Map design software? - Page 4

Map design software?

Discuss maps & map creation - from concept to execution to the ever elusive release.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
hughperkins
AI Developer
Posts: 836
Joined: 17 Oct 2006, 04:14

Post by hughperkins »

jcnossen wrote:what I did was try to fill all the texture stages into a single pass, and handle the remaining stages in the multipass method where just 2 of the texture units are used.
Ahhh.... good idea!

Edit: directly porting TerrainTexEnvCombine.cpp is looking like a good idea .
User avatar
hughperkins
AI Developer
Posts: 836
Joined: 17 Oct 2006, 04:14

Post by hughperkins »

This is kindof fun: render each pass higher than the others, so we can see each layer in 3d:

Image
Image
Image
User avatar
Maelstrom
Posts: 1950
Joined: 23 Jul 2005, 14:52

Post by Maelstrom »

Lol, nice. Also try an option to turn the passes on and off individually, tht could be helpful.
User avatar
hughperkins
AI Developer
Posts: 836
Joined: 17 Oct 2006, 04:14

Post by hughperkins »

Maelstrom wrote:Lol, nice. Also try an option to turn the passes on and off individually, tht could be helpful.
Good idea.
User avatar
LBPB
Posts: 119
Joined: 25 Aug 2006, 10:27

Post by LBPB »

Can't wait using this to make maps !

Keep going :wink:
User avatar
Argh
Posts: 10920
Joined: 21 Feb 2005, 03:38

Post by Argh »

:shock: This just keeps getting cooler. Fine work :-)
User avatar
jcnossen
Former Engine Dev
Posts: 2440
Joined: 05 Jun 2005, 19:13

Post by jcnossen »

Wow its looking nice:)
Edit: directly porting TerrainTexEnvCombine.cpp is looking like a good idea .
Im not sure how practical that is, the pass iteration is in terrain.cpp, blending is in TerrainTexture.cpp, and TerrainTexEnvCombine.cpp first creates a list of operations per pass and then executes it ;)
It's become a little bloated because of all the experimentation...
User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20687
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Post by AF »

Now all you need is featuremap generation skyboxes and lighting settings.
mufdvr222
Posts: 681
Joined: 01 May 2005, 09:24

Post by mufdvr222 »

I think it would be better if each pass was rendered on the same level, or at least closer.
bamb
Posts: 350
Joined: 04 Apr 2006, 14:20

Post by bamb »

mufdvr222 wrote:I think it would be better if each pass was rendered on the same level, or at least closer.
I thought that separation was just a development visualization tool! Of course they're normally rendered on teh same level.
User avatar
hughperkins
AI Developer
Posts: 836
Joined: 17 Oct 2006, 04:14

Post by hughperkins »

New release. http://manageddreams.com/csai/MapDesigner.zip has been updated.

Major changes:
*added multi-stage texture splatting
*added sm3 loader
*added blend texture editing

Minor changes:
*added water
*added smooth shaded normals (reduce patchwork appearance)
*cache normals (higher framerate)
*supports load/saving heightmaps using any DevIL-compatible format (eg JPG)
*slopemaps can be exported using any DevIL-compatible format
*added mapsize scaling
*added height scaling

Screenshot:

Image


Water:

Image

Paint splatted texture, leftclick to paint, rightclick to erase:

Image
mufdvr222
Posts: 681
Joined: 01 May 2005, 09:24

Post by mufdvr222 »

hughperkins, Go straight to the top of the class. 8)
User avatar
hrmph
Posts: 1054
Joined: 12 May 2005, 20:08

Post by hrmph »

This is great!
User avatar
hydr1x
Posts: 37
Joined: 12 Sep 2006, 04:51

Post by hydr1x »

X_X
User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14673
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Post by Forboding Angel »

list of issues:

camera zoom does not work for me

the render window cannot be adjusted sizewise via config.xml which leads me to believe that it's hardcoded somewhere. I operate at a desktop res of 1600x1200 with a 21 inch monitor. the window only being 800x600 drives me nuts.

Does not remember working directory which is possibly the most annyoing thing about it. How about allowing a set working directory on a per map basis.

Lack of documentation <my biggest complaint. Ya the software is nice, but if you don't really know how to use it then it's not all that useful.

------------------------------------------


I really like it, just the above is extremely annoying.
Last edited by Forboding Angel on 01 Dec 2006, 09:15, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14673
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Post by Forboding Angel »

ok fixed the sm3 loading deal. you have to make a maps directory inside of the mapdesigner directory (you have to do this because the path in your maps sm3 must be maps/mymapname/whatthehellever

so use maps as a working portal for all of your maps.



Arugh damnit. Ok the damn zoom is not working for me. Combine no zoom capability with an 800x600 forced window = a lot of cursing.

Z and X rotation (referred to as orbit I believe) are not working for me either.
User avatar
hughperkins
AI Developer
Posts: 836
Joined: 17 Oct 2006, 04:14

Post by hughperkins »

New release. http://manageddreams.com/csai/MapDesigner.zip has been updated.

Changes:

- window height and width read from config.xml "display" section at startup
- file dialog remembers last folder
- tilesize for new texture stages defaults to 50
- first texture stage selected by default
- "invert" option added to mouse move configs
- default config file now has ctrl + scroll wheel rotating in same sense as Spring
- zoom moved from cameratranslate to camerazoom
- default config set so rotating scroll wheel zooms camera, in line with Spring

The MapDesigner wiki page at http://taspring.clan-sy.com/wiki/Maps:Map_Designer has been updated for 0.3.

Edit: added a concepts section and a texture stage section to wiki.
User avatar
jcnossen
Former Engine Dev
Posts: 2440
Joined: 05 Jun 2005, 19:13

Post by jcnossen »

Wow that looks really nice! im going to test it when i get home...
User avatar
jcnossen
Former Engine Dev
Posts: 2440
Joined: 05 Jun 2005, 19:13

Post by jcnossen »

- "flatten" seems bugged, I get weird spikes instead...
- it sometimes just exits when Im editing the heightmap
User avatar
hughperkins
AI Developer
Posts: 836
Joined: 17 Oct 2006, 04:14

Post by hughperkins »

jcnossen wrote:- "flatten" seems bugged, I get weird spikes instead...
Not sure. Some observations on flatten:

*flatten is affected by brushsize
*it's essentially a disk the size of brushsize, placed at the height of the centre vertex
*the map is pulled towards the disk, flattening it
*the centre vertex is shown by the blue edit ball

Note that there is a very agressive LOD. If you're very far away the triangles are pretty big.
- it sometimes just exits when Im editing the heightmap
Can you run it from the commandline and send me the error message when it exits? Obviously this should dump to a logfile in a future version.

Update: note that there was an issue with height editing close to East or South edge of map. A new version will be released soon.
Post Reply

Return to “Map Creation”