*New Map* Seth's Ravine - Page 3

*New Map* Seth's Ravine

All map release threads should be posted here

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
Johannes
Posts: 1265
Joined: 17 Sep 2010, 15:49

Re: *New Map* Seth's Ravine

Post by Johannes » 04 Dec 2010, 19:16

Forboding Angel wrote:Thanks to carrepairer this doesn't matter in evo but jsut as a general rule of *A mapping, mex radius should never be below 100.
Pointless rule is pointless
0 x

pintle
Posts: 1762
Joined: 19 Dec 2005, 16:01

Re: *New Map* Seth's Ravine

Post by pintle » 04 Dec 2010, 19:20

If this (awesome) map gets a re-release, I have a request: In gundam the "hill boost" units are able to zoom around on the lower parts of the cliffs, which pretty much breaks the map.

If you could maybe add a typemap or something? I have no idea, but some fix for that would make the map much more playable with GRTS.

Anyway yeah, super sexy map, plays nicely- great work! :D
0 x

User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22295
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Re: *New Map* Seth's Ravine

Post by smoth » 04 Dec 2010, 22:26

It would have to be a damn extreme typemap and what will happen is units will go to path off the cliff then get stuck at 0 speed on the cliff, resulting in stuck units. Shit happened on that retarded Starcraft based map.

I wonder if there is some lua to play with the path finder and make it believe the area shoul be avoided?
0 x

User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14392
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: *New Map* Seth's Ravine

Post by Forboding Angel » 04 Dec 2010, 22:59

Johannes wrote:
Forboding Angel wrote:Thanks to carrepairer this doesn't matter in evo but jsut as a general rule of *A mapping, mex radius should never be below 100.
Pointless rule is pointless
No, the general rule has a very good point. Mexes with a radius of 25/30ish (iirc that is the general radii of BA mexes) are much harder to place, it's even worse with moho mexes because they are twice as big so when placing them you have this little ring in the center of it that you have to line up.

If you will bother to remember, that is how all maps used to be before people like myself, muffdvr and various others finally broke the mold.
0 x

User avatar
zwzsg
Kernel Panic Co-Developer
Posts: 7002
Joined: 16 Nov 2004, 13:08

Re: *New Map* Seth's Ravine

Post by zwzsg » 05 Dec 2010, 19:37

hoijui wrote:solid means, you have to extract the whole archive to get to one file.
so if the engine or unitsync for example wants to read the smd, it needs to extract the whole archive. now imagine unitsync scanning your 5GB maps folder with all of them being LZMA solid archives.
i personally would never use solid for anything that is being released. there is simply too little benefit for the possible problems it can cause.
Making the engine accept solid was a bad move. Before when the sd7 was solid, it wouldn't work, and so people never released solid archives.
0 x

User avatar
SirArtturi
Posts: 1164
Joined: 23 Jan 2008, 18:29

Re: *New Map* Seth's Ravine

Post by SirArtturi » 05 Dec 2010, 20:52

I'll revise the map as soon as somebody writes me the fog lua as a widget that can be turned off ingame...
0 x

User avatar
zwzsg
Kernel Panic Co-Developer
Posts: 7002
Joined: 16 Nov 2004, 13:08

Re: *New Map* Seth's Ravine

Post by zwzsg » 05 Dec 2010, 21:10

1) Open gui_dualfog_gadget.lua in text editor
2) Replace every instance of the word "gadget" by "widget"
(not manually duh! Use search'n'replace box in the edit menu)
3) remove if (gadgetHandler:IsSyncedCode()) then else end
4) Save in \LuaUI\Widgets\

Yes, I did test, it is as simple as that.
0 x

User avatar
SirArtturi
Posts: 1164
Joined: 23 Jan 2008, 18:29

Re: *New Map* Seth's Ravine

Post by SirArtturi » 05 Dec 2010, 21:14

Great thx.

So it was simple, but took three times me to ask this before someone bothered to help...
0 x

User avatar
knorke
Posts: 7971
Joined: 22 Feb 2006, 01:02

Re: *New Map* Seth's Ravine

Post by knorke » 07 Dec 2010, 02:41

zwzsg wrote:
hoijui wrote:solid means, you have to extract the whole archive to get to one file.
so if the engine or unitsync for example wants to read the smd, it needs to extract the whole archive. now imagine unitsync scanning your 5GB maps folder with all of them being LZMA solid archives.
i personally would never use solid for anything that is being released. there is simply too little benefit for the possible problems it can cause.
Making the engine accept solid was a bad move. Before when the sd7 was solid, it wouldn't work, and so people never released solid archives.
Is that why it sometimes takes me 2 minutes to get ingame and other times it just takes 2 seconds?
0 x

User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22295
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Re: *New Map* Seth's Ravine

Post by smoth » 07 Dec 2010, 04:49

SirArtturi wrote:Great thx.

So it was simple, but took three times me to ask this before someone bothered to help...
you never asked me once.
0 x

User avatar
knorke
Posts: 7971
Joined: 22 Feb 2006, 01:02

Re: *New Map* Seth's Ravine

Post by knorke » 07 Dec 2010, 05:49

i thought it was on purpose so you can not cheat by turning fog off.
0 x

User avatar
Gota
Posts: 7151
Joined: 11 Jan 2008, 16:55

Re: *New Map* Seth's Ravine

Post by Gota » 07 Dec 2010, 08:03

knorke wrote:i thought it was on purpose so you can not cheat by turning fog off.
Why is that cheating?its not like its some uber heavy fog that makes u fail to see shit.
0 x

User avatar
1v0ry_k1ng
Posts: 4656
Joined: 10 Mar 2006, 10:24

Re: *New Map* Seth's Ravine

Post by 1v0ry_k1ng » 08 Dec 2010, 23:19

so I hear this is the best map ever, of all time
0 x


User avatar
Jazcash
Posts: 5301
Joined: 08 Dec 2007, 17:39

Re: *New Map* Seth's Ravine

Post by Jazcash » 17 Dec 2010, 13:42

Yay, epic update. Finally I can play good battles and get good replays and still be able to watch them back and get good screenies with fog. <3
0 x

User avatar
FLOZi
MC: Legacy & Spring 1944 Developer
Posts: 6058
Joined: 29 Apr 2005, 01:14

Re: *New Map* Seth's Ravine

Post by FLOZi » 29 Jul 2013, 16:53

Epic bump I know.

I love this map but it's way broken atm, not just the fog;

http://springrts.com/phpbb/viewtopic.ph ... ne#p526420

But also feature hitvolumes are fubar.

Any chance it can be restored to its former glory? :(
0 x

User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14392
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: *New Map* Seth's Ravine

Post by Forboding Angel » 30 Jul 2013, 02:09

It also breaks random widgetry.
0 x

User avatar
Cheesecan
Posts: 1571
Joined: 07 Feb 2005, 21:30

Re: *New Map* Seth's Ravine

Post by Cheesecan » 30 Jul 2013, 21:56

Could use the updated lua metal widget.
0 x

klapmongool
Posts: 843
Joined: 13 Aug 2007, 13:19

Re: *New Map* Seth's Ravine

Post by klapmongool » 30 Jul 2013, 22:35

Great map indeed. Would love a fixed version.
0 x

Post Reply

Return to “Map Releases”