Engine will stop spawning start units and resources - Page 3

Engine will stop spawning start units and resources

Resources to get you going on your new project, or to help you over some emergent problems during your development cycle.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
KDR_11k
Game Developer
Posts: 8293
Joined: 25 Jun 2006, 08:44

Re: Engine will stop spawning start units and resources

Post by KDR_11k »

Hm, will the change also allow us to let a team stay alive even after all its units are destroyed so having 0 units would be a valid state? Would be useful for stuff like team games where all teams of an alliance should remain alive as long as the alliance survives so units can still be given to the "dead" teams and of course mods that have a different loss condition while allowing you to create units even without existing units.
SirMaverick
Posts: 834
Joined: 19 May 2009, 21:10

Re: Engine will stop spawning start units and resources

Post by SirMaverick »

KDR_11k wrote:Hm, will the change also allow us to let a team stay alive even after all its units are destroyed so having 0 units would be a valid state?
No. If you lose your last unit your team is dead. Afaik there is no option to change that.
So if you start without any unit you are alive forever because you can't be killed.
Tobi
Spring Developer
Posts: 4598
Joined: 01 Jun 2005, 11:36

Re: Engine will stop spawning start units and resources

Post by Tobi »

Ultimately the game end condition should be moved completely to Lua too IMO. No default end condition built into engine, just a Lua call-out to trigger game end with a (list of) winning (ally)teams.
User avatar
TradeMark
Posts: 4867
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:58

Re: Engine will stop spawning start units and resources

Post by TradeMark »

Uh... whats the problem with setting defaults, and then overriding those with lua?
Tobi
Spring Developer
Posts: 4598
Joined: 01 Jun 2005, 11:36

Re: Engine will stop spawning start units and resources

Post by Tobi »

Harder to adapt.

If the default game end condition is in Lua already, you can just copy the gadget and modify it a bit.

If the default game end condition is in C++, you have to port it to Lua first, and figure out how to disable the C++ code.
User avatar
bobthedinosaur
Blood & Steel Developer
Posts: 2700
Joined: 25 Aug 2004, 13:31

Re: Engine will stop spawning start units and resources

Post by bobthedinosaur »

to avoid game ending when all units are destroyed you can have an indestructible and not noticeable null unit to hold the game
User avatar
Pxtl
Posts: 6112
Joined: 23 Oct 2004, 01:43

Re: Engine will stop spawning start units and resources

Post by Pxtl »

bobthedinosaur wrote:to avoid game ending when all units are destroyed you can have an indestructible and not noticeable null unit to hold the game
Which, of course, is an ugly hack that would be better replaced with an overridable default Lua gadget that implements the current behavior.
Tobi
Spring Developer
Posts: 4598
Joined: 01 Jun 2005, 11:36

Re: Engine will stop spawning start units and resources

Post by Tobi »

Exactly.
User avatar
TradeMark
Posts: 4867
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:58

Re: Engine will stop spawning start units and resources

Post by TradeMark »

My point is that in the future the mods actually take more lines of lua code than the engine uses c++ code...
User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20687
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Re: Engine will stop spawning start units and resources

Post by AF »

And that is a good thing because if you want all that extra code then yay, but if you don't then you can be uber lightweight. It also means a tidier stabler and faster core engine.
User avatar
TradeMark
Posts: 4867
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:58

Re: Engine will stop spawning start units and resources

Post by TradeMark »

Yeh but it also means to update 100 mods intead of 1 engine if theres some bug in their lua codes they all share.
User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20687
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Re: Engine will stop spawning start units and resources

Post by AF »

I don't like it that you've chosen this particular subject to troll, if your serious about it then stop raising and arguing exactly the same points and regurgitating the same discussion
User avatar
TradeMark
Posts: 4867
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:58

Re: Engine will stop spawning start units and resources

Post by TradeMark »

Im not trolling
User avatar
CarRepairer
Cursed Zero-K Developer
Posts: 3359
Joined: 07 Nov 2007, 21:48

Re: Engine will stop spawning start units and resources

Post by CarRepairer »

TradeMark wrote:Yeh but it also means to update 100 mods intead of 1 engine if theres some bug in their lua codes they all share.
When the engine updates the player has to download spring again.

When a mod updates, the players don't have to do anything. Their client downloads it automatically.
User avatar
Pxtl
Posts: 6112
Joined: 23 Oct 2004, 01:43

Re: Engine will stop spawning start units and resources

Post by Pxtl »

Imho, the best behavior in general is an over-ridable default gadget, but obviously the Spring devs disagree since we're starting to see breaking changes with a nice package of "here's how to get the old behavior back" which I suppose is a bit cleaner for new projects.
User avatar
TradeMark
Posts: 4867
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:58

Re: Engine will stop spawning start units and resources

Post by TradeMark »

CarRepairer wrote:
TradeMark wrote:Yeh but it also means to update 100 mods intead of 1 engine if theres some bug in their lua codes they all share.
When the engine updates the player has to download spring again.

When a mod updates, the players don't have to do anything. Their client downloads it automatically.
note that some mods take 400megs, engine takes 18megs

and i expect every mod be huge like that in the future...
User avatar
Neddie
Community Lead
Posts: 9406
Joined: 10 Apr 2006, 05:05

Re: Engine will stop spawning start units and resources

Post by Neddie »

With the pool format or the old SD package system for CA, updating can be piecewise, rather than re-downloading the whole archive.
User avatar
CarRepairer
Cursed Zero-K Developer
Posts: 3359
Joined: 07 Nov 2007, 21:48

Re: Engine will stop spawning start units and resources

Post by CarRepairer »

TradeMark wrote:note that some mods take 400megs, engine takes 18megs
Updating a bug fix in a 400meg mod requires downloading 1k. As Neddie stated.

Trademark, you are an old dinosaur who is stuck in the past in every way. You are out of the loop when it comes to lua, when it comes to the rapid system and you should stop talking and start listening.
User avatar
TradeMark
Posts: 4867
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:58

Re: Engine will stop spawning start units and resources

Post by TradeMark »

You will see, just remember, i told ya.
SirMaverick
Posts: 834
Joined: 19 May 2009, 21:10

Re: Engine will stop spawning start units and resources

Post by SirMaverick »

TradeMark wrote:note that some mods take 400megs, engine takes 18megs

and i expect every mod be huge like that in the future...
CA archive is ~90MB, unpacked 200MB.
Unpacked, LuaRules is 2.1MB (including ~350k Images), LuaUI is 16MB (biggest part is sounds and images, Widgets are less than 4 MB).

Biggest chunks in CA are unittextures, models and sounds.
Post Reply

Return to “Game Development Tutorials & Resources”