graphic card

graphic card

Discuss your problems with the latest release of the engine here. Problems with games, maps or other utilities belong in their respective forums.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
dcore221
Posts: 110
Joined: 09 Jul 2010, 19:53

graphic card

Post by dcore221 » 14 Mar 2011, 21:57

[f=0000000] WW WWW WW AAA RRRRR NNN NN II NNN NN GGGGG
[f=0000000] WW WW WW WW AA AA RR RR NNNN NN II NNNN NN GG
[f=0000000] WW WW WW WW AAAAAAA RRRRR NN NNNN II NN NNNN GG GG
[f=0000000] WWW WWW AA AA RR RR NN NNN II NN NNN GGGGG
[f=0000000] (warning)
[f=0000000] Your graphic card is ...
[f=0000000] well, you know ...
[f=0000000] insufficient
[f=0000000] (in case you are not using a horribly wrong driver).
[f=0000000] If the game crashes, looks ugly or runs slow, buy a better card!


^^how can i get round this? :-)
http://pastebin.com/jPYMEaqh
0 x

User avatar
oksnoop2
Posts: 1207
Joined: 29 Aug 2009, 20:12

Re: graphic card

Post by oksnoop2 » 14 Mar 2011, 21:59

Try different drivers.
0 x

User avatar
dcore221
Posts: 110
Joined: 09 Jul 2010, 19:53

Re: graphic card

Post by dcore221 » 14 Mar 2011, 22:03

i have the latest drivers, its sis onboard graphics

is there not a way to force the game to work somehow?
0 x

User avatar
Cheesecan
Posts: 1571
Joined: 07 Feb 2005, 21:30

Re: graphic card

Post by Cheesecan » 14 Mar 2011, 22:31

SIS onboard graphics? Haven't heard of those since the late 90s/early 2000s on extreme budget mobos.

In others words get a decent graphics card..or at least Intel onboard graphics next time.
0 x

User avatar
jK
Spring Developer
Posts: 2299
Joined: 28 Jun 2007, 07:30

Re: graphic card

Post by jK » 14 Mar 2011, 22:56

Sorry, no chance to run spring ever with that card.

PS: it is not spring that doesn't want to start. It is the gfx driver that crashes when doing so.
0 x

User avatar
SpliFF
Posts: 1224
Joined: 28 Jul 2008, 06:51

Re: graphic card

Post by SpliFF » 15 Mar 2011, 06:43

HA HA HA!!
I love that error! It's brilliant.

I'm thinking we should make spring run under ncurses and aalib. All that 3D stuff is just eye-candy right ;)
0 x

User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14588
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: graphic card

Post by Forboding Angel » 15 Mar 2011, 19:30

Tbh, imo, needs pc speaker support. Not everyone can afford speakers. Also, ega and cga + monochrome support plox. I have a 286 that should be able to run spring.

Also, if you're going to get a microatx board, at least have the common courtesy to pay attention to what it has on it.
dcore221 wrote:i have the latest drivers, its sis onboard graphics

is there not a way to force the game to work somehow?
Cheesecan wrote:SIS onboard graphics? Haven't heard of those since the late 90s/early 2000s on extreme budget mobos.

In others words get a decent graphics card..or at least Intel onboard graphics next time.
SIS chipsets are Intel.

Basically, if the mobo box says intel anywhere on it, you're doin' it wrong :-) (Me being an AMD fanboi, this advice holds quite true)
0 x

User avatar
Cheesecan
Posts: 1571
Joined: 07 Feb 2005, 21:30

Re: graphic card

Post by Cheesecan » 15 Mar 2011, 20:02

Forboding Angel wrote:Tbh, imo, needs pc speaker support. Not everyone can afford speakers. Also, ega and cga + monochrome support plox. I have a 286 that should be able to run spring.

Also, if you're going to get a microatx board, at least have the common courtesy to pay attention to what it has on it.
dcore221 wrote:i have the latest drivers, its sis onboard graphics

is there not a way to force the game to work somehow?
Cheesecan wrote:SIS onboard graphics? Haven't heard of those since the late 90s/early 2000s on extreme budget mobos.

In others words get a decent graphics card..or at least Intel onboard graphics next time.
SIS chipsets are Intel.

Basically, if the mobo box says intel anywhere on it, you're doin' it wrong :-) (Me being an AMD fanboi, this advice holds quite true)
*Facepalm* you have no clue about hardware so don't try to act superior or clever.

SIS chipsets are not Intel chipsets.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SiS_630/730
0 x

User avatar
CarRepairer
Cursed Zero-K Developer
Posts: 3359
Joined: 07 Nov 2007, 21:48

Re: graphic card

Post by CarRepairer » 16 Mar 2011, 16:23

Infolog warning looks better if you use the Code button.

Code: Select all

[f=0000000] WW     WWW     WW    AAA     RRRRR   NNN  NN  II  NNN  NN   GGGGG  
[f=0000000]  WW   WW WW   WW    AA AA    RR  RR  NNNN NN  II  NNNN NN  GG      
[f=0000000]   WW WW   WW WW    AAAAAAA   RRRRR   NN NNNN  II  NN NNNN  GG   GG 
[f=0000000]    WWW     WWW    AA     AA  RR  RR  NN  NNN  II  NN  NNN   GGGGG  
[f=0000000] (warning)
[f=0000000] Your graphic card is ...
[f=0000000] well, you know ...
[f=0000000] insufficient
[f=0000000] (in case you are not using a horribly wrong driver).
[f=0000000] If the game crashes, looks ugly or runs slow, buy a better card!
0 x

User avatar
dcore221
Posts: 110
Joined: 09 Jul 2010, 19:53

Re: graphic card

Post by dcore221 » 18 Mar 2011, 19:25

the reason i have so low specs i sold my graphics card, sound card, ram to help fund a new build and wanted to play some spring wile i wait for my new pc to arrive,

all the parts are here but when i plugged it up and turned it on a mosfet popped on the motherboard :?

i have messaged gigabyte (no reply yet) , what the chances that gigabyte would repair it?
0 x

User avatar
Cheesecan
Posts: 1571
Joined: 07 Feb 2005, 21:30

Re: graphic card

Post by Cheesecan » 18 Mar 2011, 20:24

dcore221 wrote:the reason i have so low specs i sold my graphics card, sound card, ram to help fund a new build and wanted to play some spring wile i wait for my new pc to arrive,

all the parts are here but when i plugged it up and turned it on a mosfet popped on the motherboard :?

i have messaged gigabyte (no reply yet) , what the chances that gigabyte would repair it?
Why not just return the motherboard to the store you bought it from? Usually they would give you a new one immediately..
0 x

User avatar
dcore221
Posts: 110
Joined: 09 Jul 2010, 19:53

Re: graphic card

Post by dcore221 » 18 Mar 2011, 20:56

i got it from ebay, the guy was clearing a shop, iv messaged him but the listing was "sold as seen" so i dout he will give me a refund :?
0 x

zerver
Spring Developer
Posts: 1358
Joined: 16 Dec 2006, 20:59

Re: graphic card

Post by zerver » 19 Mar 2011, 18:10

"Sold as seen", that's a pretty risky way to buy HW, only recommended if you are going to use it as some kind of decoration :mrgreen:

You can replace the transistor yourself, but chances are there is another fault on the motherboard that caused it to pop in the first place. Transistors typically don't just give up like that.
0 x

User avatar
dcore221
Posts: 110
Joined: 09 Jul 2010, 19:53

Re: graphic card

Post by dcore221 » 19 Mar 2011, 20:05

think i'm going to try my luck with gigabyte before i attempt to repair it,

with the 8pin connected nothing happens when i power on but if i remove it and just have the 24pin connected the fans spin up and lights come on - think the only part that is damaged is the top right area to power the cpu, cant see any physical damage other than the single mosfet, i believe the power supply is at fault its a 300watt and gigabyte recommends a 500watt,
what is the likelihood that this damaged the cpu?

how would i find the amp and voltage of the mosfet?
mosfet reads:
K4213
CG 07

in position DQ24 on this pic:
Image
0 x

User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14588
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: graphic card

Post by Forboding Angel » 21 Mar 2011, 17:08

Cheesecan wrote: *Facepalm* you have no clue about hardware so don't try to act superior or clever.

SIS chipsets are not Intel chipsets.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SiS_630/730
As a matter of fact I do have a clue about HW. Gee excuse me for making a misstatement about the crappiest chipset maker out there (at least, that's my opinion, but I always stick with nforce, or as a fallback, VIA).

The last bit was a joke, so get over yourself.
0 x

User avatar
Yuri
Posts: 137
Joined: 21 Jul 2008, 14:46

Re: graphic card

Post by Yuri » 28 Mar 2011, 18:56

dcore221 wrote:think i'm going to try my luck with gigabyte before i attempt to repair it,

with the 8pin connected nothing happens when i power on but if i remove it and just have the 24pin connected the fans spin up and lights come on - think the only part that is damaged is the top right area to power the cpu, cant see any physical damage other than the single mosfet, i believe the power supply is at fault its a 300watt and gigabyte recommends a 500watt,
what is the likelihood that this damaged the cpu?
It's cruel but I'd say get over it. Get a new one instead of the micro-solder madness. It should be ~80 EUR.

500W or 300W the diff is really not noticable when you don't have a dedi GFX card. Whole CPU+mobo+HDDs+fans consumes ~160 W max with an i7 ...
0 x

User avatar
dcore221
Posts: 110
Joined: 09 Jul 2010, 19:53

Re: graphic card

Post by dcore221 » 29 Mar 2011, 01:25

i have bought a new motherboard but it has no onboard graphics :x
currently waiting for my graphics card to arive,

how well will spring will play on this system?

Athlon ii x4 640 3.0Ghz
1gb ddr3 1333mhz
Radeon X1950 Pro
0 x

User avatar
Wombat
Posts: 3379
Joined: 15 Dec 2008, 15:53

Re: graphic card

Post by Wombat » 29 Mar 2011, 02:48

wait, what ? is this error message real ?
0 x

User avatar
Iz3
Posts: 37
Joined: 12 Jan 2007, 01:32

Re: graphic card

Post by Iz3 » 29 Mar 2011, 04:46

i have bought a new motherboard but it has no onboard graphics :x
currently waiting for my graphics card to arive,

how well will spring will play on this system?

Athlon ii x4 640 3.0Ghz
1gb ddr3 1333mhz
Radeon X1950 Pro
Buy more ram and a nvidia card =)
0 x

User avatar
knorke
Posts: 7971
Joined: 22 Feb 2006, 01:02

Re: graphic card

Post by knorke » 29 Mar 2011, 05:08

dcore221 wrote:how well will spring will play on this system?
Athlon ii x4 640 3.0Ghz
1gb ddr3 1333mhz
Radeon X1950 Pro
should be good enough unlesss the ati card makes problems.
0 x

Post Reply

Return to “Help & Bugs”