DWARF FORTRESS - Page 50

DWARF FORTRESS

Post just about everything that isn't directly related to Spring here!

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
pharoph
Posts: 408
Joined: 16 Jan 2008, 02:04

Re: DWARF FORTRESS

Post by pharoph » 13 Sep 2008, 13:30

50 pages! w00t!


but seriously, back to topic. it seems that i have TO MUCH food. i will focis my production on other things like build a windmill, building a well, finihing my bed room halls, (just note that i STILL dont have an anvil which is gay) funiture placing, barracks, meeting hall, office, trianin my soilders, making a clear path for the caravan, blaa blaa blaa.
0 x

User avatar
Sleksa
Posts: 1604
Joined: 04 Feb 2006, 20:58

Re: DWARF FORTRESS

Post by Sleksa » 13 Sep 2008, 16:34

Michilus, change the entrance to your fortress (where you have 2 cage traps) into 2 or 3 tiles wide, as it is the dwarves have to climb over each other in 1 tile corridors, making pathfinding harder (lowering your fps) and the dwarves move slower
0 x

manored
Posts: 3179
Joined: 15 Nov 2006, 00:37

Re: DWARF FORTRESS

Post by manored » 13 Sep 2008, 16:58

A lot of food can fit in a few barrels, so you just need a lot of barrels and a lot of storage space for it. Having excess food means you might not need to increase production then more imigrants arrive, at least not with haste I suppose :)

If you came winhout an anvil you have to buy one. If the merchants dont bring an anvil the next time they come you can increase the priority of it then they make the import agreement, that will increase the chances of they bringing one but also increase the price. I havent checked but I think iron anvils are still as good as steel anvils, so dont but the steel one wich is more expensive.
0 x

User avatar
Michilus_nimbus
Posts: 634
Joined: 19 Nov 2004, 20:38

Re: DWARF FORTRESS

Post by Michilus_nimbus » 13 Sep 2008, 16:59

Sleksa wrote:Michilus, change the entrance to your fortress (where you have 2 cage traps) into 2 or 3 tiles wide, as it is the dwarves have to climb over each other in 1 tile corridors, making pathfinding harder (lowering your fps) and the dwarves move slower
I know, but it's mostly for aesthetic reasons. Dwarves aren't really supposed to go outside often.
I'm not really bothered with FPS, I simply keep DF running all the time.
I'm a patient man :-)
Also, I just finished my mist machine prototype:
http://mkv25.net/dfma/movie-842-mistmachine

I'm going to use it in my aqua adventure park statue garden to make my dwarves happy.
0 x

User avatar
Muzic
Posts: 950
Joined: 09 Aug 2006, 07:08

Re: DWARF FORTRESS

Post by Muzic » 13 Sep 2008, 21:24

Michilus_nimbus wrote:
Sleksa wrote:Michilus, change the entrance to your fortress (where you have 2 cage traps) into 2 or 3 tiles wide, as it is the dwarves have to climb over each other in 1 tile corridors, making pathfinding harder (lowering your fps) and the dwarves move slower
I know, but it's mostly for aesthetic reasons. Dwarves aren't really supposed to go outside often.
I'm not really bothered with FPS, I simply keep DF running all the time.
I'm a patient man :-)
Also, I just finished my mist machine prototype:
http://mkv25.net/dfma/movie-842-mistmachine

I'm going to use it in my aqua adventure park statue garden to make my dwarves happy.
Interesting design. I think one of the greatest strong points of dwarf fortress is the freedom to create your own unique structures. Your not just limited to these pre determined buildings..
0 x

manored
Posts: 3179
Joined: 15 Nov 2006, 00:37

Re: DWARF FORTRESS

Post by manored » 13 Sep 2008, 22:02

Ya... I heard some people try to make computers using the predictable behavior of certain animals :)
0 x

User avatar
pharoph
Posts: 408
Joined: 16 Jan 2008, 02:04

Re: DWARF FORTRESS

Post by pharoph » 14 Sep 2008, 04:46

i screwd up :P :P

my mistake of water pressure + well + underground = disaster

http://mkv25.net/dfma/movie-843-waterpresuremistake

this video uploader is excelent
0 x

manored
Posts: 3179
Joined: 15 Nov 2006, 00:37

Re: DWARF FORTRESS

Post by manored » 14 Sep 2008, 05:12

I tould ya to stick to the wine :)

I suppose everbody does a flood-your-fortress mistake at some point...
0 x

User avatar
SwiftSpear
Classic Community Lead
Posts: 7287
Joined: 12 Aug 2005, 09:29

Re: DWARF FORTRESS

Post by SwiftSpear » 14 Sep 2008, 10:01

I did it back in 2D DF. But back then all you had to do was fuck up a flood gate location and infinite water was produced.
0 x

User avatar
Michilus_nimbus
Posts: 634
Joined: 19 Nov 2004, 20:38

Re: DWARF FORTRESS

Post by Michilus_nimbus » 14 Sep 2008, 12:43

Ouch! Next time, put a pressure plate on the bottom of your well reservoir, and make it close the floodgate when you reach 7/7.

Also, I made a disturbing discovery. Every creature, dwarf or otherwise, is completely covered in mud, vomit and blood. Some are even covered in ichor, whatever that may be.
I think I'm going to install some showers.
0 x

User avatar
SwiftSpear
Classic Community Lead
Posts: 7287
Joined: 12 Aug 2005, 09:29

Re: DWARF FORTRESS

Post by SwiftSpear » 14 Sep 2008, 20:51

Ichor is generic for "gore" in DF.
0 x

manored
Posts: 3179
Joined: 15 Nov 2006, 00:37

Re: DWARF FORTRESS

Post by manored » 14 Sep 2008, 22:13

You mean ever creature in your fortress? Sounds... strange.
0 x

User avatar
Muzic
Posts: 950
Joined: 09 Aug 2006, 07:08

Re: DWARF FORTRESS

Post by Muzic » 15 Sep 2008, 03:06

Dwarven computing is all theoretical business and is like hilariously analog. Like its just awesome.
0 x

User avatar
pharoph
Posts: 408
Joined: 16 Jan 2008, 02:04

Re: DWARF FORTRESS

Post by pharoph » 15 Sep 2008, 06:44

my next fortress will be based around this "castle of a fortress" but smaller and better working. the balista's arrow doesnt go through the fortification because it needs to be right up next to it.

http://mkv25.net/dfma/movie-824-ballistainaction

just another question how do you get the high resolution or more view of the land on the screen?
0 x

manored
Posts: 3179
Joined: 15 Nov 2006, 00:37

Re: DWARF FORTRESS

Post by manored » 15 Sep 2008, 07:24

You need one of the newer versions, you cant increase in the older ones. Good thing you are just starting a new fortress cause old saves might not work in new versions :)

Thats one big castle...
0 x

User avatar
pharoph
Posts: 408
Joined: 16 Jan 2008, 02:04

Re: DWARF FORTRESS

Post by pharoph » 15 Sep 2008, 09:32

are you going to tell me how? T_T
the pesky unicorns are disrupting my dwarfves. hunt machanic hunt!
a f**k. my machanic died. so much for that. time to choose another location...
0 x

User avatar
Michilus_nimbus
Posts: 634
Joined: 19 Nov 2004, 20:38

Re: DWARF FORTRESS

Post by Michilus_nimbus » 15 Sep 2008, 12:17

I don't remember the precise procedure to enlarge the view port, but you have to change data/init/init.txt.
Quoting from my init file:

Code: Select all

This is the dimensions in tiles of the display grid.  Minimum x is 80.  Minimum y is 25.  Maximums are 200.  Make sure the window size or full screen resolution matches the grid/tile size if you don't want the display to be squashed or stretched.  The default windowed font has tiles that are 8x12 pixels, for instance, so for a 80x25 grid, you use a 640x300 window, and for a 125x50 grid, you'd use a 1000x600 window. 

[GRID:128:64]

This is the size and font for windowed mode.  Changing to 800x600 and the 800x600 font might make you happier.

[WINDOWEDX:1024]
[WINDOWEDY:768]
[FONT:curses_640x300.bmp]
0 x

User avatar
Bartosh
Posts: 43
Joined: 15 Aug 2008, 18:11

Re: DWARF FORTRESS

Post by Bartosh » 01 Oct 2008, 00:32

Had a Bad-ass hero in adventure mode, was legendary axe and armor user. i was killing cyclopes like nothing. but I made the mistake of walking to close to a rive. Carp jumped out pulled me into the water where him and about 4 others riped me apart.
0 x

User avatar
SinbadEV
Posts: 6475
Joined: 02 May 2005, 03:56

Re: DWARF FORTRESS

Post by SinbadEV » 01 Oct 2008, 00:46

Wait a minute... they added the ability to increase the viewport!!!1 ZOMG!... my poor baby will miss her daddy
0 x

manored
Posts: 3179
Joined: 15 Nov 2006, 00:37

Re: DWARF FORTRESS

Post by manored » 01 Oct 2008, 02:59

Better make sure she doesnt thinks like a dwarf first, babie dwarf can have some quite suicidic thoughts then loney :)
0 x

Post Reply

Return to “Off Topic Discussion”

cron