What's up with isolation mode and spring/settings? (87)

What's up with isolation mode and spring/settings? (87)

Discuss the source code and development of Spring Engine in general from a technical point of view. Patches go here too.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14673
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

What's up with isolation mode and spring/settings? (87)

Post by Forboding Angel »

Infolog wrote:Using configuration source: "/springsettings.cfg"
Error: FileConfigSource: Error: Could not write to config file "/springsettings.cfg"
It looks like someone may have added a lolslash on the path thingy as on windows /<filename> would never be a valid path.

But in the spirit of being thorough:
Clipboard01.jpg
Clipboard01.jpg (94.54 KiB) Viewed 659 times
And the command line that is being run is:

Code: Select all

TITLE Evolution RTS Command Console
color F0
echo off
SET SPRING_ISOLATED=1
cls
del LuaUI\Config\EvoRTS_data.lua
start notalobby\Notalobby.exe
exit
Am I doing something wrong or is it just a bug?
User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14673
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: What's up with isolation mode and spring/settings? (87)

Post by Forboding Angel »

Update - It appears that spring settings is doing it correctly, but when you change a value (like turning shadows on) in spring, it isn't saved.
User avatar
jK
Spring Developer
Posts: 2299
Joined: 28 Jun 2007, 07:30

Re: What's up with isolation mode and spring/settings? (87)

Post by jK »

User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14673
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: What's up with isolation mode and spring/settings? (87)

Post by Forboding Angel »

Okies, will do. Thanks :-)
User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14673
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: What's up with isolation mode and spring/settings? (87)

Post by Forboding Angel »

Jk, spring isn't actually using the springsettigns.cfg in "./"

Spring doesn't throw the error anymore, but it's using hardcoded details for these values. Not good.

How can I fix this and what caused it in the first place?

Having particles stuck at 200 is not very nice. Moreover, I include an already set up springsettings.cfg for desura people so they already have the best and most efficient graphics options set. This has been working up until spring 87. What gives?
abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3798
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: What's up with isolation mode and spring/settings? (87)

Post by abma »

you could try to use that:

Code: Select all

TITLE Evolution RTS Command Console
color F0
echo off
SET SPRING_ISOLATED=%CD%
cls
del LuaUI\Config\EvoRTS_data.lua
start notalobby\Notalobby.exe
exit

as possible alternative you can try

SET SPRING_ISOLATED=%~dp0

(i'm not sure if it will work)
User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14673
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: What's up with isolation mode and spring/settings? (87)

Post by Forboding Angel »

I can throw an actual path at it?

Oi I wish someone would document the changes to isolated mode more thoroughly.
User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14673
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: What's up with isolation mode and spring/settings? (87)

Post by Forboding Angel »

O_O when I read that changelog last the description was much harder to understand. Thanks for the brotip abma. Also, doxygen? I've never seen that before O_o.

For anyone wondering, %CD% works beautifully.
Post Reply

Return to “Engine”