AO baked ground plates for your mod! - Page 2

AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Share and discuss visual creations and creation practices like texturing, modelling and musing on the meaning of life.

Moderators: MR.D, Moderators

User avatar
Beherith
Moderator
Posts: 4934
Joined: 26 Oct 2007, 16:21

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by Beherith » 16 Sep 2010, 20:26

Yep, it will throw warnings if it cant find it, but will also continue with next building.
0 x

User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14606
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by Forboding Angel » 16 Sep 2010, 21:17

I may have missed the meno, so I apologize if that is the case, but where do I put all these files? Unitdefs/objects3d/unittextures?

Also, little quibble. Apparently your proggie ignored the fact that the groundplate was commented out (because we use a lua solution for it) and added the AO to the commented out groundplate for esolar2.
0 x

User avatar
Beherith
Moderator
Posts: 4934
Joined: 26 Oct 2007, 16:21

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by Beherith » 17 Sep 2010, 01:34

You put the .dds in unittextures, the .fbi/.lua in units, and ignore the intermediate image files. I only added them for future editability.

Edit:
Evo fusion2 and esolar2 really fixed:

http://beherith.eat-peet.net/stuff/evo2.7z
0 x

User avatar
tyran_nick
Posts: 47
Joined: 07 Mar 2010, 12:42

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by tyran_nick » 17 Sep 2010, 02:22

When I tried to bake using the old groundplate I got the following error. It seems to happen when you try to combine the two groundplates.
Definition type is fbi
fbi parsed armaap.fbi
plate sizes parsed successfully! 9 7 512
objtype 3do ARMAAP
wtf
reading 3do
(1, 102, 52, 6, 0, 32768, 0, 52, 0, 57, 1281, 0, 10623)
no texture on primitive (0, 4, 0, 3043, 0, 0, 0, 0)

... (I removed this part of the log unitl it finishes reading the 3do... no apparent error there) ...

working on: armaap.fbi vertices: 323 parts: 15
found .obj in xml
found .obj in xml
found .bmp in xml
"C:\Program Files\Santiago Orgaz\xNormal\3.17.2\x86\xnormal.exe" xnormalsettings.xml
composite.exe -compose Multiply -negate armaap_ao_normalized.bmp aomask512large.bmp aotemp.bmp
composite -compose CopyOpacity aotemp.bmp black512.bmp armaap_aoplane.tga
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "C:\Documents and Settings\Nikos\Desktop\Spring WIP\aobaker.py", line 495, in <module>
if platepix[3]==0: #transparent pixel! (or is it fully opaque? we shall see)
IndexError: tuple index out of range
I tried the ground plate in both .dds and .tga (changing the unitdef accordingly). The unit I tried to edit is the armaap from BA.
0 x

User avatar
Beherith
Moderator
Posts: 4934
Joined: 26 Oct 2007, 16:21

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by Beherith » 17 Sep 2010, 02:35

Try the lastest please: http://pastebin.com/pAa8w29r
0 x

User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14606
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by Forboding Angel » 17 Sep 2010, 02:47

Thanks behe, gave it a whirl, and you're right, it is a very nice effect. However, 3 more quibbles. elightturret2 and eheavyturret2 also had commented out grounddecals which are now incorporated into the AO, and eamphibfac didn't seem to get any lovin at all. Other than that, they look really really good.

Edit, I'd be all for doing this myself, as I have python installed and tied in via %PATH% and all that lovely stuff, but I dunno what a lot of the tools you listed are. Are they python programs, random executables, etc?
0 x

User avatar
Beherith
Moderator
Posts: 4934
Joined: 26 Oct 2007, 16:21

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by Beherith » 17 Sep 2010, 10:09

Imagemagick A massively powerful command line image editor (great for scripted stuff)

PIL (Python Image library) an image extension for python, for doing some pixel stuff (merging the bake and the preexisting groundplate)

xNormal (by Santiago Orgaz) An awesome tool used by modelers to bake the details of high poly models onto low poly models - normal map generation, ao bakes and all that jazz.

The reason amphibfac doesnt get any loving is that I dont parse subdirs in /units, and I just moved all the stuff from the dirs I thought were buildings (missed this).
So here is amphibfac: http://beherith.eat-peet.net/stuff/evo3.7z

Heavy and light turrets: http://beherith.eat-peet.net/stuff/evo4.7z

edit: For future reference and searchability, this code contains a python s3o and a 3d0 parser, and can convert them to obj files.
0 x

User avatar
tyran_nick
Posts: 47
Joined: 07 Mar 2010, 12:42

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by tyran_nick » 17 Sep 2010, 11:16

That did the trick, thanks!

I wonder if there could be a way to detect moving parts and not produce an AO for those... Think about arm kbot lab, that once activated there is black area in the middle.

I ll try to see if there is a way to do that using the animation scripts.

EDIT: Probably not, as the 3d model is converted to .obj merged in one object.
0 x

User avatar
Beherith
Moderator
Posts: 4934
Joined: 26 Oct 2007, 16:21

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by Beherith » 17 Sep 2010, 11:39

Since I didnt want to do COB, I just manually edited the plates for those that really changed (like the labs)
0 x

User avatar
tyran_nick
Posts: 47
Joined: 07 Mar 2010, 12:42

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by tyran_nick » 17 Sep 2010, 11:57

Makes sense... probably too much coding for something that can be done relatively fast manually.

If you have done them already, is it possible to upload the AO plates for: armaap, armalab, armap, armavp, armhp, armlab, armshltx, armvp, coraap, coralab, corap, coravp, corgant, corhp, corlab, corvp

Essentially the land factories from a typical *A mod (like BA). Otherwise let me know and I ll do them and upload them.
0 x

User avatar
Beherith
Moderator
Posts: 4934
Joined: 26 Oct 2007, 16:21

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by Beherith » 17 Sep 2010, 13:38

All 16 BA land factories, with fixed plates for facs that open:
http://beherith.eat-peet.net/stuff/ba718facs.7z
0 x

User avatar
tyran_nick
Posts: 47
Joined: 07 Mar 2010, 12:42

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by tyran_nick » 17 Sep 2010, 13:51

Cheers
0 x

User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14606
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by Forboding Angel » 17 Sep 2010, 22:16

This is really nice. Thanks a ton behe :-)
0 x

User avatar
Beherith
Moderator
Posts: 4934
Joined: 26 Oct 2007, 16:21

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by Beherith » 19 Sep 2010, 23:46

For CA http://beherith.eat-peet.net/stuff/ca.7z

I included all the intermediate files, and based it off latest stable.
You only need the .dds and .lua files if you dont wish to edit it, but i highly recommend editing the plates under labs that open.
0 x

User avatar
Licho
Zero-K Developer
Posts: 3803
Joined: 19 May 2006, 19:13

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by Licho » 20 Sep 2010, 00:46

I think it somehow failed for armsolar

Image

otherwise looks cool :)
0 x

User avatar
Masse
Damned Developer
Posts: 979
Joined: 15 Sep 2004, 18:56

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by Masse » 20 Sep 2010, 08:16

Licho wrote:I think it somehow failed for armsolar

Image

otherwise looks cool :)
Did you cheat give them? do not do that :P
0 x

User avatar
Licho
Zero-K Developer
Posts: 3803
Joined: 19 May 2006, 19:13

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by Licho » 20 Sep 2010, 09:57

Why not? :)

I tried without /give and its still same

Image

Perhaps its the strange shape?
0 x

User avatar
Masse
Damned Developer
Posts: 979
Joined: 15 Sep 2004, 18:56

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by Masse » 20 Sep 2010, 12:48

Licho wrote:Why not? :)

I tried without /give and its still same

Perhaps its the strange shape?
I dont know why it failed on the armsolar but the other ones in the screenshot are fucked because of the cheat give... when you build something the building gets correctly placed when you give stuff the building is placed right where your cursor is and the groundplate doesnt do the same.

Oh man I suck at explaining stuff :)
0 x

User avatar
Beherith
Moderator
Posts: 4934
Joined: 26 Oct 2007, 16:21

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by Beherith » 20 Sep 2010, 13:57

I looked into it earlier, but is seems that armsolar already had a ground plate, but for some reason burning mine onto it failed. Also, it now has two groundplates defined in .lua.
0 x

User avatar
jK
Spring Developer
Posts: 2299
Joined: 28 Jun 2007, 07:30

Re: AO baked ground plates for your mod!

Post by jK » 20 Sep 2010, 16:21

The solars in CA randomize their position same as the mexes do, so they aren't ground square aligned anymore.
0 x

Post Reply

Return to “Art & Modelling”