slow computer?

slow computer?

Various things about Spring that do not fit in any of the other forums listed below, including forum rules.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
kburts
Posts: 134
Joined: 22 Mar 2009, 00:36

slow computer?

Post by kburts » 28 Oct 2009, 03:36

hello there, is there anything really good for a slow style computer?

my specs are:
2 Ghz Single Processer
512 MB Ram
64 MB Video Card

any options I can tweak to make this actually playable?? because right now it runs REALLY slowly (like 5 FPS)
0 x

User avatar
Tribulex
A.N.T.S. Developer
Posts: 1894
Joined: 26 Sep 2009, 21:26

Re: slow computer?

Post by Tribulex » 28 Oct 2009, 04:14

set all settings to min. Ur processor is fine, but try getting more ram and vid card if possible.
0 x

User avatar
kburts
Posts: 134
Joined: 22 Mar 2009, 00:36

Re: slow computer?

Post by kburts » 28 Oct 2009, 04:24

getting a videocard is almost non-existant, because my computer is from 2000? or 2001...

and it uses DDR ram (2x256MB) and if i buy a GIG, it is $42 and my computer was only $50... so that would put me in a pretty bad position
0 x

User avatar
caldera
Posts: 388
Joined: 18 Oct 2005, 20:56

Re: slow computer?

Post by caldera » 28 Oct 2009, 06:04

2Ghz could be too slow if its a cheap one like AMD Sempron, so what kind of cpu do u have? In most cases CPU is the bottleneck in spring.
0 x

User avatar
Tribulex
A.N.T.S. Developer
Posts: 1894
Joined: 26 Sep 2009, 21:26

Re: slow computer?

Post by Tribulex » 28 Oct 2009, 07:11

Disable unit rendering and play using the minimap only. To see what i mean, search youtube for "xtaboi" and look at his dotwars vids.
0 x

User avatar
kburts
Posts: 134
Joined: 22 Mar 2009, 00:36

Re: slow computer?

Post by kburts » 29 Oct 2009, 01:30

caldera wrote:2Ghz could be too slow if its a cheap one like AMD Sempron, so what kind of cpu do u have? In most cases CPU is the bottleneck in spring.
I don't really know, but it is from 2000-2002 i believe and it is really cheap and slow/ghetto/lame/has no legs...



WAIT !!!! TRIED IT AND... Cpu running at like 150% :D and memory being used fully and it is slooow as fuck :'( sadface
0 x

User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20669
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Re: slow computer?

Post by AF » 29 Oct 2009, 03:24

OTA
0 x

User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14603
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: slow computer?

Post by Forboding Angel » 29 Oct 2009, 11:51

It's a sempron.
0 x

User avatar
knorke
Posts: 7971
Joined: 22 Feb 2006, 01:02

Re: slow computer?

Post by knorke » 29 Oct 2009, 12:23

my older pc is P3 1000MHZ, 512 MB, geforce 2 (32MB)
and xta on smaller maps runs smoothly, but it looks very ugly:
Image

i think with settings like this, you should be able to play. also xta is maybe the best mod for low-end systems (although on good systems it looks very nice) because there usually are fewer units.
0 x

User avatar
Neddie
Community Lead
Posts: 9406
Joined: 10 Apr 2006, 05:05

Re: slow computer?

Post by Neddie » 29 Oct 2009, 12:41

Disable LUPS.
0 x

User avatar
manolo_
Posts: 1370
Joined: 01 Jul 2008, 00:08

Re: slow computer?

Post by manolo_ » 29 Oct 2009, 14:20

neddiedrow wrote:Disable LUPS.
i think xta uses no lups
0 x

User avatar
thesleepless
Posts: 417
Joined: 24 Oct 2007, 04:49

Re: slow computer?

Post by thesleepless » 29 Oct 2009, 15:08

i ran it on a 1.2GHz AMD with 2GB of ram and a geforce 5200 ran fine for smaller games (less than 6v6), just make sure lua shaders and lups are off
0 x

User avatar
ChaosMonkey
Posts: 180
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 21:21

Re: slow computer?

Post by ChaosMonkey » 31 Oct 2009, 01:43

wtf get a new pc newb

totally unhelpful and mean post. be nice. sharing is caring. don't hit people. I'll take away your crayons. --moderator.
0 x

User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14603
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: slow computer?

Post by Forboding Angel » 31 Oct 2009, 15:28

Well I tend to agree. Wtf are you trying to run modern 3d games on THAT?!?

It boggles the mind.
0 x

luckywaldo7
Posts: 1397
Joined: 17 Sep 2008, 04:36

Re: slow computer?

Post by luckywaldo7 » 31 Oct 2009, 16:27

It doesn't hurt anything to try.

kburts, if you don't mind speccing/playing with mostly only icons, you can type /disticon 1 in the console. That should speed things up a bit.
0 x

User avatar
zCram
Posts: 8
Joined: 22 Aug 2009, 20:56

Re: slow computer?

Post by zCram » 31 Oct 2009, 22:38

Meh.

I had a puter with PIV2GHz, 1024MB RAM later upgraded to 1.5GB and a 64MB card with GPU at 225MHz, made by ATI. Up to and until a month or so ago. It has been scrapped now and the parts traded. And currently I thus have just a 4 year old system, instead of the 8 year old one. I'm most happy with the nvidia card that the new system has, now spring runs w/o glitches on linooks, the way it should be (no more effy dual boots). With the old system I had played for years, no problem whatsoever, UNTIL MOD DEVS STARTED TO MAEK BLOATWARS. No really. It has been possible to observe a slow but steady reduction in preformance over the years in the mods and also spring itself (from time to time). An old programmer once said about realtime computing: "test on the slowest hardware you have access to"... TRWTF is why the central lobby system doesn't support multiple versions of spring, and also client-side installations of multiple spring versions could be better facilitated (I like to watch replays from older times). It's a PITA the way it is *supposed* to work now.

Thereas, a system like that will indeed be able to compute, but indeed with reduced graphics settings, increase in system RAM and perhaps with running tad older versions of spring and your favourite mods.

One day I was looking at the battle list, wondering why nobody plays on Mars, SmallDiv or Islands_in_War any more...
0 x

User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14603
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: slow computer?

Post by Forboding Angel » 02 Nov 2009, 01:38

Try KP
0 x

Post Reply

Return to “General Discussion”