AO baked ground plates for your mod! - Page 5

AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Share and discuss visual creations and creation practices like texturing, modelling and musing on the meaning of life.

Moderators: MR.D, Moderators

User avatar
rattle
Damned Developer
Posts: 8278
Joined: 01 Jun 2006, 13:15

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by rattle » 14 Sep 2012, 19:03

You obviously didnt speak your prayer to the god of photoshop!

perhaps alpha issue or wrong bitrate?
0 x

User avatar
Beherith
Moderator
Posts: 4932
Joined: 26 Oct 2007, 16:21

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by Beherith » 14 Sep 2012, 22:50

look at the dds files with wtv.
0 x

User avatar
aGorm
Posts: 2927
Joined: 12 Jan 2005, 10:25

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by aGorm » 17 Sep 2012, 15:25

OK, files are OK, but there seems to be something wrong with the luadefs... The AO works for some and not for others.


Works:
http://pastebin.com/aaGXNRND

Dont Work:
http://pastebin.com/rxpnQ2hw

Any Ideas?
0 x

User avatar
Beherith
Moderator
Posts: 4932
Joined: 26 Oct 2007, 16:21

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by Beherith » 17 Sep 2012, 19:14

Units without yardmaps are not buildings, but units that cant move (like nano towers in BA), ergo they cant (yet) have ground plates.

Or something to this effect.
0 x

User avatar
aGorm
Posts: 2927
Joined: 12 Jan 2005, 10:25

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by aGorm » 17 Sep 2012, 22:16

Wow, seriosly? Don't remember reading that any where...

Cool, I'll add some yard maps...
0 x

User avatar
Beherith
Moderator
Posts: 4932
Joined: 26 Oct 2007, 16:21

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by Beherith » 17 Sep 2012, 22:52

Code: Select all

		// if a unit is immobile but does *not* have a yardmap
		// defined, assume it is not supposed to be a building
		// (so do not assign a default per facing)
0 x

User avatar
FLOZi
MC: Legacy & Spring 1944 Developer
Posts: 6080
Joined: 29 Apr 2005, 01:14

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by FLOZi » 17 Sep 2012, 22:56

aGorm wrote:Wow, seriosly? Don't remember reading that any where...

Cool, I'll add some yard maps...

http://springrts.com/wiki/Units-UnitDef ... _Placement
string yardmap Default: ""
Used to determine a structure from a mobile unit
0 x

User avatar
aGorm
Posts: 2927
Joined: 12 Jan 2005, 10:25

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by aGorm » 18 Sep 2012, 14:20

Hmmm... problem. My main base building is the builder that builds other buildings. But when I give it a yard map, it acts like a fac and trys to build like a unit. Is it possible to have a yard map and still build like a unit.


(Eventually it won't matter as I'd rather just have the buildings be build-able from the GUI independent of a unit, as long as your in range of a Unit, but I haven't got there yet. Or even a GUI to put it in...)
0 x

User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20667
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by AF » 18 Sep 2012, 15:23

to be fair the factory vs building placement methods of building should be configurable, a unit tag or a new command type? Then we could have factories that can build units and nearby structures!
0 x

Post Reply

Return to “Art & Modelling”