AO baked ground plates for your mod! - Page 3

AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Share and discuss visual creations and creation practices like texturing, modelling and musing on the meaning of life.

Moderators: MR.D, Moderators

User avatar
Licho
Zero-K Developer
Posts: 3803
Joined: 19 May 2006, 19:13

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by Licho »

Got it working. Can xnormal be set to use GPU somehow?
User avatar
Beherith
Posts: 5145
Joined: 26 Oct 2007, 16:21

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by Beherith »

Sorry not afaik. It takes a couple of hours on my quad. Especially if you have a lot of pre made ground plates.
User avatar
Licho
Zero-K Developer
Posts: 3803
Joined: 19 May 2006, 19:13

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by Licho »

It fails to process existing groundplates for me - for ZK:

Code: Select all

Definition type is lua
fbi parsed factorycloak.lua
convert .\unittextures\asphalt512c.dds asphalt512c.tga
------ERROR!-------------------------------Unable to open preexisting groundplat
e file! asphalt512c.tga factorycloak.lua
Definition type is lua
fbi parsed factorygunship.lua
convert .\unittextures\asphalt512c.dds asphalt512c.tga
------ERROR!-------------------------------Unable to open preexisting groundplat
e file! asphalt512c.tga factorygunship.lua
Definition type is lua
factoryhover.lua : not static (mv 0.0  no mv: 0  waterline: 1
Definition type is lua
fbi parsed factoryjump.lua
convert .\unittextures\asphalt512c.dds asphalt512c.tga
------ERROR!-------------------------------Unable to open preexisting groundplat
e file! asphalt512c.tga factoryjump.lua
Definition type is lua
fbi parsed factoryplane.lua
convert .\unittextures\asphalt512c.dds asphalt512c.tga
------ERROR!-------------------------------Unable to open preexisting groundplat
e file! asphalt512c.tga factoryplane.lua
Definition type is lua
fbi parsed factoryshield.lua
convert .\unittextures\asphalt512.dds asphalt512.tga
------ERROR!-------------------------------Unable to open preexisting groundplat
e file! asphalt512.tga factoryshield.lua
Definition type is lua
fbi parsed factoryspider.lua
convert .\unittextures\asphalt512.dds asphalt512.tga
------ERROR!-------------------------------Unable to open preexisting groundplat
e file! asphalt512.tga factoryspider.lua
Definition type is lua
fbi parsed factorytank.lua
convert .\unittextures\asphalt512c.dds asphalt512c.tga
------ERROR!-------------------------------Unable to open preexisting groundplat
e file! asphalt512c.tga factorytank.lua
Definition type is lua
fbi parsed factoryveh.lua
convert .\unittextures\asphalt512c.dds asphalt512c.tga
------ERROR!-------------------------------Unable to open preexisting groundplat
e file! asphalt512c.tga factoryveh.lua
dds exists and converted tga also exists. So where is the problem?
User avatar
Licho
Zero-K Developer
Posts: 3803
Joined: 19 May 2006, 19:13

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by Licho »

Fixed it, line 148 change to

Code: Select all

cmd='convert '+texdir+preplate+' '+texdir+preplate.partition('.')[0]+'.tga'
User avatar
Beherith
Posts: 5145
Joined: 26 Oct 2007, 16:21

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by Beherith »

Thanks, I fixed that bug as well, just forgot to post it here cause noone seemed to use the code. I just ran the bakes for other people.
User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14673
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by Forboding Angel »

Code: Select all

Working in : C:\Users\yo momma\Documents\My Games\Spring\mods\evobake.sdd
Definition type is lua
fbi parsed eexperimentalfac.lua
plate sizes parsed successfully!  22 22 512
objtype s3o
header: (0, 353.0, 170.0, -0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 52, 0, 782322, 782345)
working on:  eexperimentalfac.lua   vertices:  20029  parts: 9
found .obj in xml
found .obj in xml
found .bmp in xml
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Santiago Orgaz\xNormal\3.17.0\x64\xnormal.exe" xnormalsettings.xml
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "C:\Users\yo momma\Documents\My Games\Spring\mods\evobake.sdd\aobaker.py", line 434, in <module>
    img=Image.open(outfname.partition('.')[0]+'_ao_occlusion.bmp')
  File "C:\Python26\lib\site-packages\PIL\Image.py", line 1952, in open
    fp = __builtin__.open(fp, "rb")
IOError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: 'eexperimentalfac_ao_occlusion.bmp'
Halp?
User avatar
Beherith
Posts: 5145
Joined: 26 Oct 2007, 16:21

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by Beherith »

Im out of the country atm, but ill try to look into it. Did you apply the fix posted by licho?

Does 'eexperimentalfac_ao_occlusion.bmp' exist btw? (after running xnormal, ofc - does xnormal throw any errors) If so, is it next to aobaker.py?
User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14673
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by Forboding Angel »

Beherith wrote:Im out of the country atm, but ill try to look into it. Did you apply the fix posted by licho?

Does 'eexperimentalfac_ao_occlusion.bmp' exist btw? (after running xnormal, ofc - does xnormal throw any errors) If so, is it next to aobaker.py?
Yes
No
No
Is what next to aobaker? Xnormal? Xnormal is an installer...
User avatar
Beherith
Posts: 5145
Joined: 26 Oct 2007, 16:21

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by Beherith »

If the eefac*.bmp does not exist, check the path in xnormalsettings.xml for that file.
User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14673
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by Forboding Angel »

Well the path is right: C:\Users\yo momma\Documents\My Games\Spring\mods\evobake.sdd\eexperimentalfac_ao.bmp , the file just doesn't exist.
User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14673
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by Forboding Angel »

*ahem* bump
User avatar
Beherith
Posts: 5145
Joined: 26 Oct 2007, 16:21

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by Beherith »

I request a bit more time, just got back from vacation. Does it fail for all units, or just that specific one? Does xnormal report any errors, or run for an oddly short amount of time?
User avatar
oksnoop2
Posts: 1207
Joined: 29 Aug 2009, 20:12

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by oksnoop2 »

What other games other than CA and Evo are using this? It seems I can no longer play either and I was curious if this might be the cause.
User avatar
Wombat
Posts: 3379
Joined: 15 Dec 2008, 15:53

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by Wombat »

i didnt play since last release so i actually could forgot, but ba either i think
User avatar
Beherith
Posts: 5145
Joined: 26 Oct 2007, 16:21

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by Beherith »

BA uses this too.
User avatar
Gota
Posts: 7151
Joined: 11 Jan 2008, 16:55

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by Gota »

SA uses this too.
User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14673
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by Forboding Angel »

hey behe, I dunno if you know this or not, but you can use absurdly small texture sizes for groundplates and they will still look great. For example, 64x64 is plenty enough to cover up to 8x8 or so.

And that one unit is all I have tried. The process of it running and failing is very quick.
User avatar
Beherith
Posts: 5145
Joined: 26 Oct 2007, 16:21

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by Beherith »

Thanks for the tip! But you will have to do some manual mask tweaking to get 64 by 64 right, cause I only have built-in masks for 128 to 512 sizes.

It seems your fac has a plate already defined, so burning a 512*512 plate should take quite a few minutes.

Because of this, I think xNormal is exiting early for some error - which may lie in it creating a corrupt .obj file.

Would you care to run xNormal as a standalone, and add the generated .obj file as a high and as low poly mesh into the program, and selecting AO from the bakes, and manually running the bake?
User avatar
oksnoop2
Posts: 1207
Joined: 29 Aug 2009, 20:12

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by oksnoop2 »

BA,CA,Evo, and SA all now crash before the game finishes loading. Pretty sure ground plates are the cause. Not really sure if there's anything that there' anything that can be done about it but here's the infolog.

http://pastebin.ca/1968143
User avatar
FLOZi
MC: Legacy & Spring 1944 Developer
Posts: 6240
Joined: 29 Apr 2005, 01:14

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by FLOZi »

What do you have ground scars set to in your springsettings?
Post Reply

Return to “Art & Modelling”