Don't use upspring!

Don't use upspring!

Discuss game development here, from a distinct game project to an accessible third-party mutator, down to the interaction and design of individual units if you like.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
gajop
Moderator
Posts: 2944
Joined: 05 Aug 2009, 20:42

Don't use upspring!

Post by gajop » 14 Dec 2017, 00:53

I suggest you simply use Collada (.dae), and save yourself the trouble of using upspring.

EDIT: Original thread (viewtopic.php?f=14&t=36605)
1 x

User avatar
PicassoCT
Journeywar Developer & Mapper
Posts: 9899
Joined: 24 Jan 2006, 21:12

Re: What is Upspring

Post by PicassoCT » 14 Dec 2017, 15:44

Deeply detest such answers. Basically amounts to - throw away all you have learned, and use a diffrent toolchain/pipeline for whatever is modern. Amounts to source hipster-ism, sorry gajop and is deeply disrespectfull to the lifetime people allready invested to get to the point of asking.

Upspring has bugs.But it works. It can be found under springfiles.com
http://springfiles.com/spring/tools/upspring

It can be started standalone.
You can configure your texture folder, so it will autoload textures in the views.cfg of the install folder.
Its pretty much self-explaining.
0 x

gajop
Moderator
Posts: 2944
Joined: 05 Aug 2009, 20:42

Re: What is Upspring

Post by gajop » 14 Dec 2017, 17:09

throw away all you have learned, and use a diffrent toolchain/pipeline
What are you talking about? He doesn't even know what upspring is.

Why bother learning a Spring-specific tool which doesn't run on Linux and why use a format which doesn't open in anything outside of Spring?
1 x

User avatar
MasterBel2
Posts: 347
Joined: 11 Apr 2016, 12:03

Re: What is Upspring

Post by MasterBel2 » 15 Dec 2017, 07:19

gajop wrote:
throw away all you have learned, and use a diffrent toolchain/pipeline
What are you talking about? He doesn't even know what upspring is.

Why bother learning a Spring-specific tool which doesn't run on Linux and why use a format which doesn't open in anything outside of Spring?
One of the major put-offs for me working on a spring game (apart from being a Mac user) is that whenever I tried to follow a tutorial, no one helped me to follow it, if I ever asked about anything I was pointed away to something different (this was with mapping, made me not game to go into games)

It would also help if you explained a little for him why he shouldn't use UpSpring, and how Collada would fit into that tutorial. Maybe even update the docs for him so that they point to using Collada?

Essentially what has happened is that he's following directions to London and he's asked how to take a train and you've said go catch an airplane (which he doesn't [currently] have directions for.) Or at least that's what it feels like.
2 x

gajop
Moderator
Posts: 2944
Joined: 05 Aug 2009, 20:42

Re: What is Upspring

Post by gajop » 15 Dec 2017, 08:33

MasterBel2 wrote:One of the major put-offs for me working on a spring game (apart from being a Mac user) is that whenever I tried to follow a tutorial, no one helped me to follow it, if I ever asked about anything I was pointed away to something different (this was with mapping, made me not game to go into games)
I don't think present tutorials are good for learning how to make games.
MasterBel2 wrote: It would also help if you explained a little for him why he shouldn't use UpSpring, and how Collada would fit into that tutorial. Maybe even update the docs for him so that they point to using Collada?
In the beginning it shouldn't be as simple as exporting it as .dae file. More detailed docs seem to exist already (https://springrts.com/wiki/Assimp), and can be found in the main gamedev page (https://springrts.com/wiki/Gamedev:Main).
MasterBel2 wrote: Essentially what has happened is that he's following directions to London and he's asked how to take a train and you've said go catch an airplane (which he doesn't [currently] have directions for.) Or at least that's what it feels like.
Right, but I'm not selling train tickets to London. In fact there are no workers in the train factory anymore, and those who built the railways seem to have quit...
0 x

User avatar
PicassoCT
Journeywar Developer & Mapper
Posts: 9899
Joined: 24 Jan 2006, 21:12

Re: What is Upspring

Post by PicassoCT » 15 Dec 2017, 09:31

Majority of beginner devs is on windows. Period.
And to just stand there, besides existing documentation and yelling "We ought to do better" is not better.
Its worser.
And the train is still working.
Yeah, its a old train.

Still Upsprings workflow is more intuitive then blender.
Better to have the sparrow in the hand, then the dove on the roof.
0 x

abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3483
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: Don't use upspring!

Post by abma » 15 Dec 2017, 13:22

i've split the topic as the answer is:
https://springrts.com/wiki/Upspring

also wikified the word "upspring" in the tutorial.
0 x

abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3483
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: Don't use upspring!

Post by abma » 15 Dec 2017, 13:40

wrt the topic: the tutorial https://springrts.com/wiki/The_Complete ... pring_Game should be really split in smaller pages/parts so its modular.
0 x

User avatar
Anarchid
Posts: 1366
Joined: 30 Nov 2008, 04:31

Re: Don't use upspring!

Post by Anarchid » 15 Dec 2017, 13:47

Still Upsprings workflow is more intuitive then blender.
I must apologise for my unconstrained reaction upon seeing this highly dubious statement, but

Lol
0 x

User avatar
FLOZi
MC: Legacy & Spring 1944 Developer
Posts: 6054
Joined: 29 Apr 2005, 01:14

Re: Don't use upspring!

Post by FLOZi » 15 Dec 2017, 18:43

abma wrote:wrt the topic: the tutorial https://springrts.com/wiki/The_Complete ... pring_Game should be really split in smaller pages/parts so its modular.
Really it should picked over as carrion and replaced, but https://springrts.com/wiki/User:Flozi/Tutorial was written ages ago and I've done nothing since.
1 x

User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22271
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Re: Don't use upspring!

Post by smoth » 18 Dec 2017, 05:48

gajop wrote:I suggest you simply use Collada (.dae), and save yourself the trouble of using upspring.
did they fix the issue with blender's export and z is up? if so, great otherwise it is a whole level of rage inducing frustration!
0 x

User avatar
Jools
XTA Developer
Posts: 2768
Joined: 23 Feb 2009, 16:29

Re: Don't use upspring!

Post by Jools » 20 Dec 2017, 13:07

gajop wrote:I suggest you simply use Collada (.dae), and save yourself the trouble of using upspring.
Why? You don't provide any arguments. This is trolling.
0 x

gajop
Moderator
Posts: 2944
Joined: 05 Aug 2009, 20:42

Re: Don't use upspring!

Post by gajop » 20 Dec 2017, 14:13

Didn't start this thread nor name it. It was split from an existing one. You can see my reasons in other replies.
0 x

User avatar
Jools
XTA Developer
Posts: 2768
Joined: 23 Feb 2009, 16:29

Re: Don't use upspring!

Post by Jools » 20 Dec 2017, 15:41

That's why thread splitting is such a confusing dick move. Apologies to you gajop, but it wasn't easy to see that this was a split thread.

Thread integrity would be more helpful to the community than splitting them. Even places like reddit don't split threads.
0 x

gajop
Moderator
Posts: 2944
Joined: 05 Aug 2009, 20:42

Re: Don't use upspring!

Post by gajop » 20 Dec 2017, 23:01

Yeah, thread splitting happens a lot, but I don't want to open that argument just because my thread was split.

Reddit isn't the best example though, they have a tree-like structure which makes it easy to have multiple branching discussions in the same thread (and even post). I'd say it's just ultimately better for discussion than phpbb-style boards.
3 x

User avatar
PicassoCT
Journeywar Developer & Mapper
Posts: 9899
Joined: 24 Jan 2006, 21:12

Re: Don't use upspring!

Post by PicassoCT » 23 Dec 2017, 10:06

Okay, kiddos, i just wanted you too know- mumy and daddy thread love you very much- just no longer one another. We had a little topic segration fallout- and are going to stay out of each others lives for a while.
0 x

NeOmega
Posts: 51
Joined: 15 Dec 2010, 11:06

Re: Don't use upspring!

Post by NeOmega » 30 Dec 2017, 22:49

smoth wrote:
gajop wrote:I suggest you simply use Collada (.dae), and save yourself the trouble of using upspring.
did they fix the issue with blender's export and z is up? if so, great otherwise it is a whole level of rage inducing frustration!
i didnt get this one. OGRE 3d had the same "problem". it was just a matter of changing some settings in blender, and just reorienting what view you started modeling in.

i think the "problem" comes from importing models created in other modelers. if you start a model from scratch, defining z as up, it should theoretically transfer fine with no need to replace all the zs with -xs or whatever.
0 x

Post Reply

Return to “Game Development”