CORE T1 Aircraft factory

CORE T1 Aircraft factory

Share and discuss visual creations and creation practices like texturing, modelling and musing on the meaning of life.

Moderators: MR.D, Moderators

User avatar
MR.D
Posts: 1527
Joined: 06 Aug 2005, 13:15

CORE T1 Aircraft factory

Post by MR.D »

I'm going to start working on the aircraft models and see where it goes.

I have a rough workout of the Lab, and still doing some additions and tweaks, but I think its pretty solid right now.

As usual, I went with the original layout and updated it and tried to add in some more detail.

What you guys will need to watch is the animation movie, I think thats what will sell it until the texture worked out.

The original Core airplant is on the left side at 513 triangles.
My model is at 1036 triangles in the renders.

Image
Image
Attachments
corap_anim1a.zip
Opening animation for the factory
(798.15 KiB) Downloaded 75 times
corap_test1a.jpg
(209.99 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
corap_test1b.jpg
(232.26 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
corap_test1c.jpg
(161.68 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
User avatar
Das Bruce
Posts: 3544
Joined: 23 Nov 2005, 06:16

Re: CORE T1 Aircraft factory

Post by Das Bruce »

I like the model but the animation did the opposite of sell it to me, it made it look like some kiddies GI joe missile command fortress toy.
User avatar
MR.D
Posts: 1527
Joined: 06 Aug 2005, 13:15

Re: CORE T1 Aircraft factory

Post by MR.D »

There are some missing pieces I havn't put in for the middle nanolathe, parts that will link up to it ect..

Generally I wanted to keep the animation as simple as possible, then its not a huge headache with getting the script working.
User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20687
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Re: CORE T1 Aircraft factory

Post by AF »

Could you allow for the pad to tilt forwards at the end? This would allow for us to have non aircraft to be built at aircraft plants, such as small conbots, or scouts

Also a version with a repair pad...
User avatar
Tribulex
A.N.T.S. Developer
Posts: 1894
Joined: 26 Sep 2009, 21:26

Re: CORE T1 Aircraft factory

Post by Tribulex »

AF wrote:Could you allow for the pad to tilt forwards at the end? This would allow for us to have non aircraft to be built at aircraft plants, such as small conbots, or scouts

Also a version with a repair pad...
genius as usual. this guy is ubarcool :D
Saktoth
Zero-K Developer
Posts: 2665
Joined: 28 Nov 2006, 13:22

Re: CORE T1 Aircraft factory

Post by Saktoth »

Tilt forwards? Huh?

Yeah, a repair pad would be ace. Though something could probably be rigged up from recycled parts (or by lua'ing another model to come with it).

A note on air units: Please try and ensure they have some kind of animation, like the OTA planes. I'm sure you probably will, given how closely you always study the OTA units, but a lot of people make excellent air models which are simply inert lumps, animation wise.
User avatar
Pressure Line
Posts: 2283
Joined: 21 May 2007, 02:09

Re: CORE T1 Aircraft factory

Post by Pressure Line »

You just need to get more modelers who can (and like to) do unit animations.
User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20687
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Re: CORE T1 Aircraft factory

Post by AF »

Lets say I add a construction kbot or a radar jammer bot to the air factory

The bot will immediately fall a little bit and then walk off a ledge as if nothing happened. The existing air factory counters this by being completely flat.
User avatar
MR.D
Posts: 1527
Joined: 06 Aug 2005, 13:15

Re: CORE T1 Aircraft factory

Post by MR.D »

Why would you want land units to come out of an Aircraft specific factory.. really wtf..

Its an aircraft lab, not a random&Miscellaneous units lab.

Question though, when it comes to putting the script together, does the sequence play by a normal frame by frame setup?

Just asking, since in max everything is just keyframed from 0 on out, and if it would help to include which frames things need to happen at to make putting the script easier I can post all the info here if needed.
User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20687
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Re: CORE T1 Aircraft factory

Post by AF »

In supreme commander aircraft plants can build engineers, sure they almost entirely build aircraft, its a minor but useful thing to have.
User avatar
Neddie
Community Lead
Posts: 9406
Joined: 10 Apr 2006, 05:05

Re: CORE T1 Aircraft factory

Post by Neddie »

I think AF is trying to say that the original model could be adapted to build land units, while this design will look odd if it does so. It is an irrelevant, if valid, point.
User avatar
Pressure Line
Posts: 2283
Joined: 21 May 2007, 02:09

Re: CORE T1 Aircraft factory

Post by Pressure Line »

MR.D wrote: Question though, when it comes to putting the script together, does the sequence play by a normal frame by frame setup?

Just asking, since in max everything is just keyframed from 0 on out, and if it would help to include which frames things need to happen at to make putting the script easier I can post all the info here if needed.
for this factory:

Image

Code: Select all

activatescr()
{
	if( TRUE )
	{
		move lfdoor1 to z-axis [5] speed [15];
		move rfdoor1 to z-axis [5] speed [15];
		move lrdoor1 to z-axis [-5] speed [15];
		move rrdoor1 to z-axis [-5] speed [15];
		sleep 300;
		move lfdoor2 to z-axis [4.6] speed [13.8];
		move rfdoor2 to z-axis [4.6] speed [13.8];
		move lrdoor2 to z-axis [-4.6] speed [13.8];
		move rrdoor2 to z-axis [-4.6] speed [13.8];
		sleep 300;
		move lfdoor3 to z-axis [4.6] speed [13.8];
		move rfdoor3 to z-axis [4.6] speed [13.8];
		move lrdoor3 to z-axis [-4.6] speed [13.8];
		move rrdoor3 to z-axis [-4.6] speed [13.8];
		wait-for-move lfdoor3 along z-axis;
		wait-for-move rfdoor3 along z-axis;
		wait-for-move lrdoor3 along z-axis;
		wait-for-move rrdoor3 along z-axis;
	}
opens the doors

Code: Select all

	if( TRUE )
	{
		turn llarm to x-axis <0> speed <35>;
		turn luarm to x-axis <0> speed <70>;
		turn lnanosprayer to x-axis <45> speed <54>;
		
		turn rlarm to x-axis <0> speed <35>;
		turn ruarm to x-axis <0> speed <70>;
		turn rnanosprayer to x-axis <45> speed <54>;
		
		wait-for-turn llarm around x-axis;
		wait-for-turn luarm around x-axis;
		wait-for-turn lnanosprayer around x-axis;
		wait-for-turn rlarm around x-axis;
		wait-for-turn ruarm around x-axis;
		wait-for-turn rnanosprayer around x-axis;
	}
lifts the arms up into position

Code: Select all

	if( TRUE )
	{
		turn rswivel to y-axis <90> speed <90>;
		turn lswivel to y-axis <-90> speed <90>;
		wait-for-turn rswivel around y-axis;
		wait-for-turn lswivel around y-axis;
	}
}
turns the arms towards the centre

Image

end result

and obviously it just does the sequence in reverse (with the appropriate angular/linear destinations substituted in) when the factory is closing up.
User avatar
Tribulex
A.N.T.S. Developer
Posts: 1894
Joined: 26 Sep 2009, 21:26

Re: CORE T1 Aircraft factory

Post by Tribulex »

I like doing anims. However, im super bogged down with very elaborate animations for ANTS. We want those anims to look perfect and have the units show alot of personality.
User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20687
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Re: CORE T1 Aircraft factory

Post by AF »

Its actually a defect.

Current aircraft factory model handles this test case, new one does not
User avatar
MR.D
Posts: 1527
Joined: 06 Aug 2005, 13:15

Re: CORE T1 Aircraft factory

Post by MR.D »

Finished up the animation sequence, and I'm going to get this unwrapped this weekend and start working out the texture.

Model got a few parts chopped down on the toothed lock for the 2 halves that open to save some polies.

Its now at 1260 triangles.

Hopefully this animation is a little more interesting now with all the internal parts finished and optimized.

I was thinking about a deploying radar dish that pops out and unfolds from the center section that extends, but I think the script will already be complicated enough as is.
Attachments
corap_anim2.zip
(2.4 MiB) Downloaded 25 times
User avatar
zwzsg
Kernel Panic Co-Developer
Posts: 7049
Joined: 16 Nov 2004, 13:08

Re: CORE T1 Aircraft factory

Post by zwzsg »

Pressure Line wrote:

Code: Select all

   if( TRUE )
   {
:(
User avatar
Pressure Line
Posts: 2283
Joined: 21 May 2007, 02:09

Re: CORE T1 Aircraft factory

Post by Pressure Line »

yes, laziness & reusing scripts ^_^
Saktoth
Zero-K Developer
Posts: 2665
Joined: 28 Nov 2006, 13:22

Re: CORE T1 Aircraft factory

Post by Saktoth »

MR.D wrote:Model got a few parts chopped down on the toothed lock for the 2 halves that open to save some polies.

Its now at 1260 triangles.
Spherebot is 1000, hell some of your mobiles are in proportion to that. There are unlikely to be more than one air factory per player in a game. Though im sure it will be fabulous of course.
MR.D wrote:I was thinking about a deploying radar dish that pops out and unfolds from the center section that extends, but I think the script will already be complicated enough as is.
You dont need to worry about this either. Move and turn commands in sequence are incredibly easy: You want difficult, try writing a walk script.
User avatar
MR.D
Posts: 1527
Joined: 06 Aug 2005, 13:15

Re: CORE T1 Aircraft factory

Post by MR.D »

Sorry that its been such a long time since any update on the model guys, just been too busy with work and other things to get any real time in on this.

I have some small things to work out yet, but the model is about 98% finished.

Mostly I'm trying to tweak out the #2 texture and its layers, but I should have all the files for this as well as the animation sequences #'s released tommorow.

After that, I can start the real fun work with making the planes, and the whole Tier 1 lineup of aircraft should be fast work.
Image
Image
Attachments
ota-ap.jpg
OTA airplant
(275.92 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
corap_rend1.jpg
(365.18 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
corap_rend2.jpg
(346.4 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
corap_rend3.jpg
(284.38 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
User avatar
TheRegisteredOne
Posts: 398
Joined: 10 Dec 2005, 21:39

Re: CORE T1 Aircraft factory

Post by TheRegisteredOne »

this is why I lurk these boards
Post Reply

Return to “Art & Modelling”