Random WIP 2013+ - Page 7

Random WIP 2013+

Share and discuss visual creations and creation practices like texturing, modelling and musing on the meaning of life.

Moderators: MR.D, Moderators

Locked
User avatar
Cubex
Posts: 56
Joined: 11 Jul 2012, 00:07

Re: Random WIP 2013+

Post by Cubex »

Anarchid wrote:But zk cloaking shader?
Im a bit sick so correct if wrong, one thing is the transparency, Spring SUPPORTS alpha, the problem comes IIRC when loading texture... if you can't load texture properly for unit... one nasty solution might be to load the texture separatelly (if it can be done) without any filtering... and use that texture with said shader

EDIT:
In case of zk cloak shader of example, what you are doing is just lowering the alpha value in general, has nothing to do with loading stage of unit textures
User avatar
CarRepairer
Cursed Zero-K Developer
Posts: 3359
Joined: 07 Nov 2007, 21:48

Re: Random WIP 2013+

Post by CarRepairer »

Yeah, ZK cloaking shader turns off the texture of the model entirely and generates an effect. We can't properly pull alpha from a texture file unless we're satisfied with having 0 or 1.
User avatar
jK
Spring Developer
Posts: 2299
Joined: 28 Jun 2007, 07:30

Re: Random WIP 2013+

Post by jK »

Cubex wrote:
Anarchid wrote:But zk cloaking shader?
Im a bit sick so correct if wrong, one thing is the transparency, Spring SUPPORTS alpha, the problem comes IIRC when loading texture... if you can't load texture properly for unit... one nasty solution might be to load the texture separatelly (if it can be done) without any filtering... and use that texture with said shader

EDIT:
In case of zk cloak shader of example, what you are doing is just lowering the alpha value in general, has nothing to do with loading stage of unit textures
erm no?
I could explain it to you, but I explained it multiple times in this community, and learned that most don't understand it.
It has nothing to do with textures, shaders, ...
And cloaker in ZK gives `incorrect` results, but in the specific case it doesn't matter cause the failure is part of the fx.
User avatar
knorke
Posts: 7971
Joined: 22 Feb 2006, 01:02

Re: Random WIP 2013+

Post by knorke »

it is not per-texture or even per-piece but is transparent:
Image

Image
so random lol

/edit

by modifying Pressure Line piecechange thing transparent pieces can be per-piece? It draws pieces like:

Code: Select all

gl.Texture(0,'%'..sourceunitDefID..":0")
gl.Texture(1,'%'..sourceunitDefID..":1")
gl.UnitPiece(sourceunitID,pieceID)
So somehow add blending?
Image
Needs correct blend mode I guess...
GL.SRC_ALPHA maybe for per-texture? So that instead of teamcolor alpha is used for transparency. Or maybe is that something else entirely.
User avatar
Anarchid
Posts: 1384
Joined: 30 Nov 2008, 04:31

Re: Random WIP 2013+

Post by Anarchid »

but I explained it multiple times in this community
I, for one, would love a link, or reiteration. >.>
Kloot
Spring Developer
Posts: 1867
Joined: 08 Oct 2006, 16:58

Re: Random WIP 2013+

Post by Kloot »

Drawing N-bit transparent objects requires sorting for correct results.

Sorting is slow for multiple reasons and Spring doesn't bother with it.

No, this won't change in the near / foreseeable future.
User avatar
Das Bruce
Posts: 3544
Joined: 23 Nov 2005, 06:16

Re: Random WIP 2013+

Post by Das Bruce »

Forboding Angel wrote:Not WIP, but just made: http://youtu.be/3F7F7NGDDFU
I like it.

Idea: have metal spots actionable, so if you select a builder and right click on a metal spot they build a extractor.
User avatar
knorke
Posts: 7971
Joined: 22 Feb 2006, 01:02

Re: Random WIP 2013+

Post by knorke »

Kloot wrote:Drawing N-bit transparent objects requires sorting for correct results.
Sorting when multiple transparent objects overlap?
Maybe that is not needed, transparent objects could still block view of each others and only be transparent to terrain. It would not be "correct" but for some units it might be good enought.

For example the wings of the dude on left side:
http://i.imgur.com/hwlWRkz.jpg
It might be strange that one can not see other units through the transparent wings, but only when one notices.
User avatar
Beherith
Posts: 5145
Joined: 26 Oct 2007, 16:21

Re: Random WIP 2013+

Post by Beherith »

Anything needed changes before release?

click to embiggen

Image
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
FLOZi
MC: Legacy & Spring 1944 Developer
Posts: 6240
Joined: 29 Apr 2005, 01:14

Re: Random WIP 2013+

Post by FLOZi »

Needs to ship with kleenex.
User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22309
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Re: Random WIP 2013+

Post by smoth »

looks awesome, how did you get the nicer unit shadows btw?
User avatar
Silentwings
Posts: 3720
Joined: 25 Oct 2008, 00:23

Re: Random WIP 2013+

Post by Silentwings »

Looks really good + love the ui.
User avatar
Beherith
Posts: 5145
Joined: 26 Oct 2007, 16:21

Re: Random WIP 2013+

Post by Beherith »

Thanks Flozi :)

Yeah, the new BAR UI is amazing, thanks funken.

Dunno smoth, i just set shadow mask size to 4096 in spring settings, you can see my smd params here:

Code: Select all

	[LIGHT]
	{
		SunDir=1 1.5 0;						//direction of sun (spring will normalize it later)(y component is upward)
		
		GroundAmbientColor=0.5 0.5 0.6;		//ambient (non sun lit) color of ground (and grass trees etc)
		GroundSunColor=0.75 0.75 0.85;			//color of ground where fully sun lit (added to ambient)
		GroundShadowDensity=1;			//how far from the non shadowed to the ambient color stuff in shadow will go

		UnitAmbientColor=0.4 0.4 0.5;		//ambient (non sun lit) color of units (and wreckage etc)
		UnitSunColor=0.85 0.85 0.9;			//color of units where fully sun lit (added to ambient)
		UnitShadowDensity=0.8;				//how far from the non shadowed to the ambient color stuff in shadow will go
	}	
User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22309
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Re: Random WIP 2013+

Post by smoth »

Beherith wrote:Yeah, the new BAR UI is amazing, thanks funken.
yet you post no pictures :(
User avatar
PicassoCT
Journeywar Developer & Mapper
Posts: 10450
Joined: 24 Jan 2006, 21:12

Re: Random WIP 2013+

Post by PicassoCT »

PA influence in the map area detected..
:D

Looks fantastic. Now that everyone drools. We can sit back and relaxed wait for the release that is due to another year in the future.
User avatar
Beherith
Posts: 5145
Joined: 26 Oct 2007, 16:21

Re: Random WIP 2013+

Post by Beherith »

Picasso, wait till you see my next map...
User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22309
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Re: Random WIP 2013+

Post by smoth »

Picasso I will relish your disapointment when pa comes out.

Behe I still haven't gotten the new wm, is it pretty different? What did they improve?
User avatar
Beherith
Posts: 5145
Joined: 26 Oct 2007, 16:21

Re: Random WIP 2013+

Post by Beherith »

Now this is closer to PA style.
Image

Smoth, the new WM is the best one so far. Way more frugal on ram and tons of new stuff.
User avatar
Funkencool
Posts: 542
Joined: 02 Dec 2011, 22:31

Re: Random WIP 2013+

Post by Funkencool »

smoth wrote:
Beherith wrote:Yeah, the new BAR UI is amazing, thanks funken.
yet you post no pictures :(
:o
Image

Image
User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20687
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Re: Random WIP 2013+

Post by AF »

An improvement yes, but not amazing. If you want to call a UI amazing, you cant base it in opinion, as it's not a matter of opinion. There are methods of testing these things and measuring various attributes

I can immediately see usability and UI design flaws, e.g. vertical text, font with near zero readability, mysterious white boxes that have no obvious purpose etc.

But aside from that, looking very pretty, with some nice improvements
Locked

Return to “Art & Modelling”