Modeling new formats

Modeling new formats

Share and discuss visual creations and creation practices like texturing, modelling and musing on the meaning of life.

Moderators: MR.D, Moderators

Post Reply
wolas
Posts: 112
Joined: 30 Jul 2010, 20:40

Modeling new formats

Post by wolas » 29 Dec 2011, 18:03

I read that that spring in 83 now supports more formats right? So anyone tried anything? I m making feature with blender .dae and it kinda works, but what to do with textures? Anyone have any experience or have to say something interesting? Maybe I should just make them old upspring way?
0 x

User avatar
KaiserJ
Community Representative
Posts: 3113
Joined: 08 Sep 2008, 22:59

Re: Modeling new formats

Post by KaiserJ » 29 Dec 2011, 19:52

i haven't tried personally but AFAIK textures should be created the same way (for example, even with the new format, you still need to have everything on one UV etc with the same designations for teamcolor etc across the files)
0 x

wolas
Posts: 112
Joined: 30 Jul 2010, 20:40

Re: Modeling new formats

Post by wolas » 29 Dec 2011, 20:00

I m creating feature, so team color is not important here. Manged to create model without upSpring Image

By the way texture 512x512 is called normal or very big or?
And how I can add transparency to texture? Simply making area transparent is not working
Attachments
screen00040.png
(1.22 MiB) Downloaded 2 times
Last edited by wolas on 29 Dec 2011, 20:19, edited 1 time in total.
0 x

User avatar
KaiserJ
Community Representative
Posts: 3113
Joined: 08 Sep 2008, 22:59

Re: Modeling new formats

Post by KaiserJ » 29 Dec 2011, 20:18

nice work; i like the chicken house (delicious!)

for texture size; you want to look at

a) pixel aspect relative to other things... does the house look too detailed? then reduce size... not detailed enough? increase size
b) total amount/size of textures (video cards have only so much VRAM, eventually, you will fill it all if you aren't conscientious about using them

that been said, the house looks great, and 512 is big but not huge (if you're really worried, you could try 256x which is what i use for features; i'm sure it's fine because you have a lot of surface area on the walls and roof)

edit: i'm not sure about transparency, sorry
0 x

User avatar
FLOZi
MC: Legacy & Spring 1944 Developer
Posts: 6109
Joined: 29 Apr 2005, 01:14

Re: Modeling new formats

Post by FLOZi » 29 Dec 2011, 22:29

1bit transparency is alpha channel of texture 2
0 x

wolas
Posts: 112
Joined: 30 Jul 2010, 20:40

Re: Modeling new formats

Post by wolas » 29 Dec 2011, 22:39

And how spring knows that this is texture2? Just naming my_nice_model2.bmp aint working or I m making wrongly that transparent texture.
0 x

wolas
Posts: 112
Joined: 30 Jul 2010, 20:40

Re: Modeling new formats

Post by wolas » 31 Dec 2011, 02:01

Ok I suppose I load two textures here, texture 2 is gif coz it had 1 bit alpha for sure, anyway it dont work nor png nor existing s3o textures. Feature just dont take any transparency.

model = {
tex1 = "bab_1.png", -- same as S3O texture 1
tex2 = "bab_2.gif", -- same as S3O texture 2
}
return model

So any leads?

EDIT ok it loads texture but as soon as I add transparency draw it whole model disapears I suppose it becomes fully trasnparent( because there is hitbox and I can reclaim nothing) maybe it is some gimp specific thing?
Last edited by wolas on 31 Dec 2011, 02:17, edited 1 time in total.
0 x

User avatar
FLOZi
MC: Legacy & Spring 1944 Developer
Posts: 6109
Joined: 29 Apr 2005, 01:14

Re: Modeling new formats

Post by FLOZi » 31 Dec 2011, 02:10

gif? What on earth? Use the alpha channel of a png.

What's your metafile called?
0 x

wolas
Posts: 112
Joined: 30 Jul 2010, 20:40

Re: Modeling new formats

Post by wolas » 31 Dec 2011, 02:17

With metafile is everything ok
0 x

User avatar
CarRepairer
Cursed Zero-K Developer
Posts: 3359
Joined: 07 Nov 2007, 21:48

Re: Modeling new formats

Post by CarRepairer » 31 Dec 2011, 09:40

I wish that transparency was alpha channel of texture 1 instead of 2!!!
0 x

User avatar
Rafal99
Posts: 162
Joined: 14 Jan 2006, 04:09

Re: Modeling new formats

Post by Rafal99 » 01 Jan 2012, 02:04

+1 to CarRepairer

Wolas:
If you want nice detail but dont want too much big textures, it is good idea to reuse the same texture for several similar units / features. For example if you make several similar houses.
0 x

wolas
Posts: 112
Joined: 30 Jul 2010, 20:40

Re: Modeling new formats

Post by wolas » 03 Jan 2012, 19:44

OK I still cant make transparent texture, someone post working transparent texture with assimp thanks.

Image

Instead transparency I get some red looks like here (both textures have transparency).

Mine trasnparent texture, maybe there is something wrong with it? With such texture there should be no windows...
Image
Also if I draw randomly with transparency sometimes model disapears and only casts shadows where there is no transparency so what I m doin wrong?

Model itself is called church_plus.dae so this lua script definitly loads textures.

model = {
tex1 = "church_tex.png", -- same as S3O texture 1
tex2 = "church_trans.png", -- same as S3O texture 2
}
return model
Attachments
church_trans.png
(2.8 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
Screenshot-1.png
(1.68 MiB) Downloaded 2 times
0 x

User avatar
rattle
Damned Developer
Posts: 8278
Joined: 01 Jun 2006, 13:15

Re: Modeling new formats

Post by rattle » 04 Jan 2012, 11:13

CarRepairer wrote:I wish that transparency was alpha channel of texture 1 instead of 2!!!
adjust the shaders, takes less than five minutes
0 x

Post Reply

Return to “Art & Modelling”