Mac Binary Release - Page 8

Mac Binary Release

Discuss everything related to compiling and running Spring on Mac OS X.

Moderators: Moderators, Moderators

User avatar
Quanto042
Basically OTA Developer
Posts: 778
Joined: 22 Feb 2006, 03:01

Post by Quanto042 »

Hell, if we get a mac port fully functional, the Japanese and Koreans may finally start playing a real computer game instead of thier dating sims! :o
0 x

10053r
Posts: 297
Joined: 28 Feb 2005, 19:19

Post by 10053r »

Not sure about the Japanese, but the South Koreans are almost entirely windows based (like 99%), and play the most computer games per capita of any nation, with something like 80% of the population participating. MMORPGs are really big there, but I'm sure in a market that large there is room for a RTS. A Mac port would be nice because it would pick up a lot of mac gamers who feel left out in the cold by mainstream RTSes, but I would guess not having a Korean localization is probably a bigger deal than not having a mac version.
0 x

User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20671
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Post by AF »

has ANYBODY bothered to compile a mac version of Java unitsync and get AFLobby working?
0 x

User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22300
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Post by smoth »

10053r wrote: A Mac port would be nice because it would pick up a lot of mac gamers who feel left out in the cold by mainstream RTSes, and gaming in general
- fixed

although, mac users can supposedly install windoze or Linux on the new machines right?
0 x

User avatar
Peet
Malcontent
Posts: 4381
Joined: 27 Feb 2006, 22:04

Post by Peet »

Yes, though the required ritual cleansing after each use are a hassle.
0 x

User avatar
desertlynx
Posts: 23
Joined: 26 Jul 2006, 09:46

Post by desertlynx »

Mac users with the new Macintels can install Windows and effectively turn their computer into a dualbooting mac/windows computer (as I do).

However, it's a large amount of effort just to run a game and is obviously not possible on the older PowerPC architecture; with which many Mac users remain for the time being.

I'm not a native mac user, rather I work on mac, play on windows and dabble in linux. However, it didn't take me long to discover that there is very little in terms of RTSs for Mac users.

I suspect that if any kind of RTS were made available (let alone a brilliant and free one such as spring), the reception would be quite large.


PS, let's stay on topic with this thread and keep it clear for the devs
0 x

User avatar
elio
Posts: 133
Joined: 29 Dec 2006, 06:44

Post by elio »

I'm back :)


will post AF lobby Java bound unit sync soon


catching up later.

(ps, donations can be helpful at difficult times ;) )
0 x

User avatar
Ling_Lover
Posts: 100
Joined: 26 Sep 2006, 11:50

Post by Ling_Lover »

umm... i just dled the spring for mac again and im getting the same problem as i did a while ago (before you posted a fixed version) where it opens, bounces once, then closes...
0 x

User avatar
elio
Posts: 133
Joined: 29 Dec 2006, 06:44

Post by elio »

one of the frameworks need renaming... sorry will fix soon
0 x

Subdino
Posts: 25
Joined: 15 May 2005, 08:44

Post by Subdino »

Hi.

I gave a quick try from the svn to get it to build on linux/ppc, and now it builds & runs correctly (as correctly as my ati card + r300 driver : not playable but no glitches AFAICS). My machine is a late-2005 iBookG4 15" (1.4Ghz 7447A + some mobile ATI + 512MB DDR ram) runing Debian sid.

See my patch (against r3420) : http://pastebin.ca/361814
You also need to remove by hand lua/lua/src/lib/streflop_gateway.cpp and rts/lib/streflop (I'm working on a cleaner version of the patch which disable them nicely without having to delete them :) ).

For now, because of the lack of streflop it probably cannot sync in a network game, and don't expect too much from it since I haven't spent more than 2 minutes toying with controls.

EDIT:forgot pastebin post # :$
0 x

User avatar
elio
Posts: 133
Joined: 29 Dec 2006, 06:44

Post by elio »

moving in tomorrow; so everything will be back in action.

Sabdino -> i really should get around to uploading my diffs; they already solved ppc linux running problems lol. Sorry about not getting everything up before I left. some snyc issues are solved but not all yet.
0 x

Subdino
Posts: 25
Joined: 15 May 2005, 08:44

Post by Subdino »

Ah, great to hear that you made it working.
No problem about not releasing the diff, hacking a piece of software can be entertaining, and in this case it was - thanks to the help I received on IRC.
I just hope now that you won't get conflicts because of the code which was commited a few days ago (the #ifdef stuff)...
0 x

User avatar
elio
Posts: 133
Joined: 29 Dec 2006, 06:44

Post by elio »

Subdino wrote:Ah, great to hear that you made it working.
No problem about not releasing the diff, hacking a piece of software can be entertaining, and in this case it was - thanks to the help I received on IRC.
I just hope now that you won't get conflicts because of the code which was commited a few days ago (the #ifdef stuff)...
ah... yeah... it has broken things... maybe it merged oddly...
0 x

User avatar
elio
Posts: 133
Joined: 29 Dec 2006, 06:44

Post by elio »

It's going to take a bit to resync with the latest revision, but should be back in a day or two... I hope..
0 x

User avatar
elio
Posts: 133
Joined: 29 Dec 2006, 06:44

Post by elio »

Patch:0.78eU

Think I've resynced the code base, but it needs testing. updated AI files included.
0 x

icd
Posts: 12
Joined: 03 Mar 2007, 04:21

Post by icd »

Hello,

Using MacOSX 10.4.8 on PowerMac G5.

Downloaded and installed:

SpringRTS Universal Mac Build 0.7gU, then
AI patch for 0.7 series, then
SpringRTS Mac 0.7->0.78eU Patch&AI

The last one makes the complaints about version numbers of the libs go away. However the AIs don't all seem to work correctly.

KAI-0.12 seems to work as does KAI-0.22.

myai crashes the app with the following message on console:

dyld: lazy symbol binding failed: Symbol not found: _IAICallback_SendTextMsg
Referenced from: /Applications/Games/SpringRTS.app/data/AI/Bot-libs/myai.dylib
Expected in: dynamic lookup

dyld: Symbol not found: _IAICallback_SendTextMsg
Referenced from: /Applications/Games/SpringRTS.app/data/AI/Bot-libs/myai.dylib
Expected in: dynamic lookup

Trace/BPT trap

Similar for myaimingw.dylib

dyld: lazy symbol binding failed: Symbol not found: _IAICallback_SendTextMsg
Referenced from: /Applications/Games/SpringRTS.app/data/AI/Bot-libs/myaimingw.dylib
Expected in: dynamic lookup

dyld: Symbol not found: _IAICallback_SendTextMsg
Referenced from: /Applications/Games/SpringRTS.app/data/AI/Bot-libs/myaimingw.dylib
Expected in: dynamic lookup

AAI doesn't seem to work but I think it needs additional configuration.

All the AI's cause a funny message to come onto the console. I don't know how to pause or scrollback on the console, but it is something like ..
/home/eloi .... solib::findaddess (dlsym something) IsCInterface: not found
/Applications/Games/SpringRTS.app/data/AI/Bot-libs/aai.dylib is a C++ interface.

Hope all this helps!!
0 x

icd
Posts: 12
Joined: 03 Mar 2007, 04:21

Post by icd »

Now I've got AAI configured, it seems to be crashing too, assuming I didn't stuff up somewhere.

macroscian:/Applications/Games ian$ SpringRTS.app/Contents/MacOS/SpringRTS
/Applications/Games/SpringRTS.app/data
Segmentation fault
0 x

icd
Posts: 12
Joined: 03 Mar 2007, 04:21

Post by icd »

icd wrote:Now I've got AAI configured, it seems to be crashing too, assuming I didn't stuff up somewhere.
Ignore this, AAI works fine once I deleted ai\aai\learn\mod\XTAPE.dat and ai\aai\log\BuildTable_XTAPE.txt
0 x

User avatar
elio
Posts: 133
Joined: 29 Dec 2006, 06:44

Post by elio »

myai shouldn't work I don't think as it's missing compatible code, and apparently it's not worth the bother. others should be fine. AI patch for 0.7 series is redundant.
0 x

icd
Posts: 12
Joined: 03 Mar 2007, 04:21

Post by icd »

elio wrote:myai shouldn't work I don't think as it's missing compatible code, and apparently it's not worth the bother. others should be fine. AI patch for 0.7 series is redundant.
OK, so how can I best help? Now I've got AAI and skirmish mode working the game seems basically working. The sound is a bit wonky (very loud when you're right over the action, but soft when you're just away from it) and when I tried using one of the helper libs, I got a crash. Should I try to work through all the helper/group/builder AIs and see what works?
0 x

Post Reply

Return to “Mac OS X”

cron