View topic - Changes to rapid


All times are UTC + 1 hour


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Changes to rapid
PostPosted: 27 Nov 2011, 09:03 
Evolution RTS Developer
User avatar

Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43
Very nice! Thank you guys for listening! I really like the way it works now, and it's also much more attractive now as well (just installing x and progress bar).

Thanks!
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changes to rapid
PostPosted: 30 Dec 2011, 17:01 

Joined: 03 Jul 2011, 10:54
It would help me if you hinted what changes you are referring to :D

(My rapid still is a command line tool, you are talking about x and progress bars. Am i missing out on sweet UI rapid or whats going on)
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changes to rapid
PostPosted: 31 Dec 2011, 07:10 
Evolution RTS Developer
User avatar

Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43
Well for example, it is less verbose and something else change (can't remember what, but obviously I was rather pleased :-))
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changes to rapid
PostPosted: 31 Dec 2011, 16:52 
User avatar

Joined: 22 Feb 2006, 01:02
Location: cheap kitchen
Quote:
Am i missing out on sweet UI rapid or whats going on
"sweet" might be debatable but try rapid-gui.exe ;)
Have not noticed any changes though... (in 85.0 install vs 0.82.7)
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changes to rapid
PostPosted: 31 Dec 2011, 19:58 

Joined: 03 Jul 2011, 10:54
I am on ubuntu linux, and apt-cache search rapid-gui did not find anything..

I have not noticed any difference in how rapid works after upgrade to 85.
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changes to rapid
PostPosted: 31 Dec 2011, 20:14 
Lobby Developer
User avatar

Joined: 14 Aug 2007, 15:15
It's not packaged in debian/buntu or spring's ppa. Use
Code:
pip install -U rapid-spring
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changes to rapid
PostPosted: 31 Dec 2011, 20:20 

Joined: 03 Jul 2011, 10:54
I tried what you suggested, but it failed with some errors.

http://pastebin.com/gtKZ8ynU

I got the rapid-gui to launch, and it seems to be working with a few errors printed to console:

Code:
q@varikonniemi-desktop:~$ rapid-gui
QLayout: Attempting to add QLayout "" to MainRapidWidget "", which already has a layout
QLayout: Attempting to add QLayout "" to MainRapidWidget "", which already has a layout


edit: installing pip brings in some new version of a library that will apparently break rapid. Took some days to debug this with the helpful guys of #zk. Also, rapid-gui comes with rapid-spring in ubuntu ppa:s so no need for pip in the first place.


Last edited by varikonniemi on 08 Jan 2012, 14:50, edited 2 times in total.
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changes to rapid
PostPosted: 31 Dec 2011, 20:41 
Lobby Developer
User avatar

Joined: 14 Aug 2007, 15:15
install python-dev
also: https://github.com/tvo/rapid
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changes to rapid
PostPosted: 31 Dec 2011, 20:49 

Joined: 03 Jul 2011, 10:54
Thanks, that fixed the errors while doing pip --upgrade

It did not however remove the two warning? messages while launching rapid-gui. It seems to be working fine however.
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changes to rapid
PostPosted: 04 Jan 2012, 16:07 
MC: Legacy & Spring 1944 Developer
User avatar

Joined: 29 Apr 2005, 00:14
Location: #moddev - join it!
Slightly OT bump, how about an Icon for rapid? AF maybe using the 'standard' icon style?

Partly just for http://springrts.com/wiki/GamesDownloads
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changes to rapid
PostPosted: 04 Jan 2012, 23:39 
AI Coder
User avatar

Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 10:32
Location: Cookieland
I made a spring downloader icon but nobody used it as Car thought it was meh at 16x16 and wouldn't look at the revision I made, because it was being renamed anyways.

I'm unsure how I'd do the Rapid logo though as rapidity isnt easy to convey.
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changes to rapid
PostPosted: 05 Jan 2012, 01:53 
MC: Legacy & Spring 1944 Developer
User avatar

Joined: 29 Apr 2005, 00:14
Location: #moddev - join it!
Doesn't have to be anything amazing. IMO slanting arrows or multiple arrowheads will convey speed.


Attachments:
rapid.png
rapid.png [ 12.72 KiB | Viewed 533 times ]
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changes to rapid
PostPosted: 05 Jan 2012, 11:00 
AI Coder
User avatar

Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 10:32
Location: Cookieland
That could do if it had the layer styles, as it is currently it doesnt scale as well, but the shape is right.

I'm thinking now more along the lines of files, an arrow indicating speed doesn't scream content delivery to me
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changes to rapid
PostPosted: 05 Jan 2012, 11:24 
Evolution RTS Developer
User avatar

Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43
Folder with a down arrow on one side.
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changes to rapid
PostPosted: 05 Jan 2012, 13:07 
AI Coder
User avatar

Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 10:32
Location: Cookieland
That wouldn't scale to 16x16, a folder with a hole in the middle shaped like an arrow would be better, but then that would be more appropriate for archive mover than the current star logo

A big letter R might be best for the moment
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Site layout created by Roflcopter et al.