Mac Binary Release - Page 12

Mac Binary Release

Discuss everything related to compiling and running Spring on Mac OS X.

Moderators: Moderators, Moderators

User avatar
clericvash
Posts: 1394
Joined: 05 Oct 2004, 01:05

Post by clericvash »

Time for a mac forum?
0 x

User avatar
elio
Posts: 133
Joined: 29 Dec 2006, 06:44

Post by elio »

I'd like to see some patches for svn and standardization so at some point svn will be used for mac.
I would, but I have to actually sync back my build, which due to the endian hunt, is rather a mess when I tried svn merging. I'm working on it.
Stuff like the settings stored in an xml file changing to use the same method as linux instead, which would mean when I implement settings in aflobby for linux I dont have to mess with xml (AF hate XML, AF put off XML for years, XML settings mean AF no implement, GRAH).
why? I say keep using the system's default settings methods, and use unitsync to deal with the interactions between the actual data and your requests (it's in the lib anyway!). It's much simpler, and lets me use relocatable app bundles that aren't location dependant. Mac apps are meant to be able to be stuck anywhere, and if you want a good, problem free uptake, then it's the way to do it.
Moving to svn would also reduce the possibility of you dissapearing meaning mac is borked. You could just popin before a major release and say OK if it all works.
The best plans never work out the quickest.



And it's nice the support all of a sudden :) ^_^
0 x

User avatar
Tim Blokdijk
Posts: 1240
Joined: 29 May 2005, 11:18

Post by Tim Blokdijk »

elio wrote:...

And it's nice the support all of a sudden :) ^_^
Already about 2% of the site visitors are Mac users, and that is without any real mac release.
0 x

User avatar
LOrDo
Posts: 1154
Joined: 27 Feb 2006, 00:21

Post by LOrDo »

Yah, Spring support on every major operating system would rock.
0 x

vraa
Posts: 79
Joined: 21 Jun 2007, 03:47

Post by vraa »

I am eagerly waiting a more streamlined Mac binary with the ability to play with the other OSes as well. I know at least 5 folks who would be interested.
0 x

User avatar
Peet
Malcontent
Posts: 4381
Joined: 27 Feb 2006, 22:04

Post by Peet »

Tim Blokdijk wrote:
elio wrote:...

And it's nice the support all of a sudden :) ^_^
Already about 2% of the site visitors are Mac users, and that is without any real mac release.
Really?! That's quite astoundingly large.
0 x

User avatar
desertlynx
Posts: 23
Joined: 26 Jul 2006, 09:46

Post by desertlynx »

Peet wrote:
Really?! That's quite astoundingly large.
I cannot speak for the average mac user, but I suspect that many are either dualbooting (like myself) or have at least one separate windows computer around.
0 x

grzywa
Posts: 7
Joined: 05 Feb 2007, 20:08

Post by grzywa »

desertlynx wrote:
I cannot speak for the average mac user, but I suspect that many are either dualbooting (like myself) or have at least one separate windows computer around.
parallels desktop user here.
0 x

User avatar
elio
Posts: 133
Joined: 29 Dec 2006, 06:44

Post by elio »

Progress: lua's being a pain, primarily due to version differences and styles, but it's what needs to be used to have it working on the mac... endian issues have returned with a vengeance; three are causing crashes on loading of things, but shouldn't be hard to fix.
0 x

User avatar
Neddie
Community Lead
Posts: 9406
Joined: 10 Apr 2006, 05:05

Post by Neddie »

LOrDo wrote:Yah, Spring support on every major operating system would rock.
Wii support, coming June 2010.
0 x

Pwnedbyryan
Posts: 32
Joined: 16 Aug 2006, 19:25

Post by Pwnedbyryan »

Wow, I've been away for a month or two... to see spring come to PPC Mac would be astoundingly awesome. I'm extremely impressed with your work...and just wanna encourage you to keep it up. Wow. I've got a PPC as well as my windows machine and I would LOVE to see spring work on mac. Like i said, keep it up!!!
0 x

User avatar
DandyGnome
Posts: 61
Joined: 25 Jun 2007, 06:43

Post by DandyGnome »

So I finally had some time to download and test the Mac build and it is all working well so far. The only bugs I have noticed so far are the Xs and Os in the loading screen and the gray squares for buildpics. One of my friends said that the Xs and Os on the loading screen means that my computer loves me. Anyways this is on a MBP Core 2 Duo with both cores enabled running Mac OS 10.4.10 and the resolution set to 1680x1050. Other settings that I changed are Shadows on, FSAA on, Invert Mouse off, Max Sounds 32, Scroll Wheel Speed 35. Mods UHForSpringv13 and AA worked. Maps Chess_b2 and Core_Prime_revision1 worked. So definitely playable and fun. Now I can play games on my computer instead of my wife's
Thank you for your work Elio
0 x

User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20671
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Post by AF »

As a note, I think the unit sync additions for settings are entirely unnecessary.

If Mac wont use the linux method which is good enough as it is, then it should use #defines to add a mac implementation of the config reader class.

If you insist on using xml settings files then mac users wont have any settings support in aflobby unless xml based settings suddenly appears in the spring svn. It would mean a huge problem for people compiling java unit sync having to deal with a mac code base and me having to maintain 2 java unit sync interface classes internally.

The svn uses a set method and it should be adhered to.
0 x

User avatar
elio
Posts: 133
Joined: 29 Dec 2006, 06:44

Post by elio »

As a note, I think the unit sync additions for settings are entirely unnecessary.
They were there before aflobby used unitsync, so I don't know what's the problem is now with using unitsync regardless. Personally think it's less effort to use it.
If you insist on using xml settings files then mac users wont have any settings support in aflobby unless xml based settings suddenly appears in the spring svn.
I insist on using the standard mac preference method, for mac programs. You've already got two methods (windows and linux default) in the svn, I don't see why you've recreated the wheel by not calling unitsync to use the config methods there at the moment.

So I finally had some time to download and test the Mac build and it is all working well so far. The only bugs I have noticed so far are the Xs and Os in the loading screen and the gray squares for buildpics. One of my friends said that the Xs and Os on the loading screen means that my computer loves me. Anyways this is on a MBP Core 2 Duo with both cores enabled running Mac OS 10.4.10 and the resolution set to 1680x1050. Other settings that I changed are Shadows on, FSAA on, Invert Mouse off, Max Sounds 32, Scroll Wheel Speed 35. Mods UHForSpringv13 and AA worked. Maps Chess_b2 and Core_Prime_revision1 worked. So definitely playable and fun. Now I can play games on my computer instead of my wife's
Thank you for your work Elio
An old endian issue intel macs had, I think it might be solved currently. Though it will need checking. Thanks for the support
0 x

User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20671
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Post by AF »

I intend to remove the windows option in an upcoming patch and give windows users the more flexible linux option.
0 x

ColbyFahrenbacher
Posts: 4
Joined: 08 Jul 2007, 19:19

Post by ColbyFahrenbacher »

Hey, I've been on and off trying to get Spring to work on my Mac for a while now and have had no luck. Here's my setup:

12" Powerbook G4 867 MHz, 640 RAM (I know it won't run well on so slow a machine)

I'm currently having the problem where I launch the application and it bounces once and then closes. I don't get any messages or anything.

I downloaded the Spring build 0.7gU, then the 0.78eU patch. I may have incorrectly installed the patch (if I did, I'd appreciate being told how to do it). I also downloaded XTA and the Chess map as recommended.

Any ideas?
0 x

User avatar
DandyGnome
Posts: 61
Joined: 25 Jun 2007, 06:43

Post by DandyGnome »

Detailed installation instructions of what I did that worked for me:
Download and unpack the Spring build 0.7gU. Download and unpack the 0.78eU patch. Now do show package contents (right click in Finder) for both Springs and keep track of which is which. Take the data folder inside the Spring build 0.7gU and move it to the 0.78eU patch. Delete the -replace with data folder here- folder. Now open the data folder and open the AI folder within that. Replace the Bot-libs and Helper-libs folders inside that folder with the Bot-libs and Helper-libs folders within the 0.78eU patch. Then take the entire Spring.app that you just patched and move it to where ever you want it (usually Applications). You might want to delete the unpacked Spring build 0.7gU and 0.78eU patch once the completed Spring.app is no longer in them to avoid confusion. This successfully installed the patch for me on my MBP but YMMV.

Now to install maps and mods one can (supposedly) just drop the .sd7 file onto the Spring and they will be installed. However I like to keep clean copies of whatever I download so that I can redo the installation if necessary (this is especially useful with programs that are in beta, alpha, or pre alpha stages as they can not be considered reliable). So I again did show package contents on Spring. I then copy pasted the .sd7 files of the maps and mods into the respective Map and Mod folders inside Spring.app. Note: not all maps and mods will download as .sd7 files some may be multiple .sd7 files packed inside a .zip (AA(Absolute Annihilation)).

Now to edit the preferences you will have to edit
~/Library/Preferences/de.berlios.taspring-linux.SpringRTS.plist
This requires .plist editor. You can either install Property List Editor which is part of the install that the Developer Tools installer found on your first installation disk or you can download PrefEdit or Pref Setter
http://www.apple.com/downloads/macosx/s ... fedit.html
http://www.apple.com/downloads/macosx/s ... etter.html
Things you might want to change (if not this):
AdvSky -> 0
AdvUnitShading -> 0
FSAA -> 0
ReflectiveWater -> 0
Shadows -> 0 should be this by default, on only works on some intel computers
SoundVolume -> somthing lower (it often gets too loud for my taste)
UnitReplySoundVolume -> same as above

Currently known noticeable bugs that I encountered: huge Xs and Os during the loadscreens for starting a game, no buildpics, sound volume does not scale correctly with distance (very loud close, very quiet every where else).

To change the starting conditions for games again do ShowPackageContents and open startscrips.
Some things I changed in cmdrscript.lua:
to get it to assume single player, in the section:

Code: Select all

--Pass the script name to be displayed to the parent constructor
I added

Code: Select all

-- Set to true to not have to press enter at start
    self.onlySinglePlayer = true
to give the other player an AI, in the section:

Code: Select all

-- Spawns a correct commander from team 0 at startpos 0
between

Code: Select all

local p = TdfParser()
and (note I am not sure of the exact placement required but this worked for me while some other positions did not)

Code: Select all

p:LoadFile("gamedata\\sidedata.tdf")
I added

Code: Select all

AIs.CreateGlobalAI( 1, "AI/Bot-libs/aai.dylib" )
to change which side (arm/core) the players are change

Code: Select all

    local s0 = p:GetString("armcom", "side0\\commander");
    local s1 = p:GetString("corcom", "side1\\commander");
to

Code: Select all

    local s0 = p:GetString("corcom", "side1\\commander");
    local s1 = p:GetString("armcom", "side0\\commander");
Hopefully this helps. Feel free to correct me or ask questions.
0 x

ColbyFahrenbacher
Posts: 4
Joined: 08 Jul 2007, 19:19

Post by ColbyFahrenbacher »

I've been following your instructions but now I'm stuck. As far as I can tell, I've sucessfully patched Spring and installed the map and mod, however it still doesn't run. It bounces 4 or 5 times then stops.

I tried to edit the preferences (I do have the dev tools, so I have Property List Editor), but I can't find the .plist file...Was Spring supposed to put it there when it was unpackaged?
0 x

User avatar
Peet
Malcontent
Posts: 4381
Joined: 27 Feb 2006, 22:04

Post by Peet »

Run it from the terminal and see if it spits out any errors there.
0 x

ColbyFahrenbacher
Posts: 4
Joined: 08 Jul 2007, 19:19

Post by ColbyFahrenbacher »

I tried opening it from the terminal via

Code: Select all

open /Applications/SpringRTS.app
but it showed no errors.

I ran top in another window and watched it while I tried it again and it showed Spring start and then a crashdump process ran.
0 x

Post Reply

Return to “Mac OS X”