Page 1 of 1

Disabling sensor calculations

Posted: 21 Apr 2019, 22:36
by FLOZi
Say one had a project where LOS/radar et al were not part of the gameplay.

Would giving all units 0 for {sight, airSight, radar, sonar}distance in the unitdef, setting {los, airLos, radar}MipLevel to maximum in modrules.lua and setting all created units to always visible with Spring.SetUnitAlwaysVisible be as much as one could do to minimise the impact of the sensor system?

Hypothetically. :regret:

Re: Disabling sensor calculations

Posted: 21 Apr 2019, 22:57
by Forboding Angel
Why not just set globallos? I would think you would have a lot better luck by giving all units unlimited vision.

Units with unlimited vision might result in areas where los darkens. I think in either case you would have to probably just make sure that L mode was always on, but that's ofc a simple thing.

Re: Disabling sensor calculations

Posted: 22 Apr 2019, 10:55
by Jools
No. Knorke actually tried this with his darkroom map. There is still something in the engine that targets enemy units. Not sure what.

Re: Disabling sensor calculations

Posted: 22 Apr 2019, 11:44
by FLOZi
Forboding Angel wrote:
21 Apr 2019, 22:57
Why not just set globallos? I would think you would have a lot better luck by giving all units unlimited vision.

Units with unlimited vision might result in areas where los darkens. I think in either case you would have to probably just make sure that L mode was always on, but that's ofc a simple thing.

Wasn't aware of globallos call.

Re: Disabling sensor calculations

Posted: 22 Apr 2019, 12:21
by Forboding Angel
Spring.SetGlobalLos New in version 101.0

( number allyTeamID, bool globallos )
To be fair, I've never actually used it in a situation of practical application, so I can't really say much about it except that I believe that as long as you set it for each allyteam, you should be good. I assume it works more or less similar to /globallos (except that it must be declared for each individual allyteam ofc, assuming that I understand the arguments correctly).

Re: Disabling sensor calculations

Posted: 23 Apr 2019, 06:52
by Google_Frog
I did something in the last LD (I think LD43?) to remove LOS. If I recall correctly I toggled globalLOS and reduced the LOS resolution significantly.