Spring site testing

Spring site testing

For the discussion of infrastructure improvements and changes.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20687
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Spring site testing

Post by AF »

Can we have better testing by those making commits?

Over christmas we had a rather glaring bug resulting from improper inclusion of the red background on the wrong div, leading to giant blue stripes across the bottom of the page when the forum wasnt tall enough to fill the window.

Right now someone has added a css3 drop shadow, which fails spectacularly in the main menu ( the drop shadow starts far too low leaving a double rounded corner, and when you resize the window below the maximum width, the drop shadow persists despite media queries putting the bar full width ).
abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3798
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: Spring site testing

Post by abma »

AF wrote:Can we have better testing by those making commits?
uhm... how to test more?

if you interested in changes, follow the changes on the git-repo: https://github.com/spring/spring-website (there is a rss feed)

current "tests" are: it works / it works not.
User avatar
Jazcash
Posts: 5309
Joined: 08 Dec 2007, 17:39

Re: Spring site testing

Post by Jazcash »

AF wrote: Over christmas we had a rather glaring bug resulting from improper inclusion of the red background on the wrong div, leading to giant blue stripes across the bottom of the page when the forum wasnt tall enough to fill the window.

Right now someone has added a css3 drop shadow, which fails spectacularly in the main menu ( the drop shadow starts far too low leaving a double rounded corner, and when you resize the window below the maximum width, the drop shadow persists despite media queries putting the bar full width ).
Was gonna mention these things but figured somebody else would eventually :P
User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20687
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Re: Spring site testing

Post by AF »

abma wrote:
AF wrote:Can we have better testing by those making commits?
uhm... how to test more?

if you interested in changes, follow the changes on the git-repo: https://github.com/spring/spring-website (there is a rss feed)

current "tests" are: it works / it works not.
Clearly it didn't, and in some cases the issues are obvious. What's likely happened is that changes were made to the markup and committed without them being applied to a local test environment to make sure they added/fixed the issue without introducing other issues.

Image

There are similar issues on the footer.

The community news RSS feed addition on the frontpage also has issues, it's pulling in RSS1 not RSS2, and it's only caching for 5 minutes, which is pointless, caching for say 6 or more hours would be better
Attachments
brokenspring.JPG
(17.37 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
User avatar
jK
Spring Developer
Posts: 2299
Joined: 28 Jun 2007, 07:30

Re: Spring site testing

Post by jK »

AF wrote:Over christmas we had a rather glaring bug resulting from improper inclusion of the red background on the wrong div, leading to giant blue stripes across the bottom of the page when the forum wasnt tall enough to fill the window.
You should be happy that someone spends time to make a gift for everyone and created a christmas theme for the website ...

Also you have a wrong idea of the workflow. In contrast to wiki formatting (thx to css extension) only a few ppl have access to update the website (and it's good like this). So you make changes in the css, see that the html itself needs updated - the website code isn't 100% clean, so the sizes of many objects aren't really static or defined with evil hacks instead of simple css-height/width, esp. the header is full of such stuff - and so you make changes to them and commit and wait 3h upto 2days until the website gets updated.
Fact is I don't want ssh access neither do I want to disturb others the whole time to update the website's repo.
Last edited by jK on 10 Jan 2012, 13:35, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20687
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Re: Spring site testing

Post by AF »

I managed to update the site, and I don't have access.

If anything it's a good thing that most people don't have access, because working on the live copy is a terrible way of doing things, especially when we have versioned source code.

What I do, and how it should be tested:
  • Fork the github repo
  • Set up a local install using X/W/L/AMP
  • Install the site using the instructions
  • Make your changes
  • Test them in your browsers locally
  • Commit, push
  • Issue a pull request
Nobody, not a single person, should be making any changes to the live site other than git commands. To do otherwise is dangerous and negligent. What's worse is to continually request changes be put live because you didn't test things and had to go back and make yet more changes.
User avatar
Tim Blokdijk
Posts: 1242
Joined: 29 May 2005, 11:18

Re: Spring site testing

Post by Tim Blokdijk »

You can use http://test.springrts.com/ to test code before it's put live.
abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3798
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: Spring site testing

Post by abma »

yeah, thats what i already used for the "works/works not" test... sorry i thought this was clear.
User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22309
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Re: Spring site testing

Post by smoth »

glitchy divs on browser resize.
Image
Attachments
2-8-2012 11-37-09 AM.gif
(56.9 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20687
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Re: Spring site testing

Post by AF »

It is to be noted that in firefox box shadows don't behave quite the same in as in chrome. In chrome they are purely visual, in some versions of firefox it has layout implications.
User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22309
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Re: Spring site testing

Post by smoth »

f*ck chrome.
User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20687
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Re: Spring site testing

Post by AF »

It's firefox that got it wrong there, Chrome did it right.

Rather somebody didn't bother to do cross browser testing...
User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22309
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Re: Spring site testing

Post by smoth »

pretty much yeah but I wanted to say f*ck chrome all the same.
abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3798
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: Spring site testing

Post by abma »

smoth wrote:glitchy divs on browser resize.
is it better with the latest commit?

see http://test.springrts.com/

(not applied on the main/current site)
User avatar
jK
Spring Developer
Posts: 2299
Joined: 28 Jun 2007, 07:30

Re: Spring site testing

Post by jK »

abma wrote:
smoth wrote:glitchy divs on browser resize.
is it better with the latest commit?

see http://test.springrts.com/

(not applied on the main/current site)
Opera: background gradient is broken on start page other pages are fine
User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20687
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Re: Spring site testing

Post by AF »

abma wrote:
smoth wrote:glitchy divs on browser resize.
is it better with the latest commit?

see http://test.springrts.com/

(not applied on the main/current site)
This fixes the issue of no gap between the main content and the menu in chrome
User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22309
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Re: Spring site testing

Post by smoth »

seems fixed to me
User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22309
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Re: Spring site testing

Post by smoth »

reporting page dun goofed.
Image
Attachments
2-13-2012 11-22-47 AM.gif
(50.89 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20687
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Re: Spring site testing

Post by AF »

Code: Select all

select { max-width:500px; }
User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22309
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Re: Spring site testing

Post by smoth »

- I don't know how to acess spring site to fix.
- I am at work.
Post Reply

Return to “Infrastructure Development”