View topic - Make your game ready for the next release! [0.83] [84.0]


All times are UTC + 1 hour


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: 29 Jun 2011, 15:20 
Spring Developer
User avatar

Joined: 22 Sep 2007, 08:51
As the engine is in the pre-release phase now, where we will not change major stuff that would require you to adapt again, and testing should be done now, it would be good to have games to test with.

Please test your game with the latest engine test release and report errors in the Help & Bugs forum or on mantis.
When you did all the necessary changes to your game to make it work on this version of spring, it would be nice to have a release so we can engage in more wide-spread testing. The changes should all be backwards compatible (no guarantee, but also no contrary reports so far). If you do not want to officially release, at least make an archive or rapid tag, to make it publicly available (for example by posting in this thread). testing with multiple players with SVN versions of different games is not feasible.

important changes

TODO the above list is most likely incomplete. please PM me if you have something to add.


Last edited by knorke on 07 Mar 2012, 01:34, edited 6 times in total.
unsticky
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 29 Jun 2011, 18:05 
User avatar

Joined: 22 Feb 2006, 01:02
Location: cheap kitchen
playing sounds seems to be more strictly now.
I get messages like
[f=0000238] [Sound] Can't play non-mono "sounds/yea.wav" in 3d.
that I do not get in current version. (I guess fixeable by converting all sounds to mono, must have missed some)

Beside this and an issue with unit scripts Spring Tanks seems to work in 0.83, hooray. (at least in SP)
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: news!
PostPosted: 01 Jul 2011, 19:43 
Spring Developer
User avatar

Joined: 22 Sep 2007, 08:51
Widget DB
very_bad_soldier replaced all ".n" usages with #, where appropriate, for all widgets on the Widget DB and updated some to newer versions (fetched from games). So they should now be spring 0.83 ready!
He also made a wiki page about the DB, and linked to it on the Lua dev page. here it is:
http://springrts.com/wiki/WidgetDatabaseFAQ
(he also fixed the web interface for certain low tech browsers like Konqueror)

Spring Tanks
knorkes problem with unit scripts seems to have been a configuration glicht, as can be seen in the mantis report, and is now fixed too.
I do not know if this is available as an archive or on rapid already.

Zero-K
The latest version (0.8.8.2) should be spring 0.83 ready (good work KingRaptor), except a problem with game-end, which results in the game never ending. Get it through rapid!
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 01 Jul 2011, 19:48 
Content Developer
User avatar

Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46
Fixed all the .n crap in grts(oddly I never used it, I always # as per standard lua) you need to ping z most of my .n fixes were his code and I am not home to ping him.

Have not had any sound issues yet but only had time to fix the .n crap

To do: game ends, test stuff, play more dw:g3
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 05 Jul 2011, 01:02 
Spring Developer

Joined: 31 May 2009, 23:08
The widget "Start Point Remover" isn't needed any more, i removed the start point in the engine, the minimap event isn't shown too.

i've also added a widget, that readds that function: https://github.com/spring/spring/blob/m ... marker.lua
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 05 Jul 2011, 01:43 
Content Developer
User avatar

Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46
hoijui wrote:
[list]
[*] Spring.SetUnitLineage() and Spring.GetUnitLineage() do not exist anymore ("who's ya daddy?" - "dunnu! :(")

What is the replacement? because this is used with a lot of commander spawn code

hoijui wrote:
[*] commanders do not auto-spawn anymore

because the above change breaks game_spawn? or another reason? because I get a comm fine.
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 05 Jul 2011, 02:36 
Spring Developer
User avatar

Joined: 28 Jun 2007, 06:30
hoijui wrote:
commanders do not auto-spawn anymore
that's 82.x already
hoijui wrote:
you may only use mono sounds for anything that is played in 3D space. for example unit or explosion sounds, in contrast to ambient music, which is allowed to have more then one channel.
It was like that already, it now just prints a warning message (duno if it is visible by default, or if you need to enable a log subsystem).
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 05 Jul 2011, 03:02 
Content Developer
User avatar

Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46
pretty much seconding jk here. Unless there is something new. I don't want to chase wild gooses, what is the source of the no comms claim?
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 05 Jul 2011, 08:56 
Spring Developer
User avatar

Joined: 22 Sep 2007, 08:51
thanks jk, i did not remember that anymore (even though i sure got lots of complaints back then :D).
abma, with the widget you added there... if it is in this location, doesn't that mean it is again used by all games by default, and so nothing really changed?
what would game devs have to do to change the default behavior (whether it is used or unused by default).

the sound log-subsystem is enabled by default anyway, and i saw this message quite a few times already, from people that i am sure would not go enabling log-subsystems manually.
anyway can not hurt to mention it, so people are again more likely to notice and change it.
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 05 Jul 2011, 13:42 
MC: Legacy & Spring 1944 Developer
User avatar

Joined: 29 Apr 2005, 00:14
Location: #moddev - join it!
abma's new widget is default disabled
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 07 Jul 2011, 21:23 
MC: Legacy & Spring 1944 Developer
User avatar

Joined: 29 Apr 2005, 00:14
Location: #moddev - join it!
As of 0.83.x CEG definitions (tdf or lua) can now be loaded from the 'effects/' folder as well as the old 'gamedata/explosions/'.

https://github.com/spring/spring/commit ... 711c5e9b17

This was already possible if you had your own gamedata/explosions.lua or gamedata/explosions_post.lua but it is now supported by the base springcontent.sdz.

No change required, but I felt that following the CA model makes more sense than having them with the unrelated files in 'gamedata/'. :-)

Quote:
[23:27:13] <[S44]FLOZi> keeps Gamedata/ pure for the 'important control files'
[23:27:53] <[S44]FLOZi> if unitdefs are under units, weapondefs under weapons, featuredefs under features, why are effects under gamedata/explosions
[23:28:30] <snackuser> hm true
[23:28:45] <snackuser> also not all effects are explosions, makes sense
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 15 Oct 2011, 15:40 
Spring Developer

Joined: 16 Dec 2006, 20:59
If you want to make your game MT compatible, read this:

http://springrts.com/wiki/Spring_Multithreaded_Lua
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 21 Oct 2011, 15:19 
User avatar

Joined: 22 Feb 2006, 01:02
Location: cheap kitchen
The "xyz is being attacked" warning was removed from engine. That also means the "commander under attack" sound.
get it back by making some Lua.
Thread: viewtopic.php?f=21&t=26963
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 02 Dec 2011, 17:43 
User avatar

Joined: 22 Feb 2006, 01:02
Location: cheap kitchen
Spring seems more strict about resouces.lua/resources_map.lua
viewtopic.php?f=13&t=27236&p=506719
(mappers might care)
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 04 Dec 2011, 01:56 
User avatar

Joined: 22 Feb 2006, 01:02
Location: cheap kitchen
removal of some Lua *defs such as canDGun and isBuilder:
https://github.com/spring/spring/commit/1c411a882423b3b5014900f8c855c8f90ee08097
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 31 Jan 2012, 18:27 
MC: Legacy & Spring 1944 Developer
User avatar

Joined: 29 Apr 2005, 00:14
Location: #moddev - join it!
---------------from here on changes for > 85.0------
toairweapon tag is deprecated at long last:

https://github.com/spring/spring/commit ... 75a3516358


Last edited by knorke on 31 Jan 2012, 20:05, edited 1 time in total.
added note > 85.0
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 26 Feb 2012, 20:15 
Game Developer
User avatar

Joined: 25 Jun 2006, 07:44
Location: Germany
Did someone change the scale of MoveCtrl commands? My jumpers in Cuberor and the fighter in Air Raid move at insane speeds.
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 26 Feb 2012, 20:29 
MC: Legacy & Spring 1944 Developer
User avatar

Joined: 29 Apr 2005, 00:14
Location: #moddev - join it!
KDR_11k wrote:
Did someone change the scale of MoveCtrl commands? My jumpers in Cuberor and the fighter in Air Raid move at insane speeds.



See http://springrts.com/mantis/view.php?id=2886

Bug in SetRelativeVelocity, fixed in 86.
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Site layout created by Roflcopter et al.