LUA AI - call-out to detect when a unit is attacked.

Here is where ideas can be collected for the skirmish AI in development

Moderators: hoijui, Moderators

yanom

Post by yanom »

So i got into Lua AI stuff by tinkering with knorke's AI for Conflict Terra (great mod, btw). Still don't know much about Lua or Spring AI's.

but is there a call out (something like Spring.getUnitsAttacked, idk, maybe) that could somehow detect when a unit is attacked and report the location of that unit?

Source code of the AI is attatched.
Attachments
tp_schwarmAI.lua
(21 KiB) Downloaded 114 times
Kloot
Spring Developer

Re: LUA AI - call-out to detect when a unit is attacked.

Post by Kloot »

Code: Select all

function gadget:UnitDamaged(
    unitID, unitDefID, unitTeam,
    damage, paralyzer, weaponID,
    attackerID, attackerDefID, attackerTeam
)
    -- your code
end
yanom

Post by yanom »

Mmm. How do I use that exactly? Im new at this
AF
AI Developer

Post by AF »

Your Lua AI is technically a spring gadget, and gadgets have callins for events. These dont need to be defined however for the gadget to work.

e.g. as shown in your AI:

function gadget:UnitFinished(unitID, unitDefID, teamID)	
	--moveAway (unitID, 200)
	if (isTeamCBM (teamID)) then
There is an event UnitDamaged that Kloot has posted an example for. If you paste that in and then put your own code in, using the existing AI code as an example of how to use the parameters, then you can ge tmoving
knorke

Post by knorke »

AF wrote:Your Lua AI is technically a spring gadget
Yup. A Lua AI is not much different from other gameplay scripts, ie in CT, the resource harvesting.
The only difference is that the AI has some extra lines to set up which player(s) it controlls.
list of callins:
http://springrts.com/wiki/LuaCallinReturn
yanom

Post by yanom »

ok, i need knorke's or some lua coder's help with this. Right now the code says:

)

Spring.Echo(myTeam[1])

if (unitTeam == myTeam[1]) then
		machTargetArea(unitTeam, 2, 2);