Do you run spring with shadows on?

Do you run spring with shadows on?

Various things about Spring that do not fit in any of the other forums listed below, including forum rules.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
Beherith
Moderator
Posts: 4967
Joined: 26 Oct 2007, 16:21

Do you run spring with shadows on?

Post by Beherith »

Also, please post your gpu make and model.

Im on an 8800gt.
0 x

User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14637
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: Do you run spring with shadows on?

Post by Forboding Angel »

Yes, very yes. GTS450
0 x

User avatar
Das Bruce
Posts: 3544
Joined: 23 Nov 2005, 06:16

Re: Do you run spring with shadows on?

Post by Das Bruce »

Yes, 8800GT
0 x

User avatar
Licho
Zero-K Developer
Posts: 3803
Joined: 19 May 2006, 19:13

Re: Do you run spring with shadows on?

Post by Licho »

Of course, its ugly without. HD5850
0 x

User avatar
Jools
XTA Developer
Posts: 2812
Joined: 23 Feb 2009, 16:29

Re: Do you run spring with shadows on?

Post by Jools »

No, it's absolutely impossible for me. 7600GT.
0 x

User avatar
Karl
Panzerstahl Developer
Posts: 746
Joined: 01 Apr 2010, 21:05

Re: Do you run spring with shadows on?

Post by Karl »

No GTX9800
0 x

User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14637
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: Do you run spring with shadows on?

Post by Forboding Angel »

Karl wrote:No GTX9800
You're running that card without shadows??? Wow. Spring looks like crap without shadows.
0 x

Google_Frog
Moderator
Posts: 2448
Joined: 12 Oct 2007, 09:24

Re: Do you run spring with shadows on?

Post by Google_Frog »

No, GTX260. Shadows didn't display with LOS enabled what I last checked.

(I also run water 0 because it's the most accurate. The other ones obscure things like the exact position of units, subs and the waterline (both the edge of the map and coast))
0 x

Binish
Posts: 2
Joined: 15 Jun 2011, 14:39

Re: Do you run spring with shadows on?

Post by Binish »

Yes, 8800GT.
0 x

User avatar
SirArtturi
Posts: 1164
Joined: 23 Jan 2008, 18:29

Re: Do you run spring with shadows on?

Post by SirArtturi »

On BA no,
Other games yes.
ZK is currently unplayable shadows on or not, dunno whats the reason...

GeForce8800GTS.

BTW why not make a poll?
0 x

User avatar
Beherith
Moderator
Posts: 4967
Joined: 26 Oct 2007, 16:21

Re: Do you run spring with shadows on?

Post by Beherith »

One cant make a poll in general discussion, so I made one in another forum and moved the topic here. It worked for an hour then got removed :(
0 x

User avatar
Jools
XTA Developer
Posts: 2812
Joined: 23 Feb 2009, 16:29

Re: Do you run spring with shadows on?

Post by Jools »

I have considered buying a new GPU too, but for me it's still more important that it's silent (for movies) than that it's super performing.
0 x

User avatar
very_bad_soldier
Posts: 1380
Joined: 20 Feb 2007, 01:10

Re: Do you run spring with shadows on?

Post by very_bad_soldier »

No, GT8800 and thats why:
Google_Frog wrote:Shadows didn't display with LOS enabled what I last checked.
:cry:
0 x

User avatar
Cremuss
Posts: 364
Joined: 28 Oct 2006, 21:38

Re: Do you run spring with shadows on?

Post by Cremuss »

No
I used to have a 7600GT but now I have an intel gma 945 so it's even worse :mrgreen:
0 x

User avatar
FLOZi
MC: Legacy & Spring 1944 Developer
Posts: 6186
Joined: 29 Apr 2005, 01:14

Re: Do you run spring with shadows on?

Post by FLOZi »

Binish wrote:Yes, 8800GT.
I also don't play with LOS on. 8)

(This is perhaps why I suck)
0 x

User avatar
Karl
Panzerstahl Developer
Posts: 746
Joined: 01 Apr 2010, 21:05

Re: Do you run spring with shadows on?

Post by Karl »

Forboding Angel wrote:
You're running that card without shadows??? Wow. Spring looks like crap without shadows.
Because Particles -> Shadows
0 x

zerver
Spring Developer
Posts: 1358
Joined: 16 Dec 2006, 20:59

Re: Do you run spring with shadows on?

Post by zerver »

I have a HD5970 paired with a medium good CPU and typically don't use shadows because it is has some impact on the FPS. Yep, pretty ridiculous to pair that GFX with a fairly weak CPU but that's what I did.

I have another system with weaker GFX but a higher end i7 and there I use shadows sometimes.
0 x

User avatar
knorke
Posts: 7971
Joined: 22 Feb 2006, 01:02

Re: Do you run spring with shadows on?

Post by knorke »

nvidia 6800
Using /shadows 2 (only unit shadows, no terrain shadows) most of the time.
Works good for the small to medium games which I mostly play. (<=16x16 maps)
In large games I turn shadows off once it starts to feel laggy but it quickly gets to a point where it does not even matter anymore :roll:
To me shadows are pretty important for the graphics, more important then ie high water setting or lups.
ZK is currently unplayable shadows on or not, dunno whats the reason...
Since some time zK, evo & gundam (only those 3) are basically unplayable even on super low settings. Dont know reason either, might be lups/chili/graphic driver though I already experimented with all those.
0 x

User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22300
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Re: Do you run spring with shadows on?

Post by smoth »

Nvidia 280
Shadows on
0 x

User avatar
jamerlan
Balanced Annihilation Developer
Posts: 683
Joined: 20 Oct 2009, 13:04

Re: Do you run spring with shadows on?

Post by jamerlan »

/shadows 2
/water 2

geforce 560ti 1gb + i7 2600k + 8 gb ram
0 x

Post Reply

Return to “General Discussion”