Looking for a game engine

Various things about Spring that do not fit in any of the other forums listed below, including forum rules.

Moderator: Moderators

VISION305

Post by VISION305 »

hello,
I am a c++ programmer who finally has some time to focus and make the game of my dreams.

I am looking for the right game engine to get started. I will just get straight to the point and hopefully I don't sound rude (not my tone)

1- Is it possible to make a game on this engine and then sell it like any other game out there for PC?

2- I notice that most of the games on this engine are 1 world or map.
The game I intend to make has 2 worlds simultaneously running at the same time where one could switch from one screen to another and. For example: A survival RTS where players fight for control underground and above the ground looking for survival things.

3- What limitations would I run into in trying to make such a game in this engine?

sorry if I broke any rules. I am completely new to this community and I appreciate any help. (hopefully someone steals that idea cause I would be willing to pay for a game like that.) :-)
Anarchid

Re: Looking for a game engine

Post by Anarchid »

1- Is it possible to make a game on this engine and then sell it like any other game out there for PC?
Yes, in fact there was at least one commercial game made and finished with Spring.
A survival RTS where players fight for control underground and above the ground looking for survival things.
Spring's terrain is two-dimensional plus heightmap, so you cannot have real 3d caves, nor cannot have two layers of map simulated at once in one instance of Spring. If you just need to switch between them with some data-interchange on the switch event, that's doable, but not if you actually want both running at the same real time (d'oh, didn't think of "two maps on same plane" pathway).
3- What limitations would I run into in trying to make such a game in this engine?