(
0 x

Post Reply

Return to “Lua Scripts”

cron