Page 1 of 1

wrong textures?[FIXED]

Posted: 03 Sep 2011, 00:03
by wolas
Under upspring my feature appears just fine, but in spring it changes colours tried dds -> in spring almost white also it fades out very quiclkly somehing like distance fog where problem can be? tried tga's then in spring it looks kinda blueish but not same as in upsring(absolutely blue)... Where problem could be?

Re: wrong textures?

Posted: 03 Sep 2011, 00:15
by smoth
screenshot please.

Re: wrong textures?

Posted: 03 Sep 2011, 00:33
by wolas
Image

Image

Image


textures were made using bmps without any transparency. Pure colours black or blue.

It actually looks transparent from far distance moving camera in fps mode it is spotable.

Those lines you see is probably because due screenshot capturing there is no such in game.

Re: wrong textures?

Posted: 03 Sep 2011, 01:15
by Forboding Angel
Use PNG.
Needs moar tex2.

Re: wrong textures?

Posted: 03 Sep 2011, 01:17
by FLOZi
Forboding Angel wrote:Use PNG.
Needs moar tex2.
Tex2 isn't a requirement.

Re: wrong textures?

Posted: 03 Sep 2011, 01:31
by wolas
Well in some tutorials it was clearly writen use only bmp's otherwise problems. Will try soon.

Also use PNGS you mean in upsrping when building dds? Also I read that dds is best format isint it.

Re: wrong textures?

Posted: 03 Sep 2011, 01:38
by wolas
Could here be something very wrong like it is grass so fade out by zooming out a bit more? Although it is baobab file and it looks perfectly...

Code: Select all

local objectname= "stovas_blue" 

local featureDef	=	{

	name			= "stovas_blue",

	world				="All Worlds",

	description				="where you looking at?",

	object				="stovas_blue.s3o",

	footprintx				=3,

	footprintz				=3,

	height				=90,

	blocking				=true,

	upright				=true,

	hitdensity				=0,

	energy				=50,

	metal				=0,

	damage				=220,

	indestructible			=true,

} 

return lowerkeys({[objectname] = featureDef}) 
I played with size height and so on values.
Also by removing second texture from .s3o gave same effect

Re: wrong textures?

Posted: 03 Sep 2011, 01:53
by wolas
Ok using pngs now in spring and upsring model looks same but fade outs immediatly after zooming out... Problem? also doesnt png use 8x more ram? also read in some wiki's... why why why...

Re: wrong textures?

Posted: 03 Sep 2011, 03:14
by jK
use dds, also note that spring expects to have _all_ mipmaps in those.

Re: wrong textures?

Posted: 03 Sep 2011, 04:59
by Forboding Angel
PNG is superior by far for an entire host of reasons, but saying so always causes a fight.

Use dds if you want mip control (I.E. Obsessively anal to ridiculous amounts of detail that don't matter in practice).

Tex2 isn't a requirement, but you should use a tex2 just for the fact of specular, reflective and glow.

Re: wrong textures?

Posted: 03 Sep 2011, 07:01
by knorke
Ok using pngs now in spring and upsring model looks same but fade outs immediatly after zooming out
did you set model radius&height in the model tab of upspring?

Did you flip the UV map in upspring?
Texture Mapping -> Show UV mapping -> Edit -> Flip UV
This will make the model look strange in Upspring but ingame it will actually look normal.

Maybe it is just that your map has a funny sunlight color and your feature reflects it?
Try on another map, you can spawn the feature with
/cheat
/give stovas_blue
make sure you have LOS on it.
Also try
/give stovas_blue 0
/give stovas_blue 1
/give stovas_blue 2
to give it to different teams and see if the color changes.

Re: wrong textures?

Posted: 03 Sep 2011, 13:11
by wolas
Ok I fixed everything. Dont even know what fixed. Before it was .obj now .3ds of course with blender export to 3ds is a bit awkward :) As texture's using png's works fine since they need only 1 colour.

Re: wrong textures?[FIXED]

Posted: 03 Sep 2011, 15:59
by smoth
you probably had the texture in the wrong directory before.

Re: wrong textures?[FIXED]

Posted: 03 Sep 2011, 16:01
by knorke
texture not found would have just caused crash (at least for texture1)

Re: wrong textures?[FIXED]

Posted: 03 Sep 2011, 16:44
by wolas
With textures was everything okay. Same directory png solve* problem.

Re: wrong textures?[FIXED]

Posted: 11 Sep 2011, 00:28
by rattle
What did you generate the dds with? Make sure that a full set of mip maps get stored when exporting to dds

This is a full set for a 256x256 image. Note that the mips only take up one third of the original image thus the file size will be 33% larger cause only their pixel data gets stored
Image