Shader error in Map Edge widget

Shader error in Map Edge widget

Discuss everything related to compiling and running Spring on Mac OS X.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
MaDDoX
Posts: 53
Joined: 08 Jan 2006, 17:45

Shader error in Map Edge widget

Post by MaDDoX » 29 Feb 2016, 13:39

The widget shows some errors in the OSX build (latest, for El Capitan) and doesn't darkens out its area as it should. The LOS widget darkens the game area properly so I assume that's not a limitation of the platform. I've tried tweaking some settings in the LUA script, like UseShader, to no avail. Any hints of what could be causing this?
Screen Shot 2016-02-22 at 17.29.10.png
(2.04 MiB) Not downloaded yet
0 x

User avatar
Beherith
Moderator
Posts: 4933
Joined: 26 Oct 2007, 16:21

Re: Shader error in Map Edge widget

Post by Beherith » 29 Feb 2016, 14:02

Could you try it with this version, I updated it, but havent tested it yet because at work pc.

http://imolarpg.dyndns.org/trac/balates ... ension.lua
0 x

abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3536
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: Shader error in Map Edge widget

Post by abma » 29 Feb 2016, 21:54

with linux OS drivers i get this after the most recent changes:

http://imolarpg.dyndns.org/trac/balates ... #comment:1
0 x

MaDDoX
Posts: 53
Joined: 08 Jan 2006, 17:45

Re: Shader error in Map Edge widget

Post by MaDDoX » 02 Mar 2016, 16:24

Outstanding Beherith, it works! I'm now wondering what could be done to disguise the 'cyan gaps' in the map borders, those are quite ugly. I've tried increasing the resolution of the generated mesh but it still leaves gaps and dramatically increases poly count, so it's a big no-no.
I've done some research about how to change that color to black, which would disguise the issue nicely (except maybe for snow maps heh) but from what I found that's tied to the fog color, which's defined on the map itself. Is there any way to override that color with some setting, or maybe through the widget itself?

PS.: I've played with 'fogEffect' and 'curvature' options in the lua script but both not only they don't work but they also fallback the widget to the non-shader mode (i.e. no more dark outer edges)
Screen Shot 2016-03-02 at 12.13.10.png
(1.62 MiB) Not downloaded yet
Screen Shot 2016-03-02 at 11.54.03.png
(3.63 MiB) Not downloaded yet
0 x

abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3536
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: Shader error in Map Edge widget

Post by abma » 03 Mar 2016, 20:24

which version of spring are you using?
0 x

MaDDoX
Posts: 53
Joined: 08 Jan 2006, 17:45

Re: Shader error in Map Edge widget

Post by MaDDoX » 06 Mar 2016, 01:19

Hi abma. That was on Spring 100.0, BA release 2.33.

I've just tested it on Spring 101, BA 2.55 and the non-shaded edges problem popped back.. :(

A couple more extraneous errors also popping up consistently, screenshot attached.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2016-03-06 at 00.11.16.png
(2.06 MiB) Not downloaded yet
0 x

User avatar
Beherith
Moderator
Posts: 4933
Joined: 26 Oct 2007, 16:21

Re: Shader error in Map Edge widget

Post by Beherith » 06 Mar 2016, 10:49

Could you please post the entire infolog, it seems to fail to create the blur shader.

On the cyan gaps:

If waterplanecolor is defined in map, then the background below a map will recieve this color. If it is not defined, then I think it's just skycolor.
0 x

MaDDoX
Posts: 53
Joined: 08 Jan 2006, 17:45

Re: Shader error in Map Edge widget

Post by MaDDoX » 07 Mar 2016, 01:59

Sure, infolog follows attached - I've zeroed it out then started the game both with the widget on and off. It doesn't show anything if you enable it during the game, that's what I found in infolog:

[f=-000001] Loading widget from mod: Map Edge Extension <map_edge_extension.lua> ...
[f=-000001] [Map Edge Extension] Error: Map Edge Extension widget: mirror shader error: Validation Failed: Current draw framebuffer is invalid.

On a second note, I couldn't get any AI to work on 101 / OSX. AA was already crashing the game in 100 (as soon as one AI died), but now it crashes immediately after the game starts. RAI was working fine in 100 but now it also crashes the game on load, the crash should be registered in the attached infolog.

So from what you said I assume there's no way to "override" the sky color showing in the bottom, not even through a LUA widget?

Thanks again for your help, much appreciated :)
Attachments
infolog.txt
(47.54 KiB) Downloaded 11 times
0 x

Post Reply

Return to “Mac OS X”