Random WIP 2006-2011 - Page 193

Random WIP 2006-2011

Share and discuss visual creations and creation practices like texturing, modelling and musing on the meaning of life.

Moderators: MR.D, Moderators

User avatar
Pressure Line
Posts: 2283
Joined: 21 May 2007, 02:09

Re: Random WIP

Post by Pressure Line » 20 Jun 2009, 00:26

use specular (blue channel tex2) not reflection imo
0 x

User avatar
thesleepless
Posts: 417
Joined: 24 Oct 2007, 04:49

Re: Random WIP

Post by thesleepless » 20 Jun 2009, 01:02

Pressure Line wrote:use specular (blue channel tex2) not reflection imo
oh cool, that'd be better, i thought blue channel was unused... guess the wiki needs updating, what a suprise ^^
0 x

User avatar
Argh
Posts: 10920
Joined: 21 Feb 2005, 03:38

Re: Random WIP

Post by Argh » 20 Jun 2009, 03:08

Blue channel still does nothing, last time I looked at the fragment program.

<checks>

Still does nothing.

So, unless we're using a fragment program other than in base, or some GLSL I can't see (that isn't CA's)... blue channel does nothing. And I just re-tested it, just for fun... nothing.

Making it do something isn't too big of a deal, though. It's mainly making it do something that doesn't hose those of us using the green channel to regulate both. I'll see about getting to that next week sometime, when I'm post-release on the next version of P.U.R.E.
0 x

User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22298
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Re: Random WIP

Post by smoth » 20 Jun 2009, 07:09

you can over-ride the spring shader files by including your own in your mod/game.

Spring\base\springcontent.sdz\shaders\
0 x

User avatar
Argh
Posts: 10920
Joined: 21 Feb 2005, 03:38

Re: Random WIP

Post by Argh » 20 Jun 2009, 08:05

But that means your game will desync with anybody else's, last time I checked.

Or did they finally remove the /base restriction from unitsync?

Anyhow, I've never seen much of a use for the blue channel for that purpose. I'd rather use it for transparency. Would people like a version of the fragment program that supported alpha (not bitmask) transparency via the blue channel? That's maybe 5 minutes of work.
0 x

User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22298
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Re: Random WIP

Post by smoth » 20 Jun 2009, 08:07

/me sighs...

I was talking about the game/mod file it's self.
0 x

User avatar
Argh
Posts: 10920
Joined: 21 Feb 2005, 03:38

Re: Random WIP

Post by Argh » 20 Jun 2009, 08:12

Eh? So that actually works now, and /base doesn't override it? Must've missed that one. That keeps things simple.

Anyhow, I'll write the fragment program... only problem is now I'll have to go back through my DDS texture2's and remove any blue...
0 x

User avatar
Pressure Line
Posts: 2283
Joined: 21 May 2007, 02:09

Re: Random WIP

Post by Pressure Line » 20 Jun 2009, 08:30

why not use the alpha on Tex2 as real alpha instead of yes/no alpha?

It wouldnt fuck up your existing textures, but you could make new ones to take advantage of it if you wanted. no need to make yourself redo every single one of your tex2's (and anyone else who wants to use the shader)

(and it seems i got mixed up, looks like text2blue = spec never got commited?)
0 x

User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22298
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Re: Random WIP

Post by smoth » 20 Jun 2009, 08:33

never got commited, was boycotted by a few people over-reacting. Doesn't really matter, the change is easy enough.
a nice guy on the foram here wrote:Yes, that is possible. If you create a mod-level directory "shaders" (at the same level as unittextures, objects3d, etc) then any modified shader programs you place in there will supplant the originals from springcontent (that's also how mods can supply their own gadget handler). I do not have the files from back when anymore, but changing the 'y' in line 25 of units3o.fp and line 31 of units3o_shadow.fp to a 'z' basically reproduces my patch (which moved specularity into the blue channel).

Code: Select all

MUL specular, specular, extraColor.y;
0 x

User avatar
Pressure Line
Posts: 2283
Joined: 21 May 2007, 02:09

Re: Random WIP

Post by Pressure Line » 20 Jun 2009, 09:03

indeed. and srsly argh, don't re-invent the wheel, then force everyone to change all of their carts to your brand of wheel if they want to use even one of yours.
0 x

User avatar
rattle
Damned Developer
Posts: 8278
Joined: 01 Jun 2006, 13:15

Re: Random WIP

Post by rattle » 20 Jun 2009, 09:48

Anyhow, I'll write the fragment program... only problem is now I'll have to go back through my DDS texture2's and remove any blue...
huh why? I thought blue = env. refl was reverted long ago
0 x

User avatar
Argh
Posts: 10920
Joined: 21 Feb 2005, 03:38

Re: Random WIP

Post by Argh » 20 Jun 2009, 10:21

Look, nevermind the blue thing. TBH, I couldn't care less about it, and was just screwing around since I was told that we're allowed to play with the shaders now.



There seems to be an issue engine-side with changing the blending mode to allow for normal alpha transparency.

It won't do alpha blending like it should, apparently. I don't suppose there's an arb program extension that should be invoked to override Spring's default behavior?

I'll have to take a look at it, but it's probably just set on the wrong alpha test, related to the broken shadow code that nobody seems to know how to fix.

Oh, and practically everything uses the fog setting... that could be turned off, and nobody would notice on most maps, except performance would go up. If you want fog, use GLSL :P
0 x

User avatar
KDR_11k
Game Developer
Posts: 8293
Joined: 25 Jun 2006, 08:44

Re: Random WIP

Post by KDR_11k » 20 Jun 2009, 22:10

Pressure Line wrote:why not use the alpha on Tex2 as real alpha instead of yes/no alpha?

It wouldnt fuck up your existing textures, but you could make new ones to take advantage of it if you wanted. no need to make yourself redo every single one of your tex2's (and anyone else who wants to use the shader)
Full alpha requires that the polygons are sorted before rendering because the Z buffer isn't enough to handle the depth sorting for them. It's a LOT easier when the alpha is restricted to the faces that actually need it while the rest is rendered solid to reduce the sorting problems but Spring doesn't allow multiple materials per unit without extra Lua.
0 x

User avatar
KaiserJ
Community Representative
Posts: 3113
Joined: 08 Sep 2008, 22:59

Re: Random WIP

Post by KaiserJ » 21 Jun 2009, 23:50

Image
0 x

User avatar
MidKnight
Posts: 2650
Joined: 10 Sep 2008, 03:11

It's an EVA, FOO'!

Post by MidKnight » 22 Jun 2009, 05:44

I already told kaiser this:

"Next time, use this as inspiration:"
Image
:wink:
Last edited by MidKnight on 23 Jun 2009, 07:35, edited 1 time in total.
0 x

User avatar
KDR_11k
Game Developer
Posts: 8293
Joined: 25 Jun 2006, 08:44

Re: Random WIP

Post by KDR_11k » 22 Jun 2009, 11:26

A turtle?
0 x

User avatar
chillaaa
Posts: 234
Joined: 16 Mar 2005, 00:12

Re: Random WIP

Post by chillaaa » 23 Jun 2009, 03:41

Don't use that, use goomba's from the Mario Bro's movie.
0 x

ash2life
Posts: 26
Joined: 29 Nov 2008, 23:55

Re: Random WIP

Post by ash2life » 24 Jun 2009, 14:23

My first created something in Wings3D.
The idea is a compact replacement for the "Penetrator-Tachyon" tank but with accelerator panels like for a railgun.

-fully rotateable turret with around -15┬░ to 90┬░ pitch
-642 triangles
-still lacking Teamcolor and texture2

*special thanks to PressureLine for the help
Attachments
RailgunTank-early-ash2.jpg
(143.41 KiB) Downloaded 1216 times
0 x

User avatar
Peet
Malcontent
Posts: 4381
Joined: 27 Feb 2006, 22:04

Re: Random WIP

Post by Peet » 24 Jun 2009, 14:26

That is...quite a first work.
0 x

Andromeda
Posts: 60
Joined: 01 Oct 2008, 03:59

Re: Random WIP

Post by Andromeda » 24 Jun 2009, 14:53

ash2life wrote:in Wings3D.
:wink:
0 x

Locked

Return to “Art & Modelling”