How do I run Spring in -i (isolation) exactly ?

How do I run Spring in -i (isolation) exactly ?

Discuss your problems with the latest release of the engine here. Problems with games, maps or other utilities belong in their respective forums.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
Jonny5isalivetm
Posts: 186
Joined: 04 Jul 2006, 02:43

How do I run Spring in -i (isolation) exactly ?

Post by Jonny5isalivetm »

not so familiar with command line lingo..

I know you can create a shortcut for doing so but then the lobby will not launch the shortcut ?

I also tried adding Isolation = 1 to my springsettings.cfg but it has to be done via command line ?

running Windows if that matters..
klapmongool
Posts: 843
Joined: 13 Aug 2007, 13:19

Re: How do I run Spring in -i (isolation) exactly ?

Post by klapmongool »

Also interested in the answer.
gajop
Moderator
Posts: 3051
Joined: 05 Aug 2009, 20:42

Re: How do I run Spring in -i (isolation) exactly ?

Post by gajop »

I think he's asking how to have lobbies (I assume springlobby?) run Spring in isolation mode. (Just running spring.exe without a lobby isn't really useful for multiplayer gaming)
abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3798
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: How do I run Spring in -i (isolation) exactly ?

Post by abma »

create a batch file which launches spring.exe?!

but keep in mind, the lobby has to support some way of isolation mode as well... the question is imo way to unspecific also imo there exists currently no clean solution for a portable lobby / spring installation.
User avatar
AntiAllez
Posts: 105
Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 18:22

Re: How do I run Spring in -i (isolation) exactly ?

Post by AntiAllez »

create a batch file into same folder of your .exe or set a path
@echo OFF
start spring.exe --isolation
or
@echo OFF
start [path]spring.exe --isolation
and link the path of the batchfile into your lobby preference. But it seems thats not really possible, springlobby ignored this option.

if you start a demo without springlobby its working
@echo OFF
start spring.exe --isolation [filename].sdf or path with filename
User avatar
SinbadEV
Posts: 6475
Joined: 02 May 2005, 03:56

Re: How do I run Spring in -i (isolation) exactly ?

Post by SinbadEV »

abma wrote: there exists currently no clean solution for a portable lobby / spring installation.
I think this is the problem. The op clearly indicated he knew how to assign command line parameters and was asking specifically about launching it this way from a lobby.

That said... it sound like abma had the right of it because you can set the SPRING_ISOLATED environment variable.
User avatar
Jonny5isalivetm
Posts: 186
Joined: 04 Jul 2006, 02:43

Re: How do I run Spring in -i (isolation) exactly ?

Post by Jonny5isalivetm »

Hi guys

no need to get to worked up :D

I run tasclient, yes hate me :D it has no option to launch a batch file just alternative exe

sorry I was not more informative I did not realize it was so unclear...
User avatar
SinbadEV
Posts: 6475
Joined: 02 May 2005, 03:56

Re: How do I run Spring in -i (isolation) exactly ?

Post by SinbadEV »

Jonny5isalivetm wrote:I run tasclient, yes hate me :D it has no option to launch a batch file just alternative exe.
This is probably a terrible idea but... well... you could make your batch file into an exe... http://stackoverflow.com/questions/2000 ... o-exe-file
User avatar
Jonny5isalivetm
Posts: 186
Joined: 04 Jul 2006, 02:43

Re: How do I run Spring in -i (isolation) exactly ?

Post by Jonny5isalivetm »

interesting idea but I think it prolly would not sync up as not "official" and ethier not work at all online or desync badly.
User avatar
Jonny5isalivetm
Posts: 186
Joined: 04 Jul 2006, 02:43

Re: How do I run Spring in -i (isolation) exactly ?

Post by Jonny5isalivetm »

or even the more I think about it..might work as its simply telling tasclient to load spring.exe -isolation
klapmongool
Posts: 843
Joined: 13 Aug 2007, 13:19

Re: How do I run Spring in -i (isolation) exactly ?

Post by klapmongool »

Jonny5isalivetm wrote:or even the more I think about it..might work as its simply telling tasclient to load spring.exe -isolation
Lemme know what worked for you :)
User avatar
Jonny5isalivetm
Posts: 186
Joined: 04 Jul 2006, 02:43

Re: How do I run Spring in -i (isolation) exactly ?

Post by Jonny5isalivetm »

Hey Klap buddy :D

Yeah I will have a play at some point when I get home :)
User avatar
Silentwings
Posts: 3720
Joined: 25 Oct 2008, 00:23

Re: How do I run Spring in -i (isolation) exactly ?

Post by Silentwings »

Best way is to make a feature request / patch for this to whichever lobby you are using. I can't imagine that creating some sort of wrapper disguised as spring.exe would work well.
User avatar
AntiAllez
Posts: 105
Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 18:22

Re: How do I run Spring in -i (isolation) exactly ?

Post by AntiAllez »

i got it; thx to zerver! :-)
@echo OFF
start c:\Users\...\spring.exe script.txt --isolation
make sure that your lobby config is into same folder like the .exe and set the right pathes into it for 96.0 or delete them. Next upcoming MT already included isolation-mode.
User avatar
Jonny5isalivetm
Posts: 186
Joined: 04 Jul 2006, 02:43

Re: How do I run Spring in -i (isolation) exactly ?

Post by Jonny5isalivetm »

cool will try at some point
abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3798
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: How do I run Spring in -i (isolation) exactly ?

Post by abma »

AntiAllez wrote:@echo OFF
start c:\Users\...\spring.exe script.txt --isolation
this way demos can't be played, this should work better:

Code: Select all

@echo OFF
start c:\Users\...\spring.exe --isolation %*
(not sure if %* works, if not, %1 %2 %3 should do the same)
Satirik
Lobby Developer
Posts: 1688
Joined: 16 Mar 2007, 18:27

Re: How do I run Spring in -i (isolation) exactly ?

Post by Satirik »

just put that file in the Lobby/python/scripts directory

Code: Select all

def onStartSpring(args):
	return "--isolation "+args
Attachments
changeSpringArgs.7z
(189 Bytes) Downloaded 9 times
User avatar
Jonny5isalivetm
Posts: 186
Joined: 04 Jul 2006, 02:43

Re: How do I run Spring in -i (isolation) exactly ?

Post by Jonny5isalivetm »

Thanks for all the replies :) and especially Satirik good to see your still around.
Post Reply

Return to “Help & Bugs”