I think it's a lobby bug (SpringLobby and SpringDownloader)

I think it's a lobby bug (SpringLobby and SpringDownloader)

Moderators: Moderators, Lobby Developers

Post Reply
UAF
Posts: 96
Joined: 02 Jan 2008, 19:25

I think it's a lobby bug (SpringLobby and SpringDownloader)

Post by UAF » 07 Oct 2010, 14:37

Ok, so I posted it on other forums, but since I found this forum (which I suspect is the place to report lobby issues) + I suspect my problem is lobby related, here I go again:

I've installed the latest Spring version on my computer (windows installer, I have windows 7, I didn't install it in Program Files).
I have two lobbies in the Spring directory - SpringLobby and SpringDownloader.

When I try to use SPringLobby, it tells me that I am connected to the Official Server and shows me the games and people online. HOWEVER I cannot join any channel (Yes, I did try /j #main, and using /channels open a window that is empty - i.e there are no open channels).
Also, many times people ranks don't appear (everyone showen as private).
I can't join games, and obviously can't chat.
Sometimes there is a small ping messege in the lower right corner showing my ping to be ridiculously high (sometimes 1400, sometime 44000).

I tried pinging the server (cmd -> ping springrts.com) and I have a good ping with it ( ~90ms).
I opened port 8200 and the other game port (8456 or something like that) on my firewall. It doesn't help.

When I try to connect to backup server 1 nothing happens (doesn't get connected).
But when I try to connect to backup server 2 everything seems to work fine - I get connected and automatically join #main and #newbies. (Though the server is empty and I'm the only one there, which I suspect makes sense since the main server works fine).


Now in SpringDownloader I couldn't find where to choose what server I connect, but from what I can tell it automatically joins the official server since I have similar problems to SpringLobby.
I can see games, but I can't join them and everything is generally unresponsive.

I'd love to try TAsclient, which is what I successfully used last time I played spring, but I can't find where to download it.

I hope someone can help me... I wanna play...



tl;dr version:
SpringLobby and SpringDownloader seem to have unexpleined lag. Pinging server give 90ms which is good.
Can't find where to download TAsclient to try it.
Help.
0 x

User avatar
Wombat
Posts: 3379
Joined: 15 Dec 2008, 15:53

Re: I think it's a lobby bug (SpringLobby and SpringDownloader)

Post by Wombat » 07 Oct 2010, 14:40

-stuff deleted-
nvm, i found ur other posts :}
0 x

UAF
Posts: 96
Joined: 02 Jan 2008, 19:25

Re: I think it's a lobby bug (SpringLobby and SpringDownloader)

Post by UAF » 07 Oct 2010, 14:47

I did.
I have played singleplayer games successfully.
Moreso, a couple of days ago SpringLobby sort of worked (was laaaaaaaaaaagy as hell, but I actually managed to join a game as spectator).

Anyway, in-game everything worked fine, there wasn't any lag or anything. I watched a couple of games that way.
Since then SpringLobby is back to my original description.

Which is why it seems like the lobby cause some incredible lag itself. It happens both with SpringLobby and SpringDownloader but maybe they share code?

FYI the mod I have is BA, I don't remember which map I watched.
0 x

User avatar
Licho
Zero-K Developer
Posts: 3803
Joined: 19 May 2006, 19:13

Re: I think it's a lobby bug (SpringLobby and SpringDownloader)

Post by Licho » 07 Oct 2010, 14:57

Looks like issue with your PC or connection.
Reinstall machine (or check for viruses properly), if problems persist, contact or change your ISP.
0 x

User avatar
Wombat
Posts: 3379
Joined: 15 Dec 2008, 15:53

Re: I think it's a lobby bug (SpringLobby and SpringDownloader)

Post by Wombat » 07 Oct 2010, 15:03

Licho, where did all files from ur site go :<
0 x

UAF
Posts: 96
Joined: 02 Jan 2008, 19:25

Re: I think it's a lobby bug (SpringLobby and SpringDownloader)

Post by UAF » 07 Oct 2010, 15:11

I can ping the spring server just fine as I said. I get very good ping (90ms). If my ISP was blocking the address I wouldn't have been able to ping it at all.

The problem also exist in the portable marchine version, so I don't think reinstalling Spring would help.

All other programs work fine. I can play StarCraft 2 online without issues.
And I have AVG updated and on daily scans, so I don't think it's a virus.

If I need to open some other port besides 8200 for the lobby, tell me. But I really REALLY doubt my ISP is at fault, or that reinstalling windows would help.
Last edited by UAF on 07 Oct 2010, 15:26, edited 1 time in total.
0 x

User avatar
Licho
Zero-K Developer
Posts: 3803
Joined: 19 May 2006, 19:13

Re: I think it's a lobby bug (SpringLobby and SpringDownloader)

Post by Licho » 07 Oct 2010, 15:13

Then its your windows fault.

You are clearly experiencing network problem.

PING MEANS NOTHING!

It's ICMP packet, while lobby uses TCP connection which can be handled entirely differently.
0 x

UAF
Posts: 96
Joined: 02 Jan 2008, 19:25

Re: I think it's a lobby bug (SpringLobby and SpringDownloader)

Post by UAF » 07 Oct 2010, 15:25

So do I need to open some port?

Windows firewall is set to let SpringLobby be, and my router is set to keep 8200 open and forward it to my computer.
0 x

User avatar
Zydox
Lobby Developer
Posts: 453
Joined: 23 May 2006, 13:54

Re: I think it's a lobby bug (SpringLobby and SpringDownloader)

Post by Zydox » 07 Oct 2010, 15:43

I just installed a new win7 this week, and I didn't have to do anything special for it to work with the firewall... just the usual popups where windows asks if a program should be allowed to gain internet access...

I've used both TASClient and SpringLobby without any connection issues...
Havn't tried hosting a battle, but joining works fine...

I assume you've registered a lobby user in the lobby program?
0 x

User avatar
Licho
Zero-K Developer
Posts: 3803
Joined: 19 May 2006, 19:13

Re: I think it's a lobby bug (SpringLobby and SpringDownloader)

Post by Licho » 07 Oct 2010, 16:22

You dont need to open any ports at all.
0 x

UAF
Posts: 96
Joined: 02 Jan 2008, 19:25

Re: I think it's a lobby bug (SpringLobby and SpringDownloader)

Post by UAF » 09 Oct 2010, 13:51

Still have problems connecting.
Sometimes it almost-sort off working. Most of the time it doesn't.
I'm from Israel if it means anything diagnostic-wise.

Any advice?
0 x

User avatar
Licho
Zero-K Developer
Posts: 3803
Joined: 19 May 2006, 19:13

Re: I think it's a lobby bug (SpringLobby and SpringDownloader)

Post by Licho » 09 Oct 2010, 14:21

You can try to talk with Basic/Gota - he was having similar problems when connecting from Israel.
0 x

UAF
Posts: 96
Joined: 02 Jan 2008, 19:25

Re: I think it's a lobby bug (SpringLobby and SpringDownloader)

Post by UAF » 09 Oct 2010, 14:56

Thanks Licho.
I talked with Gota, his solution is just to connect-disconnect until the ping is good.

I'm thinking, is there a way to set some kind of gateway server to which we'll be able to connect properly, and that gateway would relay our connections to the official server?
Like, if Backup server 2 (to which I can connect without a problem) would bridge me (and Gota and other people with this problem) to the official server.

In other words (I believe) a proxy server.
0 x

User avatar
Licho
Zero-K Developer
Posts: 3803
Joined: 19 May 2006, 19:13

Re: I think it's a lobby bug (SpringLobby and SpringDownloader)

Post by Licho » 10 Oct 2010, 17:00

Proxy didn't help to Gota.
0 x

UAF
Posts: 96
Joined: 02 Jan 2008, 19:25

Re: I think it's a lobby bug (SpringLobby and SpringDownloader)

Post by UAF » 10 Oct 2010, 17:18

Not just any proxy.
Is it possible to really set Backup Server 2 (to which I can connect all the time without problems) to act as a special proxy/bridge to the official server?
0 x

User avatar
Licho
Zero-K Developer
Posts: 3803
Joined: 19 May 2006, 19:13

Re: I think it's a lobby bug (SpringLobby and SpringDownloader)

Post by Licho » 10 Oct 2010, 18:09

No
0 x

UAF
Posts: 96
Joined: 02 Jan 2008, 19:25

Re: I think it's a lobby bug (SpringLobby and SpringDownloader)

Post by UAF » 10 Oct 2010, 18:46

Bummer.

Is there some kind of free TCP proxy?
I tried few proxy servers but they seemd to only support http (and were slow even for loading internet pages... T_T )
0 x

Post Reply

Return to “SpringLobby Client”