View topic - How do I assign units to ferry routes?



All times are UTC + 1 hour


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: 15 Feb 2012, 03:20 
Evolution RTS Developer
User avatar

Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43
Location: Raegquitting Spring since 04/24/12
Nub question, but I draw ferry route,then build several transporters, then order units into the ferry circle and nothing happens. Do I have to assign the transporters to the ferry route? do I have to assign the units I'm trying to transport to the ferry route? What am i doing wrong?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 15 Feb 2012, 04:22 

Joined: 17 Sep 2008, 03:36
Location: your imagination
Sit both transporters and unit inside the ferry circle. As long as both are inside the rest is automagic.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 15 Feb 2012, 04:29 
Content Developer
User avatar

Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46
Location: You are going to die anyway, hurry up and do it.
lol ferry rings... sorry could not help myself


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 15 Feb 2012, 06:56 
Evolution RTS Developer
User avatar

Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43
Location: Raegquitting Spring since 04/24/12
:-(

That is not obvious at all


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 15 Feb 2012, 11:32 
Moderator

Joined: 12 Oct 2007, 08:24
Assign transports and units to the ferry route by right clicking in the circle. Unit assignment can be queued which means factories can use them as part of their queue as well.

If the UI was any simpler I'd be left with what I think is the failing of transport AI. I don't want random transports to be taken and assigned to routes as they may do stupid things such as fly through AA to get there or reveal to my opponent that I have transports.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 15 Feb 2012, 22:34 
Spring Developer
User avatar

Joined: 22 Sep 2007, 08:51
could you not mark a circle red when there are no transports asigned to it, and green otherwise, and maybe use a transporter cursor when moving a transporter into a transporter circle, and maybe even show a small text next to the circle when no transporters: "assing transporters" or the like. ther must be more and better ways to solve it, without changeing the logic at all.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 16 Feb 2012, 02:25 
Evolution RTS Developer
User avatar

Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43
Location: Raegquitting Spring since 04/24/12
It looks like the drawing is done before anything else. Is that wise? It looks kinda funky when the circle is drawn on top of everything (including units).


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 17 Feb 2012, 10:32 
Evolution RTS Developer
User avatar

Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43
Location: Raegquitting Spring since 04/24/12
Apparently this is what keeps happening:
infolog wrote:
[f=0006046] Error in CommandNotify(): [string "LuaUI/Widgets/cmd_ferry_points.lua"]:141: table index is nil


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 17 Feb 2012, 13:58 
Moderator

Joined: 12 Oct 2007, 08:24
You've done something to the widget because line 141 is whitespace here.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Site layout created by Roflcopter et al.