Pause Screen

Pause Screen

Discuss Lua based Spring scripts (LuaUI widgets, mission scripts, gaia scripts, mod-rules scripts, scripted keybindings, etc...)

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
very_bad_soldier
Posts: 1385
Joined: 20 Feb 2007, 01:10

Pause Screen

Post by very_bad_soldier »

Displays graphical animated (slide in, slide out) pause screen while game is paused.

Left-Click on the window to make it transparent (for queuing up stuff while game is paused).

Right-Click to hide for the rest of the game.

Logo and text can be easily replaced for customized versions. Current logo and font is dedicated to AF 8)

Download via SpringDownloader or http://www.springinfo.info/index.php?page_id=690#141

Version 1.21:
==========
-bug fix

Version 1.2:
=========
-close button added (no special function, just to indicate that it can be closed)
-right-click closes the window for the rest of the game
-tooltip added (describing leftclick/rightclick behavior)
-slightly better graphical alignment
-minor speed improvements

1.1:
===
-fixed rendering errors of the logo on ATi hardware

Image

After clicking:
Image

Animated:
Image
Last edited by very_bad_soldier on 06 Oct 2009, 22:56, edited 5 times in total.
User avatar
Jazcash
Posts: 5302
Joined: 08 Dec 2007, 17:39

Re: Pause Screen

Post by Jazcash »

Awesome stuff. Althought, I'd appreciate it if it was a bit smaller ^_^
User avatar
very_bad_soldier
Posts: 1385
Joined: 20 Feb 2007, 01:10

Re: Pause Screen

Post by very_bad_soldier »

Thanks! Yes maybe. Its size is fixed at the moment, the screenshot is taken at 1024x768. So at higher resolutions the window will appear smaller. Maybe its better to scale the window according to screen resolution. Lets see, I am open to suggestions.
User avatar
REVENGE
Posts: 2380
Joined: 24 Aug 2006, 06:13

Re: Pause Screen

Post by REVENGE »

Stylize and distribute with all mods please.
User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22306
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Re: Pause Screen

Post by smoth »

can I make some pd variants of this?
User avatar
very_bad_soldier
Posts: 1385
Joined: 20 Feb 2007, 01:10

Re: Pause Screen

Post by very_bad_soldier »

of course
User avatar
Caydr
Omnidouche
Posts: 7179
Joined: 16 Oct 2004, 19:40

Re: Pause Screen

Post by Caydr »

Are you sure that font's free to distribute?
User avatar
MidKnight
Posts: 2650
Joined: 10 Sep 2008, 03:11

Re: Pause Screen

Post by MidKnight »

Caydr wrote:Are you sure that font's free to distribute?
Are you sure that logo's free to distribute?

:roll:
User avatar
Caydr
Omnidouche
Posts: 7179
Joined: 16 Oct 2004, 19:40

Re: Pause Screen

Post by Caydr »

MidKnight wrote:
Caydr wrote:Are you sure that font's free to distribute?
Are you sure that logo's free to distribute?

:roll:
Fonts have licenses, like anything else. Some fonts are very expensive, and the font's raw TTF is included, not just a picture.
User avatar
Neddie
Community Lead
Posts: 9406
Joined: 10 Apr 2006, 05:05

Re: Pause Screen

Post by Neddie »

Very nice. I was working on a font which I was going to release for free Spring use (CC-BY-SA), but I'm only about 40% done with it.
User avatar
very_bad_soldier
Posts: 1385
Joined: 20 Feb 2007, 01:10

Re: Pause Screen

Post by very_bad_soldier »

Caydr wrote:Are you sure that font's free to distribute?
Hm, I dont know, frankly. I grabbed it from some free-fonts site:
http://www.font-zone.com/download.php?fid=3086

I will change the font if its not THAT free...
Gnomre
Imperial Winter Developer
Posts: 1754
Joined: 06 Feb 2005, 13:42

Re: Pause Screen

Post by Gnomre »

Edited it to fit our IW UI style:

Image

Nice stuff, still kind of divided on whether it should scale or not. Oh well, it'd be an easy change to make.
User avatar
BrainDamage
Lobby Developer
Posts: 1164
Joined: 25 Sep 2006, 13:56

Re: Pause Screen

Post by BrainDamage »

please rename the font file to have extension lowercase or fix the filename in the widget code or won't work in linux due to case sensitivity
User avatar
lurker
Posts: 3842
Joined: 08 Jan 2007, 06:13

Re: Pause Screen

Post by lurker »

The file's not loaded by the VFS systems?
Tobi
Spring Developer
Posts: 4598
Joined: 01 Jun 2005, 11:36

Re: Pause Screen

Post by Tobi »

Even if it's loaded through the VFS, names of real files (as in not in a .sdd directory or a .sdz/.sd7 archive) are still case sensitive.
User avatar
Caydr
Omnidouche
Posts: 7179
Joined: 16 Oct 2004, 19:40

Re: Pause Screen

Post by Caydr »

I don't know if this site really has legitimacy, but they claim to be the owner of the font and are charging a fair bit for it...

http://www.linotype.com/89988/microgram ... -font.html

Even if they're not the real copyright holder, all I'm saying is, it may warrant some investigation before you distribute it.
User avatar
very_bad_soldier
Posts: 1385
Joined: 20 Feb 2007, 01:10

Re: Pause Screen

Post by very_bad_soldier »

I have found this on their website (http://www.font-zone.com/copyright.php):
The fonts avaialable on this site are ┬® Master-resale-rights.com or have fallen in the public domain. Resell rights acquired by GSE-Media 09/2007 license on file. Product ID: WOF454 "6,800+ Wizard of Fonts Collection." All efforts have been made to correctly identify and maintain all copyright information accurately, but please contact us with any additional questions or concerns.
But I cant find a definite answer in it. Public Domain would be ok, but what about "Master-resale-rights.com"?

@Gnome:
Yay looks awesome!
User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20678
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Re: Pause Screen

Post by AF »

Its a freeware clone of microgramma bold extended.

Microgramma Bold Extended Dbol

And yes he's able to use the logo without consequence for this, why? Because I'm the author.
User avatar
TradeMark
Posts: 4867
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:58

Re: Pause Screen

Post by TradeMark »

shouldnt this be in the default install of spring? sometimes i dont even notice it was paused...

but please, remove any animations/fades of it before adding it in default spring installation.
User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20678
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Re: Pause Screen

Post by AF »

If its bundled then the logo should be replaced with the two bars for the pause symbol, and ti should fade in rather than sliding in.
Post Reply

Return to “Lua Scripts”